We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very modern but basic”
Review of B&B Hotel Udine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Hotel Udine
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just had a one night stay in the President. Its a good 30 min walk from the railway station or a 10 euro taxi ride. Hotel spotless, seems to have been renovated because it looked like a new hotel inside, very modern, stylish rooms. One downside was there was no bar but you dont have to walk far to find a one. The staff were ok, though not over friendly !

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank YorkshireJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 438 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel has changed ownership since most of the reports are written. It's not as good as it was. It's the same price or more, and is significantly more basic. Great location though, and ample parking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was booked into the Hotel President while on business in the area. After having stayed in another 4* Hotel President in Florence on a recent business trip, I was a bit worried (I know it is not a chain and there could be no link between the two apart from the name, but still...). However, this hotel proved to be far, far better and, for an Italian independent hotel, it was as close to its actual star rating as I have ever seen. And I even think I got one of the worst rooms! I was on the top floor where the ceiling slanted down and the only light came in through a skylight window. The room was quite small, but adequate (only a single). However, what impressed me the most was the cleanliness and how orderly it all was. Certainly it is not brand new, but the housekeeping must be of a good enough standard to make it seem like at least it has been taken good care of. Importantly, the bathroom was very clean with no mould or scruffy marks anywhere, again vouching for the hotel's standards of cleaning. The only drawback is possibly the shower which, despite my best efforts of sealing the shower curtain against the tiled walls on both sides, still left a rather large pool of water on the bathroom floor.
Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and everything looking very fresh and well laid out. Hot drinks were served to your table rather than from a self-service machine so it was essentially like going to a bar (the Italian way) but also having your pick of all the croissants, cakes and other food you wanted.
Staff were also kind and helpful, both at check-in and check-out.
To summarise, it is not a luxurious hotel, but for Italian standards, its star rating really is not so misleading. I would give it a three and a half, which is good considering most of the 4*s I stay in in Italy merely deserve a 2*.
I will certainly consider it for my next trip to Udine.

Room Tip: If you are tall like me, try to avoid the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bglad2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed in this hotel only one night and were very satisfied. The hotel is situated in a good walking distance to the centre. No problem with parking space in front of the hotel. The staff was very friendly. There is free internet by WLAN available in the hotel.
The room was clean and the bed quite comfortable.
The breakfast was very good with a great joice: ham, cheese, cereals, danish pastry, very good coffee, bread, muffins, yoghurt, honey, jam, fresh fruits, fruit salad,...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The room was very small. The staff in consierge was unkind.The shouer/bathroom was terrible.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mairaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for two nights recently, to catch up with some old Italian friends who live in Udine. The hotel was easy to find from the station, though I did get a cab as it is a good 20 minute walk along one of Udine's main roads - and too far to drag a case!

Check in was quick and efficient, with very helpful staff. The lobby and restaurant are also very modern and stylish, which may have lulled me into a false sense of security as when I opened the door to my bedroom, it was a bit like walking back into the 70's. Pale green and wood with a dark blue/green tiled bathroom. To be fair everything was perfectly clean and functional, apart from my bedcover which had three clearly visible cigarette burns in it. The room and bathroom (just a shower) were both nice and spacious and the air conditioning/heating system worked just fine. I also had plenty of towels, extra pillows and blankets. if required. Only English Speaking TV channels were CNN and Eurosport.

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice, even when I turned up at 9.45.

This hotel is in a great location for exploring the centre of Udine if you don't mind a bit of a walk (go via Piazza 1 Maggio and you are at the Castello in 10 minutes). It also has a limited number of parking spaces out front, so if you're driving then you should have no problems being able to park - and as it's just off a key road then it's an easy hotel to find.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed here just for one night - but if I come to Udine again, I would be happy to stay here again:

The hotel is easy to find - in walking distance to the city center. Enough parking space is available (we parked in front of the hotel, but I remember they have additional space in the backyard).

Check In was very friendly - staff is multilingual - and we felt very welcome.

We booked the weekend rate - it was 53 € incl. breakfast buffet for a single room.

The room was in the 5.th floor (elevator ends at 4.th floor). Be prepared - a single room is a single room - not a double for single use. The bed is really a single bed.
Room was clean and equipped with everything you need, TV, minibar, enough storage, desk, nice bathroom.

The offer free Internet-Access for their guests.

Breakfast buffet was very good - no hot dishes, but cold cuts, cheese, cereals, danish pastry, very good coffee, rye bread, muffins, yoghurt, honey, jam, fresh fruits, fruit salad....

Just opposite the hotel is a nice trattoria located - friendly staff, mostly italian guest, reasonable prices, good food.

Check Out was fast and friendly.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wendy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udine hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Friuli
Hotel Friuli
#7 of 22 in Udine
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Quo Vadis
Hotel Quo Vadis
#10 of 22 in Udine
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
0.7 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
386 reviews
3.3 mi away
Art Hotel Udine
Art Hotel Udine
#16 of 22 in Udine
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Udine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Udine

Address: Via Duino 8, 33100 Udine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Udine
Price Range: $52 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Udine 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are passing through Udine for a business meeting or on a pleasure tour, alone or in company, you will always find a proper room at B&B Hotel Udine. The hotel services always include an en-suite bathroom fitted up with bidet and shower with extra-large showerhead; the room is furnished with a Memory Foam made-in-Italy mattress, a soft quilt, unlimited access to the Internet thanks to the free Wi-Fi and a 32” flat screen TV to enjoy the best of all Sky channels. All at your service to enjoy a pleasant evening and a peaceful night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Hotel Udine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Udine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing