We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a central location”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the L'Albero Nascosto for three nights and it was a great spot for exploring this wonderful city of Trieste. The hosts were very helpful, and our room had a small kitchen which we put to good use. The hotel is very close to the Piazza de l'Unita and all the best restaurants, which our 11-year old daughter appreciated after a long day of walking around. Breakfast was excellent, and I even found a kid's book in our room written in French, and armed with my high school level French I was able to put everyone to sleep with my butchered prose. The only negative is not the hotel's fault, the parking spots are a few blocks away (if available) but getting there and back on all the small one-way streets takes nerves of steel and a mind for mazes. Highly recommended, we will definitely stay there on our next trip to Trieste.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    107
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
212
50
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

this is an extraordinary place to stay when visiting a special small city on the adriatic - trieste, italy. this hotel stretches the boundaries of a three star hotel, it is more like a high end bed & breakfast. it is small, well located, clean, and offers spacious cheerful rooms with eating areas & large bathrooms. the staff is wonderful, friendly, helpful, english speaking. breakfasts are very generous w/wonderful espresso, fruit is available all day long. we were pampered as if we were long-lost relatives.

Room Tip: i don't think this hotel has any "bad rooms."
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

what a find! and at the right price and an excellent location with a friendly and informed staff, quiet rooms and a nice breakfast. even the coffee is excellent reflecting the trieste promise of good to excellent coffee in every cafe. the owner takes pride in the appearance of his three star and making it feel like more with its decor of antique espresso makers and art noveau vases. we could not have asked for more and the price was right!

Room Tip: there is no elevator though but it does provide handicap accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Pros: Great location - quieter street, restaurants, fruit vendor, grocery nearby, fabulous breakfast (especially the jams and coffee), helpful hotel staff (got great recommendations for lunch from them).
Cons: No fan or A/C in loft, climb 4 flights of stairs

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_D743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Trieste beguiled me, I wasn't expecting it, I didn't have time for it, but the heart knows what it wants, I was smitten!! And I lay part of the blame at the door of this beautifully understated hotel... The accommodation is both chic and functional, the public areas ( and staff!!) are warm and welcoming, all of this is accomplished without sacrificing the integrity of this lovely old building. Great breakfast with the ubiquitous Illy coffee , all in all, faultless!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavieenrose50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This boutique hotel is located right where you want to be in Trieste. In addition to its optimum location, it gets top marks for its impeccable cleanliness; friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable staff; elegant decor with antique furniture; and--appropriate to the most literary city in Italy--its extensive and eclectic collection of books in several languages that grace all its rooms and the lobby.

During our recent visit toTrieste, we stayed at the Albero Nascosto for the first time. We will never want to stay elsewhere.

Charles and Melinda

Room Tip: There's no bad room in this small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It's called the "hidden tree", yes, they do have one , and a Roman column too for that matter. This place is great, the GPS got me close , but travelling solo , Im sure I drove past it twice. Parking, I hoofed it . The staff were excellent and very welcoming . Julio helped me find my car he recommended a place a few blocks to park , at 1euro an hour , and a 10 euro fine, by Australian standards this is complementary parking in my book . The room were excellent with cooking facilities, but why bother. You are in the best part of Trieste , a short walk to the centre, short walk to the harbour you are surrounded by fantastic seafood Osterias . If you want the real thing , there is 5 fish shops in 100 m. Just ask Julio ,he will walk you to several restaurants just to make sure they are open .Try the smoked fish shop around the corner Sulamere --its a great spot for a snack and vino. I love the idea . There are plenty of bookshops in Trieste - don't know why ? A bonus is the coin laundry just across the narrow street. I could watch my washing going round from my room. Breakfast was plentiful and a delicious to the day . My stay was for family tree research, but I would recommend this place and its staff .a great place to stay

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Noiamsparticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.5 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto

Property: Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Address: Via Felice Venezian 18, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#7 Family Hotel in Trieste
#7 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Albero Nascosto" is part of a project for the restoration of the ancient historical center of Trieste, which is reviving one of the most interesting and bustling neighbourhoods in the city. The renovation of the ancient building has rigorously preserved the original atmosphere, white stone, hardwood, wrought-iron, essential lines and utmost simplicity being the characteristic features. All the studio-apartments are bright and have a bathroom, equipped kitchen unit, satellite TV, refrigerator, air-conditioning and wireless-internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence l Albero Nascosto
Residence l Albero Nascosto Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing