We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Modern and chic at seaside on outskirts of Trieste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern and chic at seaside on outskirts of Trieste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is situated between the main road into Trieste from Venice and the Adriatic Sea. All rooms have balconies which overlook the water. Across a small road is a concrete seaside terrace which is the best you'll do for a beach. A small rocky beach is at the western edge but access to the water is also available via a metal stairway. This beachfront is very popular for swimmers and sunbathers and as with many European beaches, has a top-optional choice for women. Families of all ages gather from early in the morning and stay all day. The rooms were all modern with nice higher-end amenities and all beds came with mosquito netting to allow the option of sleeping with the large balcony doors open to listen to the sea.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke English well. The included breakfast was very good (the best on our trip) and included cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, meat, cheeses, breads, eggs and other items. Although located on the edge of town it is a convenient location to access nearby sights such as Miramare Castle and other sights outside Trieste. There was a nice restaurant just down the street. There is free parking for those with a car. It is not convenient for those coming by train. There is free Wi-fi in the rooms which is nice.

We enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again when we return to Trieste.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so no real choice needed. Perhaps a better view from an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wpgdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    117
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
154
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as an en route stopover. The sea views from the rooms were just lovely. The hotel is set a bit out of Trieste (but an easy drive or taxi to town) and walking distance (15 minutes?) to the Castle.
Our room: smallish, cleverly decorated in whites and light blue, with a mosquito net on bed. The bathroom was very clean but also compact, not unlike what you might find in a three star motel. But it was fine, and there was a hairdryer, and the water pressure was good.
The room was hot (it was July) so we tried to use the air conditioner but it was so strangely noisy we turned it off. We got hot again so turned it back on. We tried to sleep with it on but in the end realized it was too noisy and decided to turn it off and try to deal with the heat. So, they may need to figure out a different system for cooling the rooms.
The bed: We slept in many different places on this trip, from modest to luxury, and I don't recall ever having problems sleeping, even though really some of the beds were not great. But even if the room had been cool and quiet, the beds were for some reason very uncomfortable, and sleeping was difficult, and in the end close to impossible. We really were not able to sleep at all that night which was unfortunate.
We did have a very nice view from the balcony, from which you could sea lights twinkling up and down the coast, and we swam form the the "beach" area in front of the hotel, which is a wide promenade where locals and hotel guests spread towels, sunbathe and swim. The hotel will give you towels to take across the street to the swimming area.
Breakfast was very good. A large selection of good fresh well-prepared food. There were eggs, and a boil-your-own-egg system, meats, cheeses, cakes, breads, fruits. The breakfast room is pleasant with large windows and views to the promenade and water.
We had a good dinner in the restaurant at the hotel, just adjacent to the reception. We ate outside and the ambiance was lovely with view of trees and water. The grilled fish was excellent, and the staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful.
So we had a very mixed experience at the hotel. It is a shame that the beds and air conditioning are problematic, as the location, views and atmosphere are special. As much as I would like to stay there again for those things, I cannot, because a sleepless night is too high a price to pay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Since everybody already wrote how beautiful this hotel is, I just assume a few things:

+:
Very clean, comfortable rooms, many towels, high quality cosmetic products, comfortable huge bed
Location: excellent startpoint for great trips, but you can also dive into the sea anytime you want, and can enjoy the sunset from your balcony. Nearby castle.
Sea. rich in sea creatures, bring your googgles if you like these sort of things
Breakfast: various, tasty, and nice coffee
Public transportation: buses in every 10-05 minutes. We could buy tickets at the hotel, we also got map of Trieste
Friendly staff
There are showers on the beach with tapwater


-:
no stores available in nearby, expensive to buy food or mineral water
beach: it is built of concrete, not so pretty, and only good for good swimmers. Usually crowded. In the morning and at night as well. (fishermen came at night)


and one more thing:
not many people speak english outside the hotel


I don't recommend this place for families with small children (because of the beach).

Room Tip: we had room 101, there was a tree ruining the view a bit. Get a room higher or somewhere else. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miizu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was my 2nd stay and it didn't dissapoint. The hotel is gorgeous and well maintained. It has light and airy rooms furnished in italian design. I think it was meant to look as if you're staying in a ship cabin. When you enter the room all you see from the glass wall is endless sea. Especially when staying on the upper floor. It looks as if you're directly on the sea. You have to step on the balony to see the beach below. The bathroom is in light marble and has a shower so big you can walk around a few steps. There are also lovely toiletries. The balcony is big enough to sunbathe on and has a boat deck floor and a glass wall so you don't miss on the lovely view. On the right you can see the Miramare castle and on the left there is the city of Trieste which is especially charming at night with all its lights.

Directly in front of the hotel there is a concrete beach which fills in quickly as sun loving italians don't waste their time; there's quite a few people at 7 am who stay till late at night. The small street in front of the hotel leads to the Miramare castle (worth visiting) and is lovely for a morning run. There is lots of parking space along the street which is free, but also fills in quickly, so you have to be early as the hotel only has 5 parking places which you cannot reserve. The city of Trieste can be reached in good 15 minutes ride by bus and the reception sells the inexpensive tickets. The bus stop is also very near. It's very convenient so you don't have to think about parking.

The breakfast room is lovely and looks directly on the beach as do all of the rooms. The food was good quality and there was enough variety. They could always add a few more things but that's hardly a reason to complain. You get a proper italian cappucino or espresso if you want. There are also a bar and a restaurant beside the hotel and some more beach bars some 5 or 10 minutes walk away. But the best thing at night is to have a drink on your balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank someone1Ljubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I picked Miramare Hotel from TripAdvisor because it indicated available free parking and breakfast buffet, as well as WiFI. I adored this Hotel! The rooms are compact, like a ship's cabin, but everything else makes up for it! It is nestled between the main road coming into Trieste and the small street that goes to the point of land upon which Castle Miramare sits (walking distance). All rooms face the Adriatic Sea, with a balcony. We slept with the balcony door open to hear the water splashing on the shore. The room and bathroom were clean and modern. Only drawback is that there was very little counter-space in our bathroom, very small closet (with safe and refridgerator... yes!), and the "desk" didn't have any drawers, it was more like a sofa table. The bed was not exceedingly comfy. I was glad to live with the space constraints, as everything else was so perfect! The lady at the reception desk was exceptionally helpful and made our stay extra nice. The "included" breakfast buffet was also very nice: sliced meats, cheese, you could soft or hard boil your own egg, croissants of many varieties, fresh fruit, cereals, breads, coffee, tea, aqua minerale frizzante and non-carbonated. There were a few places to park, but we had no difficulty finding a place to park on the street in front of the hotel. This is the perfect hotel if you're driving into Trieste as it's not in the center of town, but is in a beautiful location. It is just downright charming! I would go back in a heart beat!! Not sure how easy it would be to get around with public transportation...

Room Tip: All rooms face the Adreatic Sea and the sound from the main road behind the hotel is not a problem b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

In general, the comments concerning the geographical situation are correct. Modern and stylish building. All rooms orientated to the sea. Balcony gives an impression you simply could jump down into the water. Magnificent view to Trieste and Miramare. Different room types available. Very beautiful dining room with panoramic view on seaside. Free parking - if you catch one!Breakfast very fine! Unfortunately a smell of kitchen on the floors in the afternoon. Nevertheless, quality address if you want to be outside Trieste (a city a little bit disappointing) and near to the road back to Venice (we came back from a trip to Croatia). I agree with the recent comments of broomie and frenchandparisian or david the banker. It gives in other words the same impression.

Room Tip: Think twice when choosing the one on the 2nd floor with huge marble bath room. You will wetten every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskybluesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have spent one night here this Easter on our way to the middle of Italy.
The hotel is very nicely designed, the common areas as well as the rooms are modern and elegant.

The location is very pleasant right on the beach with a beatiful view of the Bay of Trieste and Miramare Castle is just a short walk away.
Breakfast room is also beautiful, with choice and quality on offer also exceeding our expectations. Some of the pastries were really of the highest quality. We had one complaint: the coffee served at the breakfast was just atrocious, which is a crying shame from a nice hotel in Trieste which is a coffee loving city even by Italian standards.

All in all, very satisfied, will return here on future Italian visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's
4.0 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
4.0 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 49 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
4.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#6 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Viale Miramare 325/4, 34136, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#8 Family Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing