We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food with a fantastic view”

Trattoria Dal Billy
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food with a fantastic view”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

After several attempts to make a reservation -- clearly this is a popular place -- we managed to get a table on the terrace for our last evening in Manarola. Good, fresh food combined with the great view overlooking Manarola, made for a fantastic evening. The service was good and the "gift" limoncello was a nice touch to finish off the meal. I would certainly recommend this restaurant and will certainly return on my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,870
    568
    195
    83
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view and friendly staff”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came in for a late lunch after a morning of hiking. It was pretty high up in Manarola and required a few minutes walk in the sun. When we entered the terrace was nearly empty but the interior was quite full. We were confused as to why so many people chose to sit inside when the weather was perfect and the view was incredible, particularly at the table we chose.

We decided to go for local specialties since we hadn't the night before an we ordered the anchovies in lemon for a starter. I loved them - they weren't as salty as I expected and were lovely on bread. My boyfriend had the pesto pasta (since pesto originates in Liguria afterall) and he enjoyed it. There wasn't anything to the dish besides pasta and pesto but since both were good, so was the resulting dish.

I wanted fresh seafood and asked what the fish caught that day (a section on the menu) was. The waiter did not know any of the names of the fish in English but when he realized it was just for me he said only one was available for a single portion (rather than for a couple.) I started to ask if it would be better grilled or baked (also options according to the menu) and the waiter interrupted and said this fish could only be baked. This would have probably irritated me had he not been very nice generally and clearly well meaning. We were also drinking the house red and just enjoying the weather.

Some time later he brought out the cooked fish to display it and told us he would debone it and bring it back. It was absolutely perfect. There were a couple of potatoes and olives on the side but the fish was fantastic. It was light and buttery and so fresh that they clearly live up to their promise of same day caught fish. I struggled a bit to finish because it was a large portion but I'm not sure of the exact amount. I expected it to cost a fortune but it was under 25 euro judging from our final bill. By the time we finished we were far and away the only people left on the terrace but they never tried to hurry us.

We asked for the check and as the waiter was bringing change he also brought us two glasses and a bottle of lemoncelo. He told us to enjoy an have as much as we like. The bottle was clearly older and was just refilled with their own lemoncelo likely from their tap. It was delicious and we each had a glass or two before heading off to our hotel. This was probably the best meal we had in Cinque Terre and the seafood was even better than in the Veneto region where there is also a lot of fresh fish and we have tried hundreds of restaurants.

Helpful?
1 Thank mgalperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cinque Terre dinner”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This restaurant is a good choice for dinner if staying in Manarola, Cinque Terre. We ate dinner here twice, and wish we went someplace else on our second night. I thought it was expensive for the quality of food and service. Make sure you ask for sparkling mineral water instead of still water....as they reuse the bottles for still water, and I'm sure you're just getting Manarola tap water....not an issue with the quality of water, only the fact that they charge you for it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Views and Great food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

During a visit to Manarola we stopped at Billy's just before they closed at 4:00 and we were glad we did. Very friendly service, high quality food and a great view(!!!) made this a wonderful place to have lunch. A really great pesto with beans and potatoes pasta was shared along with other pastas. The house wine was very good, it seems that almost everyplace we try the house wine it is a hit! Getting to Billy's is a bit of a hike up and you need to keep your eye pealed for the sign but it is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowknife
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Best balsamic vinegar I have ever had! Wish I had bought a bottle to take home. Great meal. We went early before they opened but they let us in and gave us a drink!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBreeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Dal Billy also viewed

 
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria Dal Billy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing