We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent breeze of Austria in Trieste”

Buffet Birreria Rudy
Ranked #59 of 983 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Austrian, Italian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed January 23, 2019

Fantastic quality price experience in this AustroHungarian style cusine restaurant. Highly recomended the mix of boiled meat, or if you are not that hungry the prosciutto cotto al coltello with cren (horse radish) it s also a fantastic course. Draft for sure will be the blonde Spaten. Enjoy !!!!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rikds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 463 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2018

Friendly host. Good wholesome pork dishes from 'Bavaria' with draught Spaten beer.
Dogs welcomed here, as we discovered as we ate. Two separate groups entered with dogs, some better behaved than others - trying to feed from their owners.
Note we were only offered a food menu, no drinks menu, the beer was dearer than Italian beer, over 5 euros for a half litre! Also note there is a 1.50 each, service charge.
Finally a note of caution, don't drink too much here if you're a lady, as you can't sit on a toilet here, just squat over the 'hole in the floor'! Amazing! No one else mentioned this!
We then left without using it, so much for the service charge -it's taking the pee! The dogs and the toilet spoilt a good night.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

If you look for a non-mediterranean food in heart of Trieste and like local, Austrian menu, then Rudy is the best place. Superb place for meat loving people at good price. The place is crowded and service is very fast and excellent.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

My extended stay in the Veneto during a business trip allowed me to sample a number of different restaurants and local hangouts to get a feel for some real local food. Our colleague took us on one such trip to this delightful Trieste version of Friday's but way, way better. The food is definitely a mix of Italian and old Yugoslavian fare from when this part of Italy extended further east to Fiume, complete with its Slavic gastronomical influence. Our meals were fantastic, even if I didn't recognize some of what I was eating, but it all went down well with the local beers. Skol!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GBaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Very typical place, in line with the Austro-Hungarian origins of Trieste.
Excellent food, great quality, good beers, it's cheap and pet friendly.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank beppevig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet Birreria Rudy also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Buffet Birreria Rudy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing