We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food that is well priced”
Review of Antica Maddalena

Antica Maddalena
Ranked #18 of 502 Restaurants in Udine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We ate from the autumn menu. There was a wonderful selection of dishes with a strong emphasis on vegetarian and fish dishes - so great fro my Halal colleagues. The local cheese pancakes were amazing as well as the ham (yes there was also some meat too) and the fish and pasta delicious.

The place was busy for a Tuesday night and we left well fed without breaking the bank. A definite recommendation of a kitchen that knows what it is doing.

Eat upstairs and admire the old beams, wall painting and stone supports. They have menus in English and German as well as Italian and you can point your way to a great meal.

I would suggest you book ahead to be assured of a table

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoddyPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 812 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018

The ravioli was so unique and tasty. Brilliant. Wines good, small, but cheap.
Very nice restaurant design, layout and space between tables upstairs.
Sardines appetiser was great too.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jamdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

This was a fab meal - well recommended for a visit. The food was well presented and very good. The wine was also good and not overpriced. Service excellent basically couldn’t fault it.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Helen1811York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018 via mobile

We stopped without a reservation and they were nice enough to make room for us . Great ambience in this restaurant. They speak English. We started with the pasta with asparagus which we shared and it was delicious . My wife ordered the pork medallions with asparagus and I had the pork shoulder with artichokes . We had a bottle of the house wine which was good . Our bill was $ 47 Euro which I thought was a great value . The staff was fantastic. I would recommend Antica Maddalena !

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

I dined in this restaurant with a group of friends. We sat on the upper floor. It must be a popular location in Udine because it was crowded although it was not a week end night. Food was of a medium-high quality: excellent ham and cheese as appetizers, good choices of pasta, good duck as the main course. Surprisingly their choice of fresh fruits at the end of the meal was very limited (this is becoming a bad habit in many Italian restaurants). The main shortcoming was the slowness of service -. almost three hours for a dinner is more than I can cope with....

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michele359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Maddalena also viewed

Udine, Province of Udine
 
Udine, Province of Udine
Udine, Province of Udine
 
Udine, Province of Udine
Udine, Province of Udine
 

Been to Antica Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing