We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant in Cinque!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Dal Billy

Trattoria Dal Billy
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Manarola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Cinque!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

When in Florence a few days before heading to Cinque for our "engagement" moon, we sat with random strangers at a restaurant who had just been to Cinque and mentioned eating at Dal Billy and said it was the best meal ever. They obviously were the research type as they had a pile of travel books on the table. We are more of a "get there and see" type of planner and rely on strangers, locals, etc to give us reccs. They mentioned us trying the squid ink seafood pasta "Dal Billy's famous dish". I literally dream about it. It was so delicious. The homemade squid ink pasta was cooked to perfection, the broth tasted slightly of the sea in a good way, and fresh caught seafood was extraordinary. Two must order as it's a large dish. To note: make a reservation!! We were able to squeeze in last minute, and catch the last train back to Vernazza (where we were staying) but the place is known for not being able to accomodate last minute requests because of it's popularity. The staff was very sweet and quite entertaining. The meal is finished off by a complimentary bottle of homemade Limoncello. Usually I am not a fan of Limoncello, but this was amazing as well. MUST eat here if ever in Cinque Terra!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mismiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    549
    181
    78
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience and value for money!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food, great view, great desserts, great service, great prices!!!
Try the black pasta, the variety of sea food and all the desserts!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Effie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The fisherman's fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a fish restaurant decorated by fishermen, run by fishermen (and the wife), where fish is the speciality. So good we did a dinner and lunch.
Some tips, book and get there early. The reason for getting there early is that you get to choose the fish so getting there early you get a better choice. The restaurant is split over three levels, so has limited seating on each level. If the weather is clear and warm, ask to sit outside. This is on the lower level. if the waiter makes a suggestion, take it.
The meal sizes are generous so be careful not to over order, otherwise you will be on a diet the next day.
To the boys at the restaurant, don't change anything you have a great concept.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a perfect hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stumbled upon it by accident. Well worth it. Great staff, real fresh food, fabulous views, good advise from the staff. The food is simply perfect. Reserve a table with a view for a very romantic evening. Don't even look at the menu, listen to the advise of the staff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NienkeandHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ordered To Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a boat to catch at 12:40pm to Vernazza but wanted to try the top rated restaurant in CT. So, we hiked up to the trattoria and got there at 11:57am. The trattoria opens at noon. The owner was super accommodating after I explained to him my situation; he took my orders and got the kitchen cooking immediately. Everything was ready in 15 minutes. The food was fantastic though a little salty. We were thirsty afterwards. We ordered pesto pasta, seafood spaghetti and black squid ink spaghetti.

I think the trattoria usually entertains sit-in customers and very few order take out. So, the take out boxes were actually big aluminium tray covered with aluminium foil. Everything was packed nicely though. They also don't provide plastic utensils. Luckily, we brought our own chopsticks and took the food to Vernazza and ate it at the breakwater wall near the town square. People walking passed us must have been wondering where we got our spaghetti and chopsticks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Gable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Dal Billy also viewed

 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Manarola, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria Dal Billy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing