We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cappun Magru in casa di Marin - CLOSED

Cappun Magru in casa di Marin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had dinner here on 1 Sep with my parents. We were seated upstairs where there is a beautiful view of the vineyards. It was really easy to catch the bus from Manarola (c 10 mins). A young gentleman on the bus showed us the way to the restaurant and turns out he is the chef's son! We had the capping magru and a fish dish for starters, both amazing! The fish dish was pan fried and still juicy, on a bed of avocados. We had the catch of the day and he seafood spaghetti for the main and you can tell the seafood is very fresh. Being from Vancouver where we are spoiled with fresh seafood, we are not saying this lightly! We were pleasantly full but ordered the ricotta mouse and some sort of parfait with fresh
Berries and peaches, a very nice and light end to the meal finished with a good cup of espresso. I was really impressed at how reasonably priced the dishes were and the attention to detail. We had a bottle of white wine from manarola and the bill worked out to c 40pp. Best of all, Christina, the owner of the restaurant drove us back to Manarola after dinner! I have been to cinque terre three times, but did not get a chance to try, so am glad that I managed to this time. Worth calling for reservation as there are about 4 tables upstairs and 3 tables downstairs. What a memorable meal! Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sushimelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    31
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We dined here on 1 August 2013. We had read a lot about this restaurant here on TripAdvisor, so our expectations were quite high. We were not disappointed.
We had booked a table for 8 PM, and we were the first guests to arrive. We could choose which table we wanted and we chose the one by the window. The window was wide open as the outside temperature was close to 30°C. We had a nice view of the steep hills above Groppo and we could admire the sunset.
The lady who served was very pleasant and she explained the menu in many languages: Italian, German and English. We could see the kitchen from where we sat and we saw the chef and his assistant working.

We chose the Menu of the Day, which was 42 € per person for antipasto, primo piatto, secondo piatto and dessert. We chose the specialty of the house for antipasto, the Cappun Magru. This is a gastronomic piece of art consisting of layers of beetroot, avocado, fish and seafood accompanied by various shells, such as mussels, clams and oyster. It was delicious and quite plentiful. Although we were pretty hungry we started to get quite full already after this antipasto.

For primo piatto we chose a fish soup with sardines and a pasta dish with fish and seafood, respectively. Both were delicious and tasty.

The crux of the evening was the main course. Since we were quite full already we were happy to see that the main course was not too plentiful. The dish consisted of fried fish in relatively small pieces accompanied by a little tower of vegetables where one could find avocado and cucumber among other vegetables. The sauce contained hazelnuts and was delicious. The fish was a bit crispy on the outside from the frying but really juicy on the inside. This combination of a crispy outside and a juicy inside is not easy to accomplish, and I have to say that this is one of the best prepared fish dishes I have ever tasted. Being Norwegian and raised on fish it is not easy to impress me with fish or seafood, but this dish was something out of the ordinary. We asked the name of the fish and it turned out that this is a species that lives deep into the ocean. Its latin name is: Schedophilus ovalis. In English it is called Imperial Blackfish, and it is found in the eastern Atlantic and the Mediterranean Sea, at depths of between 70 and 700 m. Its length is up to 100 cm. Our waitress told us that the chef had found this fish on the market in La Spezia the same morning and that this was the first time he prepared a dish with this fish. We were lucky to get to taste this delicious fish.

For dessert we had yoghurt mousse with fresh berries from the forest and an amaretto parfait, respectively. The dessert was rounded off with a good espresso.

The accompany the meal we had a local white wine called Aquamarina Tobiolo. One the one hand it had some round sweetness, but on the other hand it was also dry. It was a wine with a certain character and it married the food very well.

I would like to refute one of the reviews made here which says that you can get the same food down in Manarola and for less money. I have to say that I really doubt that. You can find cheaper food, yes, but the restaurants I have visited in Manarola, although I had nothing to complain about, are not even in the remote neighbourhood of Cappun Magru when it comes to sophistication and gastronomic experience. While the restaurants down in Manarola serve you good rugged cuisine, Cappun Magru offers you fine dining in a stylish, yet relaxed atmosphere.

On the negative side I could mention that the chef never appeared at our table, which is one of those gestures one appreciates in a good and serious restaurant. Our waitress could also have been a bit more formally dressed, perhaps. That said, we had a very good service and the waitress was very keen to explain all the dishes and she even brought us a big encyclopedia on fish to explain about the Imperial Blackfish.

All in all a very good and memorable meal.

This restaurant can only be highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Geir-Ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a marvelous experience. Shuttled up to Groppo from Manarola, cozied into a lovely table and enjoyed the meal start to finish. The owners work extremely hard to make everything just perfect. It really feels like being invited in to a (upscale) home. Christina was an amazing hostess, patient and kind to every guest. She made wonderful wine suggestions that surpassed our expectations.
Every course was perfectly timed. We had a table upstairs that looked into the kitchen AND out over the beautiful countryside.
The food was spot-on. Cappun Magru dish was wonderful, but truly, everything was. A very memorable night, and as a special happy touch, Christina drove the guests back down to Manarola! Was a beautiful experience. A
Important: Other diners below mentioned something about credit cards....we saw them accepting credit cards with our own eyes, so don't let those reviewers dissuade you from going.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LikesBooksWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
282 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Memorable and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here in the hills above Manarola.
What we like to call a "farmhouse experience" -- a special
meal in a place all to itself. We sat in the small room on the
top floor where we had a clear view of the kitchen. Interesting
artwork and very romantic with French ballads for background
music. Definitely take the menu del giorno with the house
specialty "cappun magru". For us there followed a tasty and
slightly spicy spaghetti with bits of seafood and a French-style
anchovy soup, and then an excellent fillet of sea bream. The
wine list is outstanding with a nice selection of wines from the
area. Christiane is a magnificient host and the chef Maurizio
is talented and inventive with a wonderful imagination.
Recommended without question!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weyl-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For Foodies in Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

One of the best dining experiences of my life.

Easy to take the bus from Manarola to Groppo, and follow the signs up the stairs to the restaurant.

Ambience is casual and relaxed, we had our first glass of wine on the terrace overlooking rolling hills.

Loved our 4-course dinner. My mom and I each picked the different course options so we could taste everything. The Cappun Magru first course is mandatory local Ligurian fare - a delicious combo of fish, shellfish, pesto, and vegetables. Our other first course was fresh anchovies with a fruity apple and apricot dressing.

Second course was seafood pasta and an amazing soup with steamed pouches of fish wrapped in lettuce leaves.

Our entree was a gorgeous piece of perfectly cooked fish with zucchini on a tomato anchovy sauce. The desserts were equally fantastic - semifreddo with chocolate mousse, and a yogurt panna cotta with berries.

Christianne was a lovely host and gave us a ride to Manarola, she even arranged for her husband (the amazing chef) to bring me my purse the next day that I had forgotten at the restaurant.

Best part-all this gorgeous and delicious artful food was only 42 euro per person. That is an excellent value!

Highly recommended for seafood loving foodies in the Cinque Terre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappun Magru in casa di Marin also viewed

 
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing