We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricy but decent hotel.”

Albergo al Vecchio Tram
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo al Vecchio Tram
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Certificate of Excellence
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A bit pricy but decent hotel.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was very modern hotel with all fancy electronic gadgets available in the room. Manager was very enthusiastic and personnel was very friendly. No complaints what so ever though 130 eur per night was quite expensive as this was not the biggest city in the world. Breakfast was also just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemmy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    45
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at this small hotel for 5 nights during June 2012 for a course at CISM just around the corner and overall it was a very nice stay. The staff are friendly, especially one guy who I also had written with over email before my arrival. The woman who was behind the desk when I arrived had somewhat limited English, but was easy to understand. The room was very nice and larger than I had expected. Even though it was a relatively small room, there was a huge bed which took up a lot of the space. The bathroom was also quite large and very clean. With respect to cleanliness, I personally believe that way too much cleaning took place during my stay! Some might see it as a positive thing, but I think it is rather wasteful to change the towels every single day and so fourth. I also did not like the fact that the cleaning staff came into my room everyday and tidied the bed every single day, this is definitely not necessary in my opinion. I did enjoy the candy that they placed on the bed though :-). The shower was quite fancy, at least to my standards, and had a set of distributed nozzles that could be turned on independently to wash your body.
The breakfast buffet was very nice! Again the friendly staff offers you a variety of coffee, also tea if you ask, and I recommend to enjoy an espresso or two in the morning. The buffet consists of breads, croissants, ham, salami, cheese and boiled eggs, as well as a selection of cookies, musli bars and fruit. Different juices and yoghurt are also available. The hotel does not have a restaurant on-site, but there are many in the general area.
I have to finish with a slightly negative story, but it is not necessarily the hotels fault. On the final day of my stay, there was a general bus and train strike and when I asked the woman behind the counter the night before, she had no idea what I was talking about when I asked about the strike. Partly because she didn't know what the word 'strike' meant even when I carefully explained the concept to her, but most likely also because she was not aware of the situation. Luckily I was able to figure it all out from the Italian railways website. As I had to leave early in the morning, I was allowed to check out in the evening and then leave the key at the front desk when I left in the morning. She assured me that there would be someone there to take it, but there was not - so I had to just leave it on the table and go.

To finish off, the stay was overall very pleasant and I enjoyed it. The hotel was located very close to the centre of Udine and within 15-20 minutes walk from the train station. As already mentioned, the hotel is located right around the corner from CISM, International Centre for Mechanical Sciences, so I definitely recommend it if this is the reason for your visit to Udine. Also the hotel was quite cheap compared to the others I looked at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeAlexandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Toelz, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The rooms are modern, stylish and perfect to relax! Especially the staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. We felt more like a part of a familiy than in a hotel! The road is a side road without traffic going through, which makes the location very conveniant to sleep, even it is down town Udine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaurusMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is small, but nice, clean and in very good position.
There is no parking for the hotel, but at 100m there is a close parking.
The center is starting just 5min walking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickypasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This small hotel tucked down a side street in the charming town of Udine proved to be one of the best. The rooms were spotless, the power shower excellent and the breakfast buffet more than adequate. The historic centre of Udine was only a 5 minute walk away, with a very good selection of restaurants and bars, catering for all pockets.

Room Tip: I can only speak for room 5 which although facing the road, noise was minimal and the room itself pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojogluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udine hotels
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Italia
Astoria Hotel Italia
#2 of 22 in Udine
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Palace
Ambassador Palace
#3 of 22 in Udine
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Allegria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Clocchiatti & Next
0.3 mi away
Friuli
Friuli
#6 of 22 in Udine
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo al Vecchio Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo al Vecchio Tram

Property: Albergo al Vecchio Tram
Address: Via Brenari 28, 33100 Udine, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Udine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Udine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo al Vecchio Tram 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated and opened in May 2011, We offer you the possibility of a Stay in a very central location. Free WIFI 20Mb, Idro-shower, AC, TV 22" led and a good, fresh Breakfast buffet are waiting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Albergo al Vecchio Tram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing