We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny jewel box of an hotel in a magical city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This small hotel/residence feels both homey and like a museum at the same time. Amazing artwork, art books, and a collection of antique coffee brewers line the cheery breakfast room, and each guest room is named for a type of wood (ebony, teak, etc). The owner/manager and his father (the antique dealer) are deeply knowledgeable natives of Trieste who can offer wonderful advice about the city. Friendly fellow guests do the same, over deicious croissants and fruit/cereal/yogurt breakfasts.
Very reasonably priced and within walking distance of the main sites of Trieste, from Roman ruins to Hapsburg castles and a shining seaport. Truly a perfect home base from which to explore this magical city, with a tiny Roman ruin of its own, right in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: One room on the top floor has a small kitchen and loft with sleeping area for kids, making it a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 540 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

This small boutique hotel sits on a cobblestone street with the narrowest of sidewalks at its entrance and parking garage was a distance away and with their one-way streets the owner's son offered to have my husband follow his motorbike by car and then road him back to the hotel on the backseat of his scooter. Clearly motorbikes are the vehicles of choice in Oldtown Trieste.

The hotel is run by a family who welcomes guests in a way that tells you they love what they do. Our room was very comfortable and lovely. The breakfast offered a variety of choices – all good – with cappuccino made with soy milk (if one asks). At the recommendation of Julio the owner's son we ate at small family-owned restaurants off the beaten tourist path. Both meals were memorable and creatively made. Trieste is a jewel and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have nothing but praise for this hotel. First of all, the location was excellent -- a few blocks from the main plaza opening out to the Adriatic Sea, right in the old city center, nevertheless on a relatively quiet street. Our room, actually a suite with a kitchenette, was spacious and included all necessary amenities -- closet, dresser, tables, chairs, and a good view of the street from the window. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a bidet (!) and a good shower, etc. The breakfasts were plentiful, and delicious, including great cappuchinos, etc. (for which the city is famous). The innkeepers were gracious hosts, providing dinner recommendations and detailed directions to wherever we wanted to go, not charging us for taking the bottle of local wine provided in the room (part of a mini-bar of things that we could purchase), calling a taxi for us, and helping us with our luggage at the end of our stay. We arrived after normal check-in hours, and this was no problem at all -- Donatella, the front desk person with whom we dealt, sent us the code to their front door lock, and the key to our room was waiting for us inside. Aldo, the owner, whom we met during our stay, showed us the tree surrounded by a glass case, right next to the breakfast room, for which the inn is named--The Hidden Tree. There is also a Roman column, preserved, right there, in the middle of everything. L'Albero Nascosto also features a parlor on the ground floor, furnished with beautiful art deco antiques and paintings that would not have been out of place in a museum. We were completely satisfied and can't recommend this place highly enough! We hope to return and are spreading the word among our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardT352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The staff at this hotel was incredible. You felt like you were part of a family, and they helped with anything that you could ask. Special thanks to Julio and Theresa. The breakfast was very nice and the cappucino was excellent. I will definitely stay here again when I am in Tireste.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamServer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto for 2 nights while visiting Trieste.

The hotel is in a great location - right beside local shops, bars and restaurants and only a couple of minutes walk to Unity Square and the Sea Front.

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated and it was a bonus having a small kitchen in the room. The breakfasts were excellent also.

A special mention to Claudia and all the staff who looked after us while we stayed in the Hotel. Everybody was very friendly and helpful.

If you are staying in Trieste then the Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto is a must!!!



  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_w_donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great location - right next to pedestrian walking area. Clean, clean, clean. Front desk personnel fantastic - very helpful. No elevator - had Room 10 - thrid floor - then another flight of stairs - to wonderful room overlooking the tiled rooftops of Trieste. Very comfortable. Modern bathroom.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

At my arrival, I was greeted by a very friendly staff who were happy to answer any questions I had. They recommended me amazing restaurants and places to visit throughout my stay. I loved the rooms: they were spacious and well decorated with a great style. I was pleased to find that there was a description for each painting in the room.For breakfast I had an amazing variety of jams to go along with my croissant as well as typical cheeses from the area.The environment was cozy and welcoming. I would defenetly return in my next stay in Trieste.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monique878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 52 in Trieste
1,776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 52 in Trieste
448 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#7 of 52 in Trieste
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto

Address: Via Felice Venezian 18, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#7 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: $106 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Albero Nascosto" is part of a project for the restoration of the ancient historical center of Trieste, which is reviving one of the most interesting and bustling neighbourhoods in the city. The renovation of the ancient building has rigorously preserved the original atmosphere, white stone, hardwood, wrought-iron, essential lines and utmost simplicity being the characteristic features. All the studio-apartments are bright and have a bathroom, equipped kitchen unit, satellite TV, refrigerator, air-conditioning and wireless-internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence l Albero Nascosto
Residence l Albero Nascosto Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing