We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the Adriatic”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were in Trieste for the marathon in May, and stayed Friday through Monday. The room was fine, the location was perfect, and most importantly the owners were exceptional. We took the bus from the airport and were within 100 meters of the hotel of the bus station. We were a ten minute walk to the center of town from the hotel. Any questions to the owners on activities, logistics, dining, etc were answered to perfection. Special arrangements are the regular course for these owners. For the marathon, they had a special schedule to accommodate their running guests. The restaurant recommendation (Bandierette) was perfect. Great value-- great hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor and it was fine. We would ask for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umberto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbazia H, Proprietario at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank You so much. You're great! This a family hotel, as You know, and our guests are very important for us, we try to do everything to be helpful and make Your holiday as comfortable as possible. We hope to see You again soon. With our best regards Kristina and Oriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was there at the end of April for three days with my wife.
The venue was worth the price: just near the train station, at 100 meters from the sea and from city center. The staff was truly nice and caring, while the room was clean and very luminous.
Nothing more to ask!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Philjane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbazia H, Proprietario at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice words. We're so happy that was all ok. We really hope to see You again. With our best wishes! Kristina and Oriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had the most wonderful time here! The hotel seems to have new owners who put a lot of love in decorating the hotel and managed to create a very welcoming atmosphere. The room was comfortable, spotless and quite. It also seemed to have been freshly refurbished. There's a a bit of an artistic vibe too, with changing exhibitions, which gives it a more personal touch. The location is central and the couple who run the hotel go out of their ways to help you. They are from Trieste, so they can give you a lot of information, also off the beaten track. We were sad to say goodbye and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank danmark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great stay here. The hotel has just been totally renovated so our room had all new furnishings, including bed and mattress. A big plus for us. And spotlessly clean! The couple that run the place were lovely and knew all the ins and outs of the city. The hotel is close to the main train/bus station but importantly on a very quiet street so we slept very well.
Would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahP373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the city of Trieste. A ten minute walk takes you to the magnificient Piazza Unita' d Italia, the many different churches of Trieste ( Sant' Antonio, Greek and Serb orthodox churches), the Sinagogue, museums etc. The hotel Abbazia is just a 5 minute walk form the train station. We stayed on the first floor. The rooms and bathrooms have been recently refurbished and are spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good especially the cappuccino partly because they serve illy coffee. Illy coffee is produced in Trieste and you can also tour the illy factory. The hotel has got no restaurant but there are so many good restaurants in town. We really enjoyed the Enoteca Nanut in via Genova. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dona41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I took this hotel because they had Wifi, and the address was convenient.
I have never been in a more worn down hotel. The paint was coming of the walls, water stay in the shower, the 1. room I had was so cold I had to sleep in my clothes. When I got another, the only chair was falling apart, they placed a closet so big in there, it had to be angled i a corner,- taking up 10 % of the room.
Safe and mini bar ? forget it..... - leaving things in the hotel safe, ment they tape it in with an envelope around....
I really think I have seen been quality in e.i Thailand on a 350 BHT guesthouse- than on this 105 € hotel.
It it's the only option, it can be used.....- but I hope I never come back....

Room Tip: don't go for 4. floor if it's raining. They have roof windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byngz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbazia H, Proprietario at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guest, we are very sorry for the bad experience. We are the new managers of the hotel (from January the 01th, 2013). We are renovating the hotel: new heating, new rooms, a little bit of everything.. Each room has a minibar and a safe, now. We really hope to see You again in a warm and confortable hotel, best regards Kristina e Oriano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel was a very pleasant experience, everybody from front desk to room cleaning to breakfast were friendly and helpful. Hotel and room was clean and attractive. Somewhat expensive. Would stay again on a trip to Trieste, especially if the price could be lowered a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhoeverYouAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 51 in Trieste
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 51 in Trieste
1,798 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel James Joyce
Hotel James Joyce
#19 of 51 in Trieste
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#20 of 51 in Trieste
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#29 of 51 in Trieste
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Via della Geppa 20, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: $83 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Trieste Abbazia is a quality hotel located in a quiet residential street of Trieste, 400 meters from the railway station and the air terminal, and just 200 meters from the central Piazza Oberdan, main transportation junction to all tourist, scientific and industrial destinations of the area. Museums, monuments and restaurants, present in large quantity in the Hasburg town planning and along the shores of the Adriatic sea, can be reached in few minutes through a pleasant walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing