We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are welcomed here like family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corniglia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Carugio di Corniglia
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You are welcomed here like family”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Il Carugio di Corniglia earlier this month, for 4 days. Lidia greeted us with such warmth; it was a huge contrast to how things were in Rome and Florence. I felt as if she welcomed us into her home like she would a family member. In broken, but comprehendible English, she spent a ton of time explaining how the trains, boats, and hiking trails worked. She gave us time tables and maps, too (which ended up being very helpful). Like the other reviewers have said, she is an amazing host.

As far as the room goes, it too was amazing! It had recently been redone, it was modern and comfortable. It was clean and quiet. Corniglia is so small, I think you could stay just about anywhere and be in "central" Corniglia. The bells from the nearby churches were very loud and disturbing at some points of the night (I think they were going until midnight one night), but there's no escaping that regardless of where you stay. Our balcony had a nice view, too.

I would 100% recommend staying here. The location is great, the place is nice and quiet, the price was right, and you couldn’t ask for a better host! Thanks Lidia!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgazzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia_Spora, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
You are very kind
it was a pleasure to have you
in our structure,
I wish you much happiness
soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
126
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lydia met us in the rain with an extra umbrella. She spent time with us and helped understand the hiking trails, the boat and the trains. She looked in on us to make sure everything was ok. We were in room 5, with a pretty little balcony that overlooked paradise for 5 amazing days. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. It was perfect really. We had snacks and wine on the roof top terrace and wished we never had to leave. We loved that Corniglia was a quieter village than the others and it felt like home after visiting the others. But what really made it the best experience of our whole month in France and Italy was meeting Lidia. We would recommend any property she has because of the care and attention she gives from her heart.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Patricia! Was a pleasure for me to had you here.
I take this opportunity to inform you that we are renovating the studio and it will be even more welcoming.
I hope you come back soon to visit me.
Merry Christmas.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Il Carugio. Lidia was friendly, helpful, and available when we needed her. Our room was comfortable and had a nice little kitchen which enabled us to cook our own American breakfast. We had a little terrace and also a clothesline, which we appreciated. There is a produce market right down the street and also several little coffee places that will make sandwiches. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer and have more time. We would pick this village again because it is much less touristy than the others and will be central for hiking when they get the trail fixed in both directions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveandkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella recensione, vi auguro buone feste.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Lidia's property, Il Carugio di Corniglia, for an evening. The room was perfect-- spacious, very comfortable, remarkably clean, bright and with a great view of the sea. Plus the property couldn't be more centrally located. Lidia was such a gracious and helpful host; I needed an adaptor for my phone so I could charge it and she went out of her way to find one for me and even went so far as to give it to me! She provided us with great recommendations on restaurants in the 5 villages, as well, which was very helpful. Corniglia was certainly our favorite village as it was less touristy but still offered great accommodations. We loved our stay Il Carugio and wish we could have stayed longer. Lidia was a lovely, warm and professional host and truly helped make our stay in Cinque Terre fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megans20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Megan, thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure met you, hope to see you soon.
Merry Christmas,
Lidia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From our patio (Posu 1 and 2), adjacent to the main square, we really got a sense of what it's like to live in CT, watching the town come to life each morning; church bells, vendors driving up in their trucks with various foods and staples for the locals; and then the little bus, on the half hour, shuttling tourists (and locals) from the train station. (the option is walking 365 steps up/down the mountain, but you should do that at least once). i heard one guide tell her group, upon arrival in Corniglia, "okay, folks, 20 minutes here!" and i bristled -- i could stay a lifetime. We stayed for five nights, explored the much busier CT towns and happily retreated to the serenity and realness that is Corniglia. Smallest and highest of the CT towns, Corniglia is a gem of a discovery. We dubbed Lidia, the owner of the apartments, ex-officio mayor of the town. She knows everyone and everything! Extremely helpful and thoughtful. Consider a hike or drive to San Bernandino before you leave; perched even higher in the mountains, it is even quieter and offers great views of Corniglia!

Room Tip: Posu 1 and 2 are adjacent apartments, one with a kitchen; both share the patio, with a view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank off-seasontravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review about us.
We wish you Merry Christmas and we hope to have you here again.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was looking at another review of this place and all I can say is ditto: We had an incredible time. I had really struggled to find a place in Cinque Terre since I was booking only a few weeks before our trip. I was so lucky I found this place! It was a wonderful location for exploring the coast and Lidia went beyond all things possible to make our trip pleasant. She even had us picked up at the train station when we got in late having just missed our train in La Spezia and after hiking and driving all the way from our hut in the Swiss alps earlier that day. Lidia was an amazing host! We stayed in Pusu 1 which overlooked the square and gives you a partial view of the sea and a beautiful view of the city! There was plenty of room for the 4 adult members of our family with the place seeming quite large and the price was very reasonable. Lidia gave us plenty of information and maps even with our late arrival and I felt guilty taking her away from her family, but she did not rush our checkin The kitchen was wonderful...complete in every way with coffee and espresso pots ready for my morning coffee! We did not cook since the restaurants nearby were great to eat in, but we did wander out each morning to the shops to return with breakfast which we ate on the wonderful patio with a view of the town and water. Doing laundry worked well with a machine in the kitchen and an unobtrusive clothesline beside our tables on the patio. The place was clean and Lidia wanted to make sure everything was perfect. She refused to take a tip only asking we review her apartment which I would have done anyway. Thank you Lidia! I loved the apartment as did the rest of my family and I would go back in a heartbeat. The city bus stopped right across the street from the apartment, but it was easy for us to just walk down the beautiful stairs to the train station to depart. It was easy to walk....but not easy to leave this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Mine apice for had you here.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the town, Corniglia has many thing to offer its visitors.
Best wishes to all your wonderful family, hope to see you soon.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the apartment B3 for 3 nights in July. We were surprised by a good size and cleanliness of the apartment. It's seems like the whole building underwent renovation recently. We had two rooms, both of which had door to the balcony that overlooked hills with the vineyards and, partially, the sea. Location is great - right in the center of Corniglia. Our host was very nice. On the first day she gave us all the information about area, trails, schedule of trains and boats and gave us some recommendations on what to do and where to eat.
Overall it was very enjoyable stay. I'll agree with everyone that the only problem when visiting CT is you can not get enough of it.

Room Tip: B3 is quiet, beautiful view, can accommodate 5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for the nice review was very helpful.
Hope to see you soon.
Merry Christmas
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
2.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Terrazze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Carugio di Corniglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Carugio di Corniglia

Property: Il Carugio di Corniglia
Address: Via della Stazione 19, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Corniglia
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carugio is a three-floor condominium with a panoramic terrace, equipped with tables, wooden chairs and marble sink, where you can enjoy a splendid sea views over the village, the vineyards and the Sanctuary of San Bernardino. The Carugio consists of: Camera 1, Bilo 2, Bilo 3, Mono 4, Mono 5, and Monolocale Tavernetta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Carugio Di Corniglia Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing