We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, a relatively nice place to stay for a relatively good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Hotel Design

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Urban Hotel Design
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location, a relatively nice place to stay for a relatively good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Location is amazing, right in the centre of the city, close to the seaside, Piazza dell'Unita d'Italia (the main square), the hill and the pedestrian zones.
Rooms are quite basic and have some weird design touches but they are clean. Our room was quite cold during the night but we only stayed for one night and didn't figure out whether there is a problem or not.
Breakfast was decent and the price was OK.
Staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    351
    86
    18
    5
See reviews for
108
290
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 839 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at the Urban Hotel Design in late April 2014 at the end of a trip through Croatia and Slovenia. I took a bus from Ljubljana and simply walked, with my luggage, from the bus/train station to the hotel in about 15 minutes. The hotel is located in a great area with lots of restaurants and bars just off the Piazza de Unita Italia and the Adriatic. To get to the hotel simply walk through the plaza with your back to the Adriatic and go to the far right corner and then left up the first street and the hotel entrance is in a yellowish building near a parking lot.

The hotel itself is very interesting and modern. The rooms were clean with nice high quality furnishings. There was an Apple computer for guests' use or you could use the free wi-fi if you brought your own computer.

The room included a mini-bar, safe in the closet big enough to hold a portable computer, a comfortable bed with good firm pillows, a desk with chair and in the bathroom a bidet, rain water shower head, hair dryer, q-tips, nail file, shampoo, body lotion, bath foam and slippers. There was a flat screen television with 100's of channels but none, not even CNN or the BBC, in English.

Breakfast was included with my room but it was never mentioned when I checked in so I can't comment on the quality or quantity of food.

The employees, overall, were friendly, knowledgeable and spoke very good English.

My one complaint was noise. I was easily able to hear people, including employees, talking in the hallway and the slamming of room doors. I also had a room facing an alley and was easily able to hear music and people talking from some club or bar that, fortunately, stopped at 11:00 pm although I wasn't told of this when checking in or I would have requested a different room.

This is a very modern hotel that was created out of several different buildings. The all white room itself was nice and clean with very tasteful and thought out furnishings. This is a good choice if visiting Trieste primarily because of the location just off the main plaza. I didn't like the outside noise (bars and clubs nearby) or the noisy hallways but I don't think that would rule out my recommending this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salamina greece
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was expected much more from this hotel.The room wasn't so nice and comfortable for us.There was only one armchair in it .I have seen fotos from the hotel and were different from what I saw.The room and the bath were clean .Breakfast was good.The location of the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelxi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Modern design hotel in old building in Trieste. Centrally located in the more elegant part of town. Fresh and stylish rooms. Good breakfast! No restaurant. Parking in separate place at 20 euro per night. Walking distance to many touristic sites. Nice!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
president57, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Vibek, thank you for posting your great review, we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is now almost a year since we stayed here but Trieste and Hotel Urban Design remains in our minds.

The hotel is a brilliant minimalist design created within the envelope of one of Trieste's historic buildings just off the main piazza. Our room and bathroom was chic modern with touches of the old building fabric left on view.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast excellent.

One day we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
president57, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Tim,
Thank you for taking the time to review Urban Hotel Design following your stay with us after two years and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable first visit and hope that you will come again.
Thank you also for your kind words about the team who take great pride in what they do and who want to make each guest feel very special. I am pleased that your found everyone to be friendly and efficient and that nothing was too much trouble. Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location is very good, in the city center, with walking distance from the main points in the city. If you like the nightlife, a lot of pubs and bars for a drink are there around.
The hotel is nice, clean, modern style, but in a historical context and this solution was really nice. Breakfast very good, with a wide choice of food and drinks, and good service. We liked it.
We reserved a Junior Suite Room, with some services included (like the coffee corner in the room). We were disappointed that this service was not available, but even more disappointed that when we informed the reception about this situation, nobody cared.
Nothing serious, it’s clear. But if you advertise a service, you should provide it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i-mascherati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
president57, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear i-mascherati,
Thank you for sharing your review following your visit at Urban Hotel Design.
Any comment is valuable for us in order to improve our in house standards on those issues where we have an impact on. We hope we can welcome you again for your next holiday in Trieste!
Have a nice day and see you soon!
Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We loved the vibe of the hotel staying there 2 nights. There are little surprises everywhere like the glass floor in the basement where you can peek into an archeological dig. The food for the included breakfast was a cut above the usual and the room though smallish was well laid out would recommend it to anyone who likes modern design mixed with intriguing art and well executed food. It is also really well positioned to the pedestrian area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jonmak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
president57, Proprietario at Urban Hotel Design, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear jonmak_12,
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent short visit to Urban Hotel Design.
I’m thrilled to read that you felt your experience with us was good. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Yours sincerely,
Manuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Design

Property: Urban Hotel Design
Address: Androna Chiusa 4 | Via Punta del Forno, 3, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Trieste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Hotel Design 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Urban Hotel Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing