We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Bottacin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Bottacin
Certificate of Excellence
Shrops/Staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very tranquil setting on the outskirts of the city of Trieste.
Swimming pool in the gardens - you don't think that you are just 15 minutes from the city centre.
A steep climb on foot when returning home - a good way to 'work off' all the food we had eaten!
Only a small kitchenette, but adequate for basic needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in A1, overlooking the pool. Some rooms have doors out to the terrace, but we had to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
45
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting. My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and extended for one more in April, 2011, and it really gave us the feeling of being in Italy. We had a studio so could cook and store food in the refrigerator. This gave us very good value. We felt privileged sitting on the patio sipping wine in the evenings. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. Because the hotel is on a quiet street it was very quiet. A bit of a hike up hill to get there but good for the figure and not too far from public transportation. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the room with kitchenette - it's larger, more private, and you don't have to go out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
397 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

The Villa is as described by other reviewers. Exceptionally clean, reasonably priced and the rooms were more than adequate. We were traveling with 3 other couples and like to have our espresso and snacks in the morning, so two couples elected the smaller rooms with divans (nothing like the hideabeds in the US.. these were very comfortable full mattress versions). The other two elected king beds and those had much larger rooms with bigger sitting areas and kitchens. One had an upper floor room that connected with a private terrace complete with dinging table and lounge chairs. Amazing views of the city and ocean during the day and twinkling lights at night.
The pool was closed for the season, but I would imagine it's delightful in the summer.
And yes, the narrow drive up to the house is a bit intimidating the first time, but we found ourselves hiking it without issue to the bus route below.
Triest is a wonderful place to visit any time of the year and there are several great places to eat within walking distance to the villa. There is a mini shopping mall across the main street that has a grocery store and a laundramat at the bottom of the hill..

We would return without hesitation and spend more time in Trieste and make the villa our home. This trip we stayed 4 days.. all great.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

After a battle with the sat-nav, there's no way on Earth it could of found it, we had to submit defeat and call the reception. We described where we were lost, which turned out to be around the corner so the receptionist came out to find us and navigate us in, a common problem, apparently. The hotel is located up a steep, narrow, winding street which I though was cool to drive but not sure about my boyfriend who clung onto the passenger door with his eyes shut! At the top where you can go no further, the emmense electric gates open and you are greeted with a site of a large Meditteranean style mansion from maybe a century or so ago, surrounded by a large terrace and well maintained gardens. In the lower corner there is a custom made, glass mosiac tiled swimming pool surrounded by bamboo grass.

Our room was spacious with a small fitted kitchen and good bathroom. There was no air conditioning but we never suffered from an overheated room, maybe because it was on the ground facing away from the sun for most of the day. In the mornings our breakfast was brought to our outside terrace which I thought was very nice. It was also well handy that we had access to a fast internet connection with my own computer in the room, so I could plan further my trip around the area.

The staff we more than happy to help and advise where we should visit, we were recommended to visit Muggio, a small pretty historic fishing village across the bay from Trieste with absolutely no tourists:) They also recommended restaurants in the area which were excellent.

  • Liked — Beautiful, quiet, inexpensive
  • Disliked — Was tough to get to, Trieste is a car city & murder to drive in.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ilah2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

This is a villa converted to apartments some of which have a limited kitchen facility and some not. The conversion has been well done and the apartments are well appointed and maintained although our double room (S3) had a (very comfortable) sofabed rather than divan . There is a small swimming pool and a neatly manicured garden and ample parking. The villa is about 2 miles from the centre and hard to find up a narrow lane, but worth the trouble. It is adjacent to university parkland for adiitional recreation.

Our room had a fridge but no kitchen facilities, so we were given the choice of having breakfast brought to our room or outside on the pleasant terrace. It comprised coffee, fruit juice, yoghurt and a roll.

The reception staff were all friendly and helpful and spoke good English - they advised going into Trieste by bus which was about 200m away where there was also a shopping centre with supermarket. Buses 35, 9 and 6 go to various parts of town.

There was just one restaurant in the immediate vicinity (apart from Macdonalds) which was a very good pizzeria with a remarkably wide choice of toppings.

Rooms are serviced daily.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

We just returned from a short visit to Trieste and stayed in a wonderful and charming hotel resident called Villa Bottacin. Nothing luxurious, but certainly very comfortable, clean, inviting, friendly and unexpected. Our first floor room was huge, with a small kitchen and a huge bathroom. French doors stepped out to the main courtyard and grounds beyond which there was a pool! If this had been summertime this would have been a wonderful place to come back to after a day of touring. As it was, we enjoyed the 2 nights there, and the 100E/night pricetag was a bonus. They did offer a breakfast for an extra charge, but we were usually out of there and having breakfast down in town, as we were meeting a friend who was showing us around. The location is in a quiet residential area up a very narrow and steep winding cobblestone road (so typical in Italy), but the main bus line was just at the bottom of the hill or there was a car park at the hotel if you were driving you own car. I think if you were a family with kids, this would be a great place for a few days. As I mentioned, it's not the lap of luxury, but it has everything you would need and they also have plenty of touring information available either on the premises or on their web-site. We really enjoyed our stay in Trieste and would recommend this place for people looking for charm and hospitality off the beaten track.

  • Liked — Location & Charm
  • Disliked — Difficult to find and get to in a car
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KirklandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
1.6 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
1.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bottacin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bottacin

Property: Villa Bottacin
Address: Vicolo Dei Roveri 16, 34126, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Bottacin 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Villa Bottacin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing