We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the way it should be. old school old style great experience”

Antica Trattoria Suban
Ranked #3 of 828 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the way it should be. old school old style great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Meat grilled form the fogolar (grill)
go when you crave meat.
The service was just great form the waiter ( the bald one) great with help on the wine!! , the other one wants to constantly speak german, i just want to speak italian. the old owner greet you, but pays attention to his italian clientele. on our night there were just about ten tables (which filled the room. and the atmosphere was great, the experience great due to our great and attentive waiter.
the staff treats a tourist just like a local, but don't come to eat salad.

greatest disappointment: there was a DUNCE of a waitress who didn't know what to do all night long. to my disgust she changed after SHE was down with her short and sat down with other clients at a table in the restaurant. INEXCUSABLE even is she would have been the granddaughter of the owner. We left shortly after as service and guests don't have a reason to mingle in the same dining room. Sorry!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    273
    55
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Best ever in Trst. Good food and awesome waitress. Taste jota carsica, palacinka and cervo affumicato... Great location out from the centre of the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank clubdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastico....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

It really doesn't get much better than this if you want rustic Italian. This place has it all--great food, great service, great local wines, great ambiance, and the service is tops. Wish they had a sister (or brother) location in NYC

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A classic in Trieste.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is a classic in Trieste. It's almost part of the city, like the icy wind called BORA that freezes you in winter
The food here very traditional, not anazing but very consistent. A bit pricey compared to other restaurants in Trieste, but a good choice.

Will not wow you, but it is reliable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding vegetarian dinner in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I dined here with a party of 3 adults and 3 children on a very warm night. The vine-covered terrace is delightful, and the tables are far enough apart for each to be its own island of sound (nice not to be worried about the children disturbing other diners).

The food was excellent for both the adults (antipasti, primi, desert and wine) and children (simple pasta dishes). Best of all they positively embraced the challenge of feeding a vegetarian well, so much so that I just asked them to choose what I would eat - the first time I've been able to do that in years! The result was a delicious and well-balanced sampler plate of local dishes. And the lime sorbet we finished with was out of this world!

The service was impeccable - attentive without being intrusive - and the final bill of about €150 seemed very reasonable for 6 people (albeit including 3 children).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ptbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Trattoria Suban also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Antica Trattoria Suban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing