We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Italia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Have stayed here several times for business travel. The hotel is in a great location in the center of Udine. There many restaurants and ample shopping within walking distance. There is a parking garage nearby for the hotel available at an extra charge of around 18 euros per day.

I would rate this hotel more highly except for my most recent stay where I initially was given a room on the third floor. Rooms on this floor (some at least, maybe not all) have a serious issue with smelling like sewage. The smell comes from the bathroom only occasionally, but is bad enough to ruin a stay. I closed off the sink drain/tub drain/bedet drain but could not prevent the smell from coming into the room. I asked for a room on the first floor with in room wi-fi and was given one, so that is the positive side.

The staff here is incredibly friendly, and will take care of anything you need within their ability. The rooms are very clean, and the beds are average. The hotel is also reasonably quiet at night. The free breakfast is very good with a large variety. Breakfast starts at 7AM.

Overall I have no problem recommending as long as you can get a room below the third floor.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the third floor. The smell of sewage in some of these rooms is unbearable at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikengillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 587 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times since it is centrally located , has clean well equipped rooms, and staff are always very friendly. A car park is available also nearby, however it is sometimes difficult to stop your car in front of the hotel particular during shopping hours in the evening. The hotel lacks only a fitness centre and spa which in fact does not exist anywhere in the centre of Udine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Udine and to be centrally located.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room - they seem to have many different room types. The smallest ones are not so com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were upgraded to a room overlooking the piazza. The room was old-fashioned lovely, with high ceilings,furniture that reminded me of my own family's in Italy, and very good beds. The staff were all incredibly gracious, welcoming, and helpful. They sent a bottle of prosecco to our room, which totally unexpected. The room had free wifi with good reception. Breakfast was very good, with an excellent selection. The hotel location is perfect, although you need good directions to find it when driving into the city! The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and all the sites. There is offsite parking, which the staff will guide you to. Again, the staff is simply wonderful and the hotel perfectly situated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank albagianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here for the Bon Jovi concert and everything was great. We were welcomed with a refreshment on the patio. There was free wi fi and breakfast was delicious. If you stay here on a Sunday, make sure to bring some snacks. The whole town pretty much closes up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonJoviGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I rate this hotel as one of the best hotels that I have visited. The staff at the reception are excellent, speak very good English and helps with any question/concern. The breakfast at the hotel is very nice with a large variety to choose from. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. The location of the hotel is in front of a nice Piazza and 2 minutes walk from the city center and 8 minutes walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RatnaKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

A very charming hotel run by lovely and very professional people. The rooms are big, immaculate and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are a wonderful mix of local specialties and more standard fare. Room service menu lovely and well prepared. Free wi fi and secure parking are great. Udine itself a beautiful town. I would stay again in a heartbeat. We are staying in 12 hotels on our holiday. I wish they were all this good. We paid almost double for our accommodation in Verona and it wasn't half as good.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PC1-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel is in a great location at the edge of the old city with its quaint walking streets and plazas. The hotel is full service and high end comfort, but really quite affordable. Room was very comfortable and good size for a euro hotel. Breakfast is very good, also. The best part of the Astoria was the service. For a visitor with little Italian language skill, they were extremely patient and helpful; in very good English. I was most amazed when after getting home and not finding my camera, they emailed me and arranged to send it. Udine is great, and the Astoria made it even better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyglensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
354 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friuli
Hotel Friuli
#6 of 22 in Udine
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Allegria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Italia

Address: Piazza XX Settembre, 24, 33100 Udine, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udine
#3 Business Hotel in Udine
Price Range: $99 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria Hotel Italia is an elegant building situated in the historic city centre, just at the frontdoor of the pedestrian area. Thanks to this excellent location, our Guests can easily discover the artistic, cultural and leisure activities of Udine. Our long experience in the Hospitality industry combined with a high level of professionalism, make the Astoria Hotel Italia an ideal place for anyone looking for refined quality, personalized services, high level of comfort and practicality. GARAGE - RISTORANTE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Astoria Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Udine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing