We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marina Piccola
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Driebergen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfectly OK”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A fairly simple, family-run hotel. Nothing exceptional, it's what you might expect for the money. The staff (the family) are very kind and friendly people. We stayed there for four nights in a quite adequate room overlooking the street. Everything was fine and , to quote their website, 'parish priest'. Work that one out. I've tried to think of something negative to say, but can't. When you've done the Cinque Terre, then maybe there's no reason to go back, although it is a quite beautiful area there are so many other tourists there even in October, but if we went back to Manarola we would surely stay at Marina Piccola again. Also, having looked at the other Cinque Terre villages, I'd reckon Manarola the best. I hesitated between 'very good' and 'excellent' in rating this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 644351Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    111
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
45
161
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After some of the reviews on this site we were a little worried. Unnecessarily so. The location is amazing- we asked for a sea view and that's what we got- overlooking the harbour with incredible sunsets. The room wasn't huge or elaborate, but had character and was clean and pleasant. The bathroom could probably do with an upgrade, and the room with a repaint, but I'd hate to see the classic furniture and feel of the room change or modernize. It wasn't quiet in the early mornings with restaurants preparing for the day and garbages being collected below our window, but the view was worth it! The staff were all very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannegraeme0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a gorgeous intimate and reasonably priced hotel in the quaint town of Manarola, which is loaded with atmosphere. We (3 adults) stayed in the 'apartment', which has 2 sleeping areas separated by cupboards and is quite spacious. While it is on the top floor only accessible by stairs (with another set to get to the bathroom) it was worth the exercise. A gorgeous balcony and stunning views of the sea and the village add to the ambience. We also really enjoyed the restaurant. Our visitors who were staying in another village were envious when they saw this accommodation and have recommended it to their friends, which reminded me that I had never written a review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdelaideGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here with a seafood risotto that was excellent. Portions are large so we split the dish. Food was excellent, view is great. Loved it! We did not stay at this hotel, only had dinner. Try to get a table outside if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay in Manarola. The food was great and the waiters didn't mind us trying our bad italian on them. They cater well for vegetarians for a seafood restaurant. The view is great and so I the vino Rossi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattymeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a small but very good hotel right at the marina. We stayed in the family room on the top floor with two double beds. The room was recently renovated and did not have a TV yet. From our window I could watch my kids swimming. The room was large, clean, modern and beautiful, and had an amazing balcony with views of the town, very relaxing. Excellent service and good breakfast. The town is very small and the hotel is central. The only drawback was the many stairs to our room, nevertheless we enjoyed our stay immensly. Travelling light is highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, choose your room accordingly, but the views are amazing at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 962Familyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my third time at this hotel - that says it all! I love it and 3 days never seems long enough. The location is wonderful - at night this village of Manarola loses most of the tourists and becomes a delightful little Italian enclave! Hotel Marina Piccola sits overlooking the beautiful mediterranean and has it's own restaurant (you must try the squid ink linguine). The family all pitch in to run this quaint hotel - the breakfast has a good selection of food and coffee freshly made to order. At night it is just a two minute walk around the track to look back on the gorgeous lights of Manarola, Then only a few steps from the door of the hotel is the local cantina where every night local musicians "jam". Facilities at the hotel are great - I have stayed in 3 different rooms and they all have their own character.This place really is a gem and I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
591 reviews
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Piccola

Property: Hotel Marina Piccola
Address: Via Renato Birolli No 120, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Piccola 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marina Piccola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Piccola Hotel
Marina Piccola Manarola
Hotel Marina Piccola Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing