We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professors Len and Lesley Doyal Fabulous Faula” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo La Faula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo La Faula
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Udine
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Professors Len and Lesley Doyal Fabulous Faula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

On most days, one of us says, ‘If only we were still at La Faula ...’ Over many years, we have stayed here for at least two weeks and sometimes more. Suffice it to say, our visits have always been fantastic, both relaxing and stimulating. This year everything about this unique place has never looked so good. It really does now approach a level of perfection that other agriturismos can only dream of. The beauty of the house and its immediate environs, the well maintained comfortable and stylish rooms, the excellent food and wine, the friendly service, the sublime and well designed pool: all of these things we regulars have come to take for granted. This year, we also found a new lovely integrated children’s play area next to the pool, along with the maturation of the golf course into beautifully maintained grounds which provide a fabulous area to walk, relax and take the sun. This really is a great place for golfers to practice in paradise. Paul and Luca are very special people who, along with the rest of the staff, immediately make you feel at home and make every effort to ensure that everyone is looked after and entertained. There is even a regular cinema performance, showing films suitable for all the family. Indeed, after a short while, guests tend to bond, especially over breakfast and dinner, and feel part of an even larger family. La Faula really is quite magical for the way in which it provides a space where families with children and those without can holiday joyfully alongside each other, without difficulty or tension. There is just so much to do and so many places to do it! Paul and Luca really have pulled it off and we can now think of no better place for individuals, couples or families to come for a fulfilling holiday that links the wonderland that they have created with the beauties and mysteries of Friuli itself. We can’t wait until next year and, to paraphrase Neil Young in one of his best songs, ‘Long May They Run’. We will certainly be running down there again next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms and suites are fine. Each one has its own special attraction, depending on the need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Len D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our group of seven enjoyed every minute at La Faula. The hospitality, the food, the dogs, the accomodations--all made for fond memories. We were picked up at the train station, dinner was kept warm for us, and we were welcomed with such charm!!!

Room Tip: Our room was perfect for the three of us. A family room for my husband and my daughter and myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is a real gem, outside Udine, in beautiful countryside. Fantastic food and wine. The setting is magical, romantic, lovely. Fantastic hospitality. I can't say enough good things about the place. A must visit.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

From the moment we arrived, our hosts Paul and Luca made us feel like we were part of their family. La Faula is a beautiful, yet lovingly restored farmhouse in the small village of Ravosa. Although it provides a rural escape you are only a short drive from busy Cividale and Udine. There is plenty to do (or not do). The pool was a welcome site on hot summer afternoons after a day spent exploring Friuli. The option of coming home to one of Paul and Luca's fabulous dinners provides a stress-free option for travellers who are tired of having to eat out each night. Our room was large and comfortable. The decor was tasteful and rustic in nature. The guests at la Faula seem to come from all corners of the globe and the opportunity to sit and share a drink under the pergola has created new friendships.
Tips: 1) The property has a few dogs (all very friendly) but I guess if you are allergic then this may be a problem
2) You'll need a car to explore the area
3) Eat Paul's bread at breakfast (very yummy) and pass on the shop bought ones

We traveled across Europe for 5 weeks and this was by far the most memorable place we stayed. It was our home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roaming3Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

There are so many wonderful things to say about La Faula, I don't know where to begin! The setting is beautiful: an old farmhouse surrounded by hilly vineyards, farms and a nature reserve with the Dolomites visible in the background. The farmhouse, which has been in Luca's family for generations, has been lovingly and beautifully restored and furnished. Our rooms were perfect for a family of 4: a private 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom "apartment" located on the 2nd floor of the farmhouse. The location was a perfect base for our daily excursions around Friuli and the cooking lessons we took from Paul, the chef, proved to be one the highlight of our vacation. And I must also mention the award winning organic wines made on-site, the delicious meals, and the generous hospitality of our hosts, Paul & Luca. We are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookinCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We travelled throughout Europe for 9 months and stayed in many self catering and B'nB accommodations. While we enjoyed many of these wonderful establishments (and a few duds), La Faula was a stand out. The beautiful scenery, proximity to the Dolomites, fabulous wine, delicious food and the friendliness, kindness and generosity of Paul and Luca all combine to make for wonderful memories of a special place which continue to warm us. La Faula has a special ambience. It is just a lovely experience to stay there and we would dearly love to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

La Faula is an amazing place to stay if you are seeking subtle luxury, relaxation and beauty in a laid back atmosphere. The extensive grounds offer a pool and private places to read and picnic while on a working farm with a booming vineyard. Paul and Lucca, La Faula's owners, are incredible, intuitive hosts. We spent two weeks in July with our two and a half year old child and could not have asked for anything more. Breakfast and dinner ( created from local, organic produce, meats and cheeses ) are available daily. They also offer their own wine at an incredible rate.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachlhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Udine
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Gon
Agriturismo Gon
#1 of 14 in Udine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.4 mi away
Agriturismo Contessi
Agriturismo Contessi
#1 of 2 in San Daniele del Friuli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Vagabondo
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Tonutti
Agriturismo Tonutti
#1 of 2 in Tavagnacco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.6 mi away
Alloggio Agrituristico "Conte Ottelio"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Faula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Faula

Property: Agriturismo La Faula
Address: Via Casali Faula 5 | Ravosa di Povoletto, 33040 Udine, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing