We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view...and apt.”
Review of Giovanni Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Giovanni Rooms
Ranked #9 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
washington dc
2 reviews
“Great view...and apt.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were there for 3 days and in the large 2 bedroom apt. The view is wonderful, and after visiting all the towns, we thought Manarola was the best town to stay in. Not too touristy and beautiful. Some of the other towns are still under construction from the mud slides in the fall.
The apartment was clean, well equipped and the kitchen had what was required so that we could make breakfast and have light dinners, after our large lunches. Which saves money. There was a TV (not sure about wifi) but all the stations are in Italian. Our only complaint was the shower, it had such a small place for your feet. It is meant as a combo tub-shower, but doesn't work well as either. But lots of hot water and good pressure.
Some people complain about steep climbs and steps- my response is if you can't do any climbing, or take a few steps you shouldn't come to Cinque Terre. The whole area is steep and all of the towns are hilly. There are some easier walks, but no matter what, even the easy walks require one to go up hills to get to the walk. CT is gorgeous place and well worth the visit. If you hike, go early, as it gets hot in the day. And you must eat at Trattoria Billy's, a fews steps from the apt. Best meal ever, but you need reservations at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orileslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We arrived in Manarola and was greeted by Giovanni. He was very nice. He took us up to our room. When he showed us our room it was quite underwhelming. There was no TV or iPod Dock as advertised. We stayed two nights in the room that did not have a sea view. Giovanni mentioned that because we were not staying in the sea view room, he offered a discount of 20 euro on the spot. From previous reviews of the 'Panorama' room on trip advisor, we felt that paying only 20 euro less for the room we actually got was not worth the money. It was probably worth less than half of what we were charged for such a small room. If you are not staying in the room with the sea view, then I advise you to find another place to stay as the other alternative is not value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyBui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The things we liked were:

Giovanni met us in the square and carried our bags to our room.
Although it seemed a long way up a steep hill on first impression, in fact the location wasn't too far from the station/deli/shops and was much more convenient than where others were staying.
Wine shop just down the road open late!
Safe in the room.
Two adjoining rooms. Each with modern bathroom. One with good seaview.
Not too many stairs to our room.
We loved cinqueterre and enjoyed the hiking, the weather, the scenery, and the views.

What we didn't like:

Booking made via booking.com said credit cards accepted but when we got there he said must be cash. Said he emailed us three days before we arrived but even if he did we left home about three weeks ago! Would not accept CC. Made us get cash from local ATM and pay upfront. Would not wait til we were checking out.
Free Wi fi was confirmed via email when we booked but not installed "it is being installed tommorrow afternoon" which of course never happened.
Room not serviced daily. But was serviced on the second day (we booked three nights M T &W).
The hand rail on the stairs stops before the bottom step. I obviously wasn't paying attention because i fell down the stairs at this point and bruised my arm and my bum on my way to the landing three steps down!
Giovanni arrived unnannounced accompanied by a workman at 4pm on day 3 while i was having a nap and started doing electrical or shutter maintenance work (i'm not sure exactly what) without any prior notification.
No TV and no ipod player (although advertised). Heated towel rail not working although we did manage to get things dry by putting the aircon/heating on high.
No hairdrier.
No drinking glasses.
With a name like giovanni's rooms and an email from giovanni i assumed our host would have lived locally if not downstairs but in this case our host lived in la spezia so i didnt take him up on
his offer to 'call if you need anything'.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed in a two bedroom apartment of Giovanni Rooms a few weeks ago. We just stayed one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. This apartment was a great size and had beautiful views. It had just about everything you would need, and the owner met us and helped us up to it. He was helpful though he is not there all the time and there is no reception. Our one issue was that we were only given less than one roll of toilet paper and that is simply not enough for 3 women! Fortunately we found some in the cupboard in the hall. The decor of the apartment is nothing special and could be better, I expected more for the price. I would recommend this place but I do think it's overpriced, and with planning you could probably do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanCasalinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Giovanni was so helpful. Met us at the church and took us up to this amazing place. Great view over the harbor and church. Takes real pride in keeping up the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at Giovanni Rooms in Manarola on Cinque Terre in March 2012. We arrived by train, but the train we took, did not stop at Manarola, unknown to us, oops! We contacted the host, and he picked us up in Riamaggore and drove us to the apartment in Manarola.
The apartment was clean and well appointed. 2 bedrooms, a bath, kitchen, living area and balcony. The view is exquisite! We were easily within walking distance to all the sites and great restaurants. I highly recommend Trattoria Billy on Manarola, it was delicious! Try the seafood sampler appetizer. What an experience!
This apartment does have 3 flights of steep, narrow stairs to get to, perfect for working off all the pasta and gelato!
Upon leaving, our host met us at the church. He was headed to La Spezia, as were we, so he piled us into his car, all 4 of us with luggage and took us with him! He spoke perfect English and gave us a lot of great recommendations for sites and places to eat.
I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to Cinque Terre!

Room Tip: Don't expect an elevator to take your bags to the apartment. This rental is not for lazy travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222Vicki1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent 2 night at Giovanni Rooms. We got the possibility to stay in the panorama appartment which has the best view in the town. Literally it is almost at the highest point of Manarola. The town and the area is really beatiful. Giovanni is a very helpful and kind person who is willing to help and answer your questions anytime. The rooms were big and clean. I definitely recommend it! I'm sure that we will go back.

Room Tip: Choose the panorama appartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.5 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 17 in Manarola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mar Mar
Mar Mar
#6 of 22 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arpaiu
Arpaiu
#6 of 17 in Manarola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca' de Baran
Ca' de Baran
#14 of 17 in Manarola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giovanni Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giovanni Rooms

Property: Giovanni Rooms
Address: Via Ettore Cozzani 22, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Giovanni Rooms 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giovanni Rooms features three new luxury double to quad rooms and an attic : the structure is located in Manarola, 5Terre, in the main plaza of the town. The luxury rooms are all new with all the comforts for a perfect stay:from the windows you can enjoy a gorgeous view on all the town and the sea. The attic have two balconies, kitchen and a amazing view on all the town, the hills around and the sea. Write or call us for an amazing stay in the lovely Manarola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Giovanni Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giovanni Rooms Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing