We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Lund
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very charming”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very good location, great breakfast och friendly hosts. The hotel itself is a place to see and to enjoy!

From the moment we walked into the hotel we received a warm, personable welcome.The staff was always helpful, made great expert suggestions and bookings (on sights, restaurants and or anything we asked). All their suggestions were spot on and we really got the feeling they wanted to ensure our successful stay not only at the hotel, but in Trieste.

"Bois de Rose" is very tasteful decorated, a beautiful apartment that even my 7 years old daughter enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    107
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
213
50
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is really a gem! Centrally located, friendly and helpful staff and very spacious family room for three with charming furniture, high ceiling and kitchenette (that we didn't use). My kids were sad to leave..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYoussef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I spent two nights in Trieste, in early May. I fell in love with this hotel. First of all, it didn't feel like a hotel, it felt like someone's home.

Second, there are books, simply fascinating books, and artwork. In fact, I bought a painting by a Slovenian artists, which hung in my room.

Breakfasts were wonderful, too.

I didn't really want to write this review because I wanted to keep the hotel as my little secret. But it's no use, I think I have to share.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

L'Albero Nascosto is set in a neighborhood of one-way streets and pedestrian malls. It's difficult to unload by car, but it's certainly worthwhile as a base for exploring Trieste. We stayed in the topmost room, and we enjoyed the small kitchenette, even if we never took advantage of the stove. It was nice to wake to sunshine and gull cries. The room was spacious and everything was quite clean.

Breakfast was fairly simple, but the array of jams, preserves, and jellies was rather impressive (chestnut preserves anyone?). The breakfast area is fairly small so you'll get to know fellow travelers, which is a good thing. Ask to see the "hidden tree" and the small piece of a Roman ruin. All the recommendations for dining were quite good.

Room Tip: Be sure to call if you are going to arrive after the front desk closes. A friend of ours was staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fichivini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had been hiking in, inter alia, the Dolomites for a couple weeks and had elected to pass into Slovenia via the lovely old Austro-Hungarian port city of Trieste. Albero Nascosto was a lucky find for us. It has a great location -- within a block of restaurants and small grocery stores, walking distance to key tourist sites, on top of shopping, and best yet directly across the street from a small laundry (remember, we had been hiking). The room was quiet, comfortable, and the staff helpful and polite. There was a kitchenette, with all the key cooking equipment, plates and utensils.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aikido4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I f you are after a tasteful boutique style B&B with warm friendly staff then we highly recommend L'Albero Nascosto. We stayed in this delightful small spot 6 years ago as a family and returned this time in summer. The staff were very accommodating, allowing us to arrive late and assisting with closely located secure car park. The hotel was exactly as we remembered it, beautifully renovated rooms and excellent amenities. We were allocated a room on the top floor which is probably not recommended for those not partial to stairs. There is a wonderful loft space `nido' which was used by one of our children and the staff made a single trundle bed available for the other. The morning breakfast is a highlight with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, croissants, local cheese and jams.... and excellent coffee. The location in the `citta vecchia' means that it is conveniently close to all the major attractions of the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again!! Grazie Aldo se vedemo alla prossima!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toppi_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This small hotel is apparently the product of a renovation project, and every detail has been thoughtfully and carefully executed. The location, a few blocks from the busy Piazza dell'Unita d'Italia and the gorgeous Riva, is convenient and gave us the opportunity to explore some back streets and piazze in search of food and drink.

The cozy entrance from the narrow street didn't prepare us for the large, light spacious room with a real king-size bed, kitchenette and warm wooden floors. Parts of the old walls remain, a tiny glassed-in courtyard next to the desk brings light and greenery inside, and the turntable in the bar/breakfast room is actually used to play classic LPs. The bathroom was brightened by a wall of frosted windows, and the windows in the main room opened onto the street below. A bottle of local wine was one of the stocked items, and the price wasn't the usual outrageous minibar minifortune, but the same price we would have paid in a local shop - and was excellent as all of the Friuli wines seem to be. Each room is named after a kind of wood, and the wooden floors and furniture and carefully-designed lighting help make the rooms warm and inviting. The staff (were they all family?) are friendly, helpful and interesting folks - the older gentleman gave us a brief lesson in French art-glass, some items of which were on display in the hallway. The only negative was the lack of an elevator to our 2nd floor (US 3rd) room.

Albero Nascosto was one more reason we would like to have stayed longer in Trieste. We'll know to plan for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask for first (US 2nd) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto

Property: Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Address: Via Felice Venezian 18, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#7 Business Hotel in Trieste
#7 Family Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Albero Nascosto" is part of a project for the restoration of the ancient historical center of Trieste, which is reviving one of the most interesting and bustling neighbourhoods in the city. The renovation of the ancient building has rigorously preserved the original atmosphere, white stone, hardwood, wrought-iron, essential lines and utmost simplicity being the characteristic features. All the studio-apartments are bright and have a bathroom, equipped kitchen unit, satellite TV, refrigerator, air-conditioning and wireless-internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence l Albero Nascosto
Residence l Albero Nascosto Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing