We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mehhhh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ostello di Corniglia
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mehhhh”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Positives: included locker and keys in room. There is a play ground from an elementary school outside that was enjoyable with my friends while we were waiting to go somewhere for 15 minutes.

Otherwise, not a great place. If you are just looking for a no nonsense place to sleep this is fine. But don't expect a nice or friendly atmosphere here. The staff is not nice. I saw 3 different people working over the course of being there and they were simply not nice. Upon arriving at 12:45 pm, we were not allowed to even use the bathroom (which was literally 10 feet down the hall and in sight of us). We wanted to leave our bags there until checking in at 3pm, and we essentially had to leave our bags outside on the backside and hope they didn't get stolen.

Breakfast not included, and you have to sign up the night before if you want it. You cannot use the kitchen that is right there, or the refrigerator that is right there either.
You're not allowed in the rooms early afternoon.

Also, I wouldn't recommend staying in Corniglia that much either. It's the only town not really on the coast, which means its up in the hills, which means you have to take a shuttle or climb about 400 steps up to the town from the train stations. The "town" was miniscule as well. I'd maybe recommend stopping in the town for a nice lunch and some nice views between hiking through, but that's all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is very close to where the bus drops you which brings you up from the Corniglia train station. I arrived with my boyfriend and I think we ordered a private double or twin and when we arrived we found we were in bunk beds!
The hostel is very clean (almost clinical) and there is free wi fi. The guy at reception wasn't that friendly but he was fine. He asked us to give in the key each time we went out which was a bit odd!
It's a short walk into the rest of Corniglia from the hostel (5/10 mins) which is a very lovely quiet town with gorgeous viewpoints. (After dark we also saw fireflies!)
The staff let us keep our bags at the hostel after check out time while we went out for breakfast which was useful.
Overall beautiful town and an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck_H_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't stay there again. As hostels go it wasn't too bad. The thing that annoyed me was the constant lock outs (being asked to get up and leave when you are trying to sleep late on holiday is very annoying!).
There are also a lot of rules- I know customer service is different in Italy- but it seemed like the staffs convenience was more important than the guests.

Also, Corniglia is the least impressive town in Cinque Terra, and the most difficult to get to- with about 90 steps to climb!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damiendemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Corniglia hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After I checked out in the morning, I left my backpack at the hostel and went hiking. When I returned to retrieve it later in the afternoon, I asked if I could use the toilet and fill my water bottle before departing. I was abruptly refused by the woman in charge, even though she was quite aware that I was a departing guest. When I attempted to change her mind, she made a rude hand gesture to me and stormed away. It seems pretty lame to refuse the use of a toilet to a departing guest, but it is really inexcusable to turn away anyone requesting water. This is too bad because the young man working the desk the previous evening was quite accommodating. However the conduct of the woman who refused me water leaves me to rate this hostel poorly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

First of all Corniglia is the least impressive town in Cinque Terre. I would recommend any of the other towns. When I first arrived at the hostel I was greatest by a lady watering the plants. I was carrying two heavy backpacks in 35 degree weather, she shouted No check in till after 3pm. I replied yes I know and thankyou for the warm welcome, I just leave my bags here. The area to leave your bags is right next to the front doors a floor bellow reception, it is not locked or safe at all. You get locked out of the hostel from 1 ~ 3pm and you are charged for wifi. The aircon was broken when I was there also. The stage seemed like they had severe depression and were not the most helpful people, usually when I check in to a hostel they will give you a map talk about the area and list places to go see etc. in this case it was sign and here is your key.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashryanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clean hostel, located in the center of the village which is a bit hard to reach if you are not in a good shape. Staff speaks little English, so it is not very easy to communicate. Nice quiet village overall. We had to pay for wifi, but a very small amount.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My double room in this hostel with a bathroom was simple, but clean. The air con was not working for both days on my stay, so open window was it to cool down at night, but that invited mosquitoes in. The view from my room was amazing. Wi-fi only worked one day. Hostel staff was not helpful enough for the circumstances of the Italian regional trains strike. Otherwise, they were just fine and friendly enough. Expect to rise early, unless you can sleep through morning church bells and roosters calling. It is a part of the charm of the little village. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ever111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corniglia
1.0 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostel Cinque Terre
Hostel Cinque Terre
#15 of 18 in Manarola
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Terrazze
2.0 mi away
Cinque Terre Holidays
Cinque Terre Holidays
#18 of 23 in Riomaggiore
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello di Corniglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello di Corniglia

Property: Ostello di Corniglia
Address: Via della Stazione 3, 19018 Corniglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Corniglia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Corniglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ostello di Corniglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Di Corniglia Italy - Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing