We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Make a reservation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cappun Magru in casa di Marin - CLOSED

Cappun Magru in casa di Marin
Price range: $39 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make a reservation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Having dinner at Cappun was quite an experience and I thoroughly enjoyed every second (and bite) of my dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dachsbracke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    31
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service and a wonderful evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The restaurant Cappun Magru is based in the little hamlet of Groppo , just outside the small town of Volastra which in turn is perched high above the lovely Cinque Terre town of Manarola. We made a booking through our apartment owner who phoned through for us.
From Manarola you can catch the local bus outside the hiking shop just above the Post Office, the cost is 2 Euros and quite worth it. Bus time tables are available in Manarola but the bus times are about every 20 to 30 minutes. Better check the current time table though!
The restaurant is well sign posted from the bus drop off point and you are sure to get a warm welcome, even if you are a bit early as we were.
The menu is quite large, however the classic choice is the 42 Euro set menu which was what my wife and I selected. We each chose a different selection from the set menu and so saw the diverse range of flavoursome dishes skilfully prepared in the open kitchen next to the seating area. Christina, the host and wife of the Chef, was very attentive and explained the dishes as they were presented.
The meals were great and we both agreed that the trip up the hill was worth it.
Fortunately Christina took us back down to Manarola with another couple, the bus service having ended well before the main course. Not sure if such service is extended to you on a really busy night which may mean a bit of a walk, albeit downhill.
The wine list was also large and I missed out on the option of having a different wine for each of the 4 courses. If you like to try the local products then I recommend you ask up front for that option.
Wonderful evening, not cheap, but then good quality never is!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of The Finest Restaurants in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I were very fortunate to have been recommended to have dinner at the Cappun Magru restaurant during our stay in Manarola on the Cinque Terre. The restaurant is located about 1/2 kilometer above Manarola in the little village of Groppo but don't look for it on the map because it must be considered part of Manerola. When you arrive at the entrance to the village just look for the signs that point the way to the restaurant. We took the local bus from Manarola, two Euro each walked back during a wonderful sunset over the Med. We arrived early and the restaurant was closed, however, the front door was open so we peeped inside to see a spotless finely appointed restaurant with wonderful views overlooking Manarola and the sea. As we turned to leave a nice lady appeared who turned out to be the owner. She was very gracious to us even though we were slightly trespassing.

My wife and I both had a fish entree called Hake which has a very delicate white meat and a wonderful flavor. From start to finish, the service, the ambiance, and every delicious bite left us in awe. Everyone near us in the dining room agreed that their meals were most delicious.,

If you come to the Cinque Terre, do not miss having dinner Cappun Magre! No matter which town you are staying in, the trip is worth it. Be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, comfortable Italian atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Single best meal we had in Italy. Lovely location. Worth the trip up the hill from Manarola. Chef chooses the menu on the day of the meal by shopping at the local market. Whole family works in the restarurant giving it a friendly, warm feel. Definitely recommend highly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamParsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great combination of food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was certainly the best meal we had on our visit to Manarola and Cinque Terre. Nestled in the hills above Manarola, it is an easy 10 minute bus trip up. The restaurant itself is small and cosy and you feel like a guest in someone's home. We chose to have the menu of the day and were not disappointed. Everything was delicious and creatively presented, and we especially enjoyed the house specialty cappun magru. Christina, the owner and our hostess, made some excellent wine recommendations and the service throughout was perfect. At the end, she even kindly drove us back down to Manarola.

I couldn't recommend this restaurant more and will happily return on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappun Magru in casa di Marin also viewed

 
Manarola, Cinque Terre
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing