We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a slice of life in Cinque Terre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Carugio di Corniglia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corniglia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Carugio di Corniglia
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a slice of life in Cinque Terre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

From our patio (Posu 1 and 2), adjacent to the main square, we really got a sense of what it's like to live in CT, watching the town come to life each morning; church bells, vendors driving up in their trucks with various foods and staples for the locals; and then the little bus, on the half hour, shuttling tourists (and locals) from the train station. (the option is walking 365 steps up/down the mountain, but you should do that at least once). i heard one guide tell her group, upon arrival in Corniglia, "okay, folks, 20 minutes here!" and i bristled -- i could stay a lifetime. We stayed for five nights, explored the much busier CT towns and happily retreated to the serenity and realness that is Corniglia. Smallest and highest of the CT towns, Corniglia is a gem of a discovery. We dubbed Lidia, the owner of the apartments, ex-officio mayor of the town. She knows everyone and everything! Extremely helpful and thoughtful. Consider a hike or drive to San Bernandino before you leave; perched even higher in the mountains, it is even quieter and offers great views of Corniglia!

Room Tip: Posu 1 and 2 are adjacent apartments, one with a kitchen; both share the patio, with a view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank off-seasontravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review about us.
We wish you Merry Christmas and we hope to have you here again.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
119
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brier, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was looking at another review of this place and all I can say is ditto: We had an incredible time. I had really struggled to find a place in Cinque Terre since I was booking only a few weeks before our trip. I was so lucky I found this place! It was a wonderful location for exploring the coast and Lidia went beyond all things possible to make our trip pleasant. She even had us picked up at the train station when we got in late having just missed our train in La Spezia and after hiking and driving all the way from our hut in the Swiss alps earlier that day. Lidia was an amazing host! We stayed in Pusu 1 which overlooked the square and gives you a partial view of the sea and a beautiful view of the city! There was plenty of room for the 4 adult members of our family with the place seeming quite large and the price was very reasonable. Lidia gave us plenty of information and maps even with our late arrival and I felt guilty taking her away from her family, but she did not rush our checkin The kitchen was wonderful...complete in every way with coffee and espresso pots ready for my morning coffee! We did not cook since the restaurants nearby were great to eat in, but we did wander out each morning to the shops to return with breakfast which we ate on the wonderful patio with a view of the town and water. Doing laundry worked well with a machine in the kitchen and an unobtrusive clothesline beside our tables on the patio. The place was clean and Lidia wanted to make sure everything was perfect. She refused to take a tip only asking we review her apartment which I would have done anyway. Thank you Lidia! I loved the apartment as did the rest of my family and I would go back in a heartbeat. The city bus stopped right across the street from the apartment, but it was easy for us to just walk down the beautiful stairs to the train station to depart. It was easy to walk....but not easy to leave this wonderful spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Mine apice for had you here.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the town, Corniglia has many thing to offer its visitors.
Best wishes to all your wonderful family, hope to see you soon.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the apartment B3 for 3 nights in July. We were surprised by a good size and cleanliness of the apartment. It's seems like the whole building underwent renovation recently. We had two rooms, both of which had door to the balcony that overlooked hills with the vineyards and, partially, the sea. Location is great - right in the center of Corniglia. Our host was very nice. On the first day she gave us all the information about area, trails, schedule of trains and boats and gave us some recommendations on what to do and where to eat.
Overall it was very enjoyable stay. I'll agree with everyone that the only problem when visiting CT is you can not get enough of it.

Room Tip: B3 is quiet, beautiful view, can accommodate 5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for the nice review was very helpful.
Hope to see you soon.
Merry Christmas
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Il Carugio di Corniglia last month. Lidia was a welcoming host. The accommodation was satisfactory - clean with high ceilings, a tiny shower, little deck - and the location was great. I'd recommend a trip to quiet Corniglia and a stay at these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Susan,
it was our pleasure to meet you.
I wish you and family a Merry Christmas.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The only negative was We only booked 2 nights ! Upon arrival in this quaint coastal village , the manager , Lidia , met us and escorted us to our beautiful apartment , Cavecia. Decorated in crisp Blue and White , spotlessly clean , with a small balcony overlooking the small piazza and view of the water from kitchen . Lidia was so friendly and helpful with info , and brought us a bottle of white wine and fresh lemon`s from her garden . The Apt was perfect for us . We enjoyed being above a wonderful cafe and bar , Er Posu Cafe. Georgio makes the best Mojito`s around ! Yum ! We took the train to other Cinque Terre towns , but Corniglia was our favorite ! Thank you Lidia ! We will return , for a much longer stay .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssbeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
It will be my pleasure to have you for a longer period.
When you want.
Thank you and Merry Christmas
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling through Italy on our honeymoon and Lidia helped to make this part of our trip one of our favorites!

When I initially contacted Lidia, she attempted to find us a room with a sea view, but these rooms were all booked. We were ok with this, as the room we stayed (Pusu 2) was directly on the square and perfect for what we needed. It was clean, the shower was spacious, and the room had a small refrigerator.

However, Lidia said she really wished to give us a sea view room and offered us access to the other building with a roof-top terrace, where we enjoyed some meals overlooking the sea. She had placed rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed and gave us a present for our wedding. So nice!

We were able to park in her private lot nearby, and didn't need the car for the remainder of our stay.

The hiking in the area is incredible, although several trails were closed during our stay, so check before heading out. One trail was closed our first day, but opened the second day, so we were able to try a different hike along the coast.

Upon arrival, Lidia took the time to acquaint us with the area and provide maps, books, and a train schedule that was very helpful. She even called to make us dinner reservations and requested a sea view table at a nearby restaurant the night we arrived.

Corniglia is he highest of the towns and there are many steps up from the train station, but there is also a shuttle you can take into town if you don't want to climb the steps.

My parents and brother & sister-in-law also stayed here during different times and really enjoyed their stay.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
What can I say, I remember you and your family, which in turn
came into my frame, it was a pleasure to meet you all.
When you want to return will be a pleasure for me.
Of course in your memory countries of Corniglia and where you got married in Cortona, will always be in your hearts.
Fantastic.
I wish a Merry Christmas to you all.
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at il Carugio di Corniglia. We stayed in Cavecia which is separate to the other apartments and has a view over to the water and a small balcony. Lidia was an excellent host, a complimentary small bottle of Cinque Terre white wine was provided on arrival and the apartment was spotlessly clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the 4 days. We also were very pleased to choose Corniglia as our base, the quieter of all 5 towns. We also enjoyed getting to know the town locals and enjoyed our morning coffee (excellent) and La Posida. Thank you Lidia!

Room Tip: Cavecia is a lovely apartment with a view over the Corniglia bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 646Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motociclo, Proprietario at Il Carugio di Corniglia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jane,
thank you for your nice words,
I'm glad to have met you.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Lidia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cinqueterre Residence
Cinqueterre Residence
#2 of 32 in Riomaggiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Carugio di Corniglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Carugio di Corniglia

Property: Il Carugio di Corniglia
Address: Via della Stazione 19, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Corniglia
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carugio is a three-floor condominium with a panoramic terrace, equipped with tables, wooden chairs and marble sink, where you can enjoy a splendid sea views over the village, the vineyards and the Sanctuary of San Bernardino. The Carugio consists of: Camera 1, Bilo 2, Bilo 3, Mono 4, Mono 5, and Monolocale Tavernetta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Carugio Di Corniglia Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing