We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming 3 Star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming 3 Star hotel”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This small hotel is well run by a friendly and helpful family. The renovated building is interesting and quirky in the characterful area of the old city. Rooms have been refurbished in a typically modern Italian way while retaining some old features. Stairs to the rooms are fairly steep.
Location is perfect for sightseeing on foot, towards the bottom of a steep hill that leads to the Castle San Giusto. Bars and restaurants are close, but not too close.
We had a thoroughly pleasant stay.

Room Tip: No fitness centre or full restaurant although the breakfast room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_pilot_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    104
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
84
203
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Albero Nascosto. The rooms are beautiful and very stylish and the staff are all very nice. It is in a perfect location in the city and easy to get any where you want to go. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was the only hotel we looked at before we booked and are we glad we did - no regrets! The location is perfect - within walking distance to great restaurants, stores, bars, cafes and everything else that Trieste has to offer. And despite the great location, there is not much traffic noise, definitely none if your room has windows towards the back. Rooms are fairly spacious - by European standards and nicely decorated. Breakfast is included and substantial enough to get you through the morning. Albero Nascosto's staff is helpful in every respect. If you have time, check out their great library of art and crafts books!

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor received quite a bit of noise from the folks above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia20782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasmechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I suppose that this place is only a 3 star hotel because of the fact that there is no lift and that the reception closes at 8pm.

However, it's a great, little family-run hotel in a perfect location. The road is narrow and even though there is double glazing, it can be a bit noisy but we still slept very well.

We are a family of 6 with 4 young children and we fit very comfortably in the attic room (room 7) which was very tastefully decorated. Breakfast is great for Italian standards with excellent coffee and hot chocolate. Big selection of books to browse through.... even for kids!

The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants were all fantastic and made with thought.

Definitely much better than all those larger, soulless 5 star hotels. Will definitely return...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our time at L'Albero and everything was perfect...just be careful when you step out onto the narrow street at the entrance as many cars and motorcycles travel along there very quickly (see photo). Of course this isn't any fault of the hotel but just a safety tip to keep in mind. It was very handy to have a laundry straight across the street as we had been travelling for many weeks. The breakfast was excellent and as we waited in the lobby for our driver to take us to Ljubljana (we read previous tips on TA about difficulties of driving/parking in old town....especially when we're use to driving on left!) the young man from L'Albero made us a coffee. We had such a good time in Trieste...especially enjoyed getting a taxi along the seaside to the famous castle, ice creams at a seaside cafe & when we asked if they could call a taxi, they were also v obliging. We also had a morning walk to the church and castle at the top of hill-spectacular views & good coffee there too without the tourist prices! So...this hotel is in a fabulous central location and also close to excellent cafes & restaurants. We loved the tea making facilities in the little kitchenette & it is possible to put a sandwich or similar together using produce from a bakery & deli just around the corner. The staff at L'Albero were v happy to give us a map/answer our questions & explain directions etc. Everyone was very warm and welcoming in Trieste...a lovely place to visit without the crowds you find in other large Italian cities.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This wonderful, unpretentious boutique hotel is in the lovely old town, on a narrow street, close to everything: the castle, the cathedral, the sea front, Plazza Unita d'Italia... are all within 10 minutes' walk. There is no lack of real Italian life around you: faint tolls of church bells, small shops, butchers, fresh fruits, fishmongers, restaurants... Ego Ristorante is excellent, 3 doors away on the right - if you arrive late as Ryanair flights are, that's the place to eat. They also give cooking lessons on Tuesdays 6-8:30p.m.

Despite the streets and shops, the hotel is quiet and calming, very civilised. We stayed in Bois de Rose, on the 3rd floor. It is a duplex with high ceiling and handsomely designed. (The owner was an antique dealer and his daughter an architect.) The top floor room in the roof is very fine too. Speaking of "real Italian life", most rooms have small kitchens for sampling the fresh produce!

We found Aldo and his staff were ever so helpful and friendly. They have a big selection of excellent jams at breakfast. Nicholas would boil us an egg to perfection while the freshly squeezed blood orange juice was on offer! The cafe and reception room is welcoming, more like home than a hotel.

We located a very nice old bar and restaurant, Antica Hostaria da Libero, on Via Risorta, 3 minutes down hill from the castle. The food was good. They offer only a small menu as food is prepared for the day. The lady owner speaks good English.

We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel - €60; not bad for the distance. On our way back, we spent €10 on a taxi and then €3.80 each by airport bus (APT route 51). Both worked well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'll confess it was a bit strange to arrive on a rainy, windy, freezing Sunday evening at a dark, non-descript building on a narrow street, with no one to greet us. But we were given the code to the door and the key to our room lay inside for us. The room was a 3-story walk upstairs with no elevator, which would have been good to know, but we loved the room -- it was the "superior room" called Ebony (all the rooms have small wood panels on the door representing different colors of wood) and it was spacious and cozy at the same time. The bathroom was chilly but there was a heating unit in it that you could turn on. There was a demi-liter of nice red wine waiting for us on the table in our room. Wifi worked beautifully. Breakfast is in a lovely area and a big thank-you for warming the croissants!(I have never understood why croissants are so often served cold at hotel breakfasts.) Delicious coffee and jams and a very warm staff. In such bad weather as we had (the infamous wind, the Bora, came through) this was such a warm and cozy place to stay. The location was terrific for walking to everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.3 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#4 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto

Property: Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Address: Via Felice Venezian 18, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#7 Family Hotel in Trieste
#7 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Albero Nascosto" is part of a project for the restoration of the ancient historical center of Trieste, which is reviving one of the most interesting and bustling neighbourhoods in the city. The renovation of the ancient building has rigorously preserved the original atmosphere, white stone, hardwood, wrought-iron, essential lines and utmost simplicity being the characteristic features. All the studio-apartments are bright and have a bathroom, equipped kitchen unit, satellite TV, refrigerator, air-conditioning and wireless-internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence l Albero Nascosto
Residence l Albero Nascosto Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing