We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hike!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinque Terre Trails

Cinque Terre Trails
Book In Advance
More Info
$207.72*
and up
Small-Group Cinque Terre Day Trip from Florence with Vineyards Escapes and...
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hike is amazing, but exhausting! Bring lots of water and/or expect to buy one per town. We walked on a rainy/cloudy day and we still needed lots of water. Good shoes is a must as the trails are very rocky and slippery from use. Part of the trail is still not open to walking due to the floods last year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlkn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,006
    303
    87
    40
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Be aware of costly rip off by train inspectors”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We purchased our tickets (defined point to point each way for trip there and back not an open use ticket that you can get in some situations ) at Rapallo station from the officer at the window for next day travel. On trip next day when the conductor came through the carriage checking tickets we presented our ticket when approached and we're subsequently met with almost a tirade from him. Apparently we had not validated it before getting on. We were blown away as we had travelled from Milan to Rapallo two day before on the train and our tickets ( which we had purchased exactly the same way in Milan ) were checked by the conductor enroute with no issue so had no idea that we had to do anything else. Nor were we even told that they had to be validated which we would have easily done had we known HOWEVER be aware that you have to validate tickets as well in some areas. These are GREEN boxes about 40cm square mounted on the wall sometimes near a daily timetable on the wall sometimes along a walkway sometimes elsewhere. The fine we were charged was Euro 50 each and then he just punched a neat hole in the ticket similar to what the machine does. We were gob smacked as there is no leeway. A local lady sitting near us apologized profusely saying that they know this is not obvious and it is only tourists they target all the time. We then noticed that they only approached the tourists in the full carriage and we were definitely not the only people caught on that trip. The validation also applies to tickets purchased from the automatic machines in some regional areas as well so be vigilant. I just don't want you to be Euro 100 poorer for your holiday. On our return trip we definitely validated that ticket but saw some other hapless people caught on that short journey too. Good travels and stay safe

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Diney1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Stunning - lots of steps, but worth every one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We walked the Cinque Terre trail over a couple of days in August. It was very hot. Some of the sections are quite arduous, involving many hundreds of steps up and down. But the views of the sea and the cliffs and the villages and the vineyards are quite wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gidgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norge
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“It's on my top 3 list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a hiking trip that everybody should try at least one time in their lifetime! It is on my top 3 list, and I have been to about 40 countries.I have never seen villages like this before. It's not difficult to understand why it's on UNESCO's world heritage list. Wear good shoes and take your time to enjoy the villages!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing hikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Favourite and the toughest was the walk from Riomaggiore to Ponte verde which takes about five hours but much less people and quite remote .... Beautiful views and the little town of Ponte Verde is very pretty, time your hike with the ferry back to Riomaggiore !!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinque Terre Trails also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Cinque Terre Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing