We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marina Piccola
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a small but very good hotel right at the marina. We stayed in the family room on the top floor with two double beds. The room was recently renovated and did not have a TV yet. From our window I could watch my kids swimming. The room was large, clean, modern and beautiful, and had an amazing balcony with views of the town, very relaxing. Excellent service and good breakfast. The town is very small and the hotel is central. The only drawback was the many stairs to our room, nevertheless we enjoyed our stay immensly. Travelling light is highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, choose your room accordingly, but the views are amazing at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 962Familyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    111
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
46
161
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my third time at this hotel - that says it all! I love it and 3 days never seems long enough. The location is wonderful - at night this village of Manarola loses most of the tourists and becomes a delightful little Italian enclave! Hotel Marina Piccola sits overlooking the beautiful mediterranean and has it's own restaurant (you must try the squid ink linguine). The family all pitch in to run this quaint hotel - the breakfast has a good selection of food and coffee freshly made to order. At night it is just a two minute walk around the track to look back on the gorgeous lights of Manarola, Then only a few steps from the door of the hotel is the local cantina where every night local musicians "jam". Facilities at the hotel are great - I have stayed in 3 different rooms and they all have their own character.This place really is a gem and I can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because I booked late in the season. The staff we have dealt with are friendly and helpful ( we have yet to check out). The location is 2 seconds away from the marina, which was nice for access to amazing sunsets and just watching the open sea ( our room did not have an ocean view). It was a convenient location in the context of wheeling a heavy suitcase from the train station and the staff brought up to the room for us. There is some noise from the bar 2 doors down but it is nothing excessive. Room was decent and clean. Overall I would say good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobeesnaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had chosen to stay here despite reading reviews that made us a little wary. We arrived to find the Hotel Manager having a heated and unhappy telephone conversation which took quite a while before checking us in.....despite a slightly shaky start we had a lovely stay at this hotel.

The hotel is very well situated at the bottom of the hill from the railway station. We stayed in Room 4 which had a lovely view, comfortable twin beds and was clean and adequatetly furnished. Our host was very helpful, breakfast was good and the atmosphere was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Good view from room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in Room #9 at the very top of the stairs (no lift...ugh). It is a new room which is very spacious with great modern decor. We had a big window which opened to a view of the sea and the swimming area with the big rocks that people jump from into the sea. I loved sitting on the bed with the window open and watching the amazing sunset. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean was wonderful. On the other side of the room was a nice large balcony which overlooked the street below and the colorful buildings along the hillside. The bathroom was average, not small-not large, size but the shower was amazing. Shower was nice and roomy with great water pressure. Wi-fi was not reliable. Breakfast was very nice. Hosts speak very little English. Plan to do a lot of climbing in this town and this hotel. Nothing is a flat even surface. But, it is very well worth the effort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdue-Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

the overall vibe is quaint in this family owned and run hotel. we arrived late and David was very helpful with baggage (yes, there are lots of stairs) and food arrangements; in the mornings Michaela was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions about our first stay in CT. we were in #7, which didn't have a balcony but large window you could sit in and dangle your feet out; it two was one of the newer renovated ones, modern and nicely done. breakfast was a variety of cheese, meat and bread, as well as eggs, yogurt and cereal (as in most places in Italy, you ask for any kind of coffee to be brought). the owner was very apologetic when the internet didn't work (actually, the printer to print off access codes). while there are "no steps" getting there, going back to the station is an uphill slant of sometimes 30-40 degrees-- just make sure you plan lots of time getting back to the station when you leave). the proximity to the water is nice, and you can hike up the hill toward the cemetery to get a great view as the evening light wanes (lots of photographers love that view). we ate at the restaurant across the way of the same name, as well as the one in the "center" Aristide… all food was good in Manarola, and all the locals were friendly. we hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: you can ask for balcony, some have street view, some have water view; you can ask for water view wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We planned our trip to Manarola months in advance and booked this hotel. after booking we kept checking Trip Advisor and saw some very mixed reviews. As a result we arrived with some trepidation. However, the hotel is in an amazing location, and as anyone else visiting Manarola will know, its incredibly steep and a lot of other accommodation involves lots of steps (dragging suitcases). This hotel is not far from the station and there are no steps, so very easy access.

The gentleman manning the reception desk while we were there seemed very shy but quietly friendly. We were on the first floor, our rooms were perhaps a little basic,though clean and bathrooms perfectly adequate. We had one with a beautiful view of the sea (there was a balcony just facing our room though from the next hotel, see pic) and our other travelling companions had two windows with no sea view overlooking the village. They were very comfortable though and breakfast was great. The freshly baked croissants were the best we tasted throughout our entire holiday!

we didn't find we were kept awake by the noise from the restaurant unduly (at night) However, everyone is up extremely early cleaning up and there is a lot of noise. If you don't fight it and realise its the sound of the locals daily lives, listen to the sea and the Italian being spoken below- we really learnt to enjoy those sounds . Also, Manarola like the rest of Cinque Terre as we discovered, is extremely touristy during the day. so those early hours (up to around nine thirty) are actually lovely. the village is quiet and there seem to be mostly locals around. Enjoy it before the trains drop masses of people off!

We ate at the restaurant of the hotel and all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Plus, the setting was absolutely amazing. Right on the sea side.

Room Tip: If you don't mind some noise, choose a first floor sea facing room. Easy to get suitcases up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
592 reviews
4.6 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Piccola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Piccola

Property: Hotel Marina Piccola
Address: Via Renato Birolli No 120, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manarola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Piccola 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marina Piccola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Piccola Hotel
Marina Piccola Manarola
Hotel Marina Piccola Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing