We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada

La Posada
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Corniglia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent meals, friendly staff and superb views from the restaurant. We ate here a number of times whilst staying in Corniglia and enjoyed every meal. Thank you to Christian who looked after us each night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    105
    36
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great all the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was a combination of great service and wonderful Italian food...pasta was outstanding, fresh mozzarella was wonderful...nothing not to like. The service is friendly and very attentive...even when busy. A "must go to eat there" if you are staying in Corniglia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikecheston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

On a recent visit to Cinque Terre we took the train to Corniglia and climbed the 365 stairs to get to this restaurant (and to the town). Definitely worth the climb! We sat outside in a garden setting, and our table overlooked the sea. Just beautiful! We could have lingered there all day.

We had a caprese salad to start, which was very good. My main meal was a swordfish in a lemon and olive oil sauce - absolutely delicious, I ate every bite. My husband had a lasagna with pesto sauce, also wonderful.

Service is a bit slow because the server have to cross the street to the main building where the kitchen is. With that view, however, the service didn't bother us a bit.

I definitely recommend this restaurant, just don't be in a hurry to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheZackClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
988 reviews
675 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Thank you, Christian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were told to climb the 300+ steps in Corniglia to find this place for lunch. The view was the best in Cinque Terre! The kitchen is across the road, so the poor servers do a lot of running. Christian did a great job serving us, and the food was terrific. We really enjoyed this lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service, poor food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

As already pointed by other reviewers, the most noticeable thing about this restaurant is the terrible service.
No welcome, menus thrown at us.
The food itself was average to poor. My main dish was ok, whereas my girlfriend's was a very slim slice of swordfish (not even 50g)
The worst part was when we asked the bill. We then waited half an hour. We were charged an undeserved 4 euros service fee, and another 9 euros too much. After paying, we then waited another 15mn for change.
While waiting, we could witness the terrible service other clients were experiencing (people being thrown their dishes, a lonely chinese tourist waiting endlessly to get his order taken, etc.)
In conclusion, avoid this restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gnicolaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posada also viewed

 
Corniglia, Cinque Terre
Corniglia, Cinque Terre
 

Been to La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing