We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your host is also a hikers travel guide!”
Review of Aria di Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manarola
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aria di Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had a great time rambling around this beautiful town. And our host at Aria Del Mare greeted us each day with suggestion for best restaurants and hikes through the terraced orchards and between the 5 towns of Cinque Terra. The room was very comfortable and we felt like we had a local friend to help us see the best Cinque Terra has to offer. We couldn't have been happier with our stay and we'll be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 361 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Aria di Mare. Marizio was very helpful with advice for spectacular hikes in the area. The room was very clean, light, and airy. We enjoyed relaxing on our terraace each evening watching the sunset over the bay below, while enjoying a bottle of Marizios's wine, and then walking the few yards to Billy's Trattoria for a great dinner. Overall, we truly enjoyed our experience in Manarola and would highly recommend booking with Aria di Mare. Maurizio is an extremely helpful host and went over and above to help us in a stressful situation involving a lost wallet. Highly recomment this accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We are finally getting around to writing our review, but we stayed at Aria di Mare in June of 2013 and we loved it. Maurizio was a great host. Our accommodations were comfortable. We had the room that did not have the terrace...I will admit the terrace would have been a huge plus...and I would recommend anyone who is considering staying to get a terrace room! The view is spectacular...although it is quite a hike uphill from the sea shore...so be sure you can make it! We ate my birthday dinner at the nearby restaurant of Trattatoria da Billy... it was the most delicious seafood we had eaten on our whole trip! We liked Manarola because it was a more quiet, secluded town and the most beautiful (especially at night). We can’t say enough good things about our accommodations and our experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Yes Rick Steves does have it right. It's not a B&B but two rooms plus bath with a full kitchen. Just 50 feet away from Trattoria dal Billy which is also a fine restaurant run by the same family. Mauritzio is the very attentive owner.

Well worth the extra walk up with the quality and the views.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Breach21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

These are outstanding accommodations! Mario is attentive, the location and the rooms are outstanding…away from the tourist mob yet close walking to town, rail and boat. We had the luxury of speaking English. Rick Steves was right…stay here. We’re going back this spring!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimJanetCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have to start off by telling you the directions to this wonderful villa . . .you come out of the train station go to the right through the church courtyard up the set of stairs pointing to Billy's Trattoria. Go past Billy's and the villa is on the left. Now. These were accurate instructions. BUT. It was a long trek up the hillside village to our villa. A lot longer than these simple directions might imply. LOL. BUT. As I said in the title - it was worth every step! We arrived in light rain in the mid afternoon. After many twists and turns along the steep road up to the church - we easily spotted the stairwell pointing to Billy's. Up a very long set of stairs - then to find more stairs up to Aria di Mare. We were greeted by the owner - Maurizio. He helped us into the villa just before the rain came pouring down heavily. Maurizio had us slotted for the upstairs ocean view room - but as the guest who had reserved the first floor room had not arrived and it was getting late - Maurizio put us in the first floor room with an ocean view. I would reserve this room next time as you can step out to a private patio area from the room overlooking the ocean. The view. I cannot say enough about the beautiful view. Straight ahead - the waves crashing into the marina and along the cliffs, to the right - the incredible view of the terraced hillside gardens. And to the left - neighboring villas with fresh linens out on lines and warm sounds coming out from within. The accommodations were wonderful. The villa looked to be recently renovated. Spacious. The bathroom was by far the largest and most comfortable bathroom of our entire trip across Italy. The furnishings were coastal and bright. The room, furnishings and linens were all very clean and in very good condition. A nice flat screen TV - but I am not sure if it worked as we never turned it on. The WiFi was good but occasionally spotty. Breakfast is included in the room fee. This consists of instant coffees or hot tea with simple crackers and cookies - not elaborate - but good quality - and got us started just fine each day. I would highly recommend Aria di Mare. Manarola is a beautiful, magical place. And - Aria di Mare added to the memories I will treasure forever of our visit here. Sleeping with windows open - hearing the waves rolling in and crashing into the cliffs. The shear beauty of this village, of this area. I am counting the days until I can return. Be sure to pack light - many steps and stairs and steep walkways which you must navigate with your luggage. No bellman here to carry it for you! Bring some good walking, hiking shoes or sandals to go explore the hillsides and trails along the cliffs here.

Room Tip: Reserve the first floor ocean view room to get the private patio accessible from your room with an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blueigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great hotel in Manarola (the best village of the five) with an amazing view on the village and the sea. The terrace was simply perfect for our diner together or just to relax with a glass of wine and live the dolce vita as they call it. The room was very clean and in excellent condition and the bed was very comfortable. Maurizio the tenant was very nice and helpful and showed us around the village. Don't look elsewhere this hotel was all we could have hoped for.

Room Tip: Take a room with a terrace it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fitch501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Piccola
Hotel Marina Piccola
#1 of 2 in Manarola
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
Hotel Ca D'Andrean
#2 of 2 in Manarola
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
0.3 mi away
La Torretta
La Torretta
#1 of 19 in Manarola
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria di Mare

Address: Via Rollandi 137, Manarola, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Manarola
Price Range: $60 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly built, Aria di Mare, holiday apartments were designed with the objective of offering a Our structure provides free wifi to our customers holiday to our guests visiting the Cinque Terre area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aria Di Mare Hotel Manarola
Aria Di Mare Manarola, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing