We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business or a weekend out”
Review of Hotel James Joyce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel James Joyce
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great little hotel in fantastic location. Every body was very helpful - from the receptionist in the Urban Hotel where we checked in - up to the handy man who helped us with the closed safe. Thank you, we will come back!
Only litte downside - the walls are quite thin and the digital key makes a "hell of a noise" when entering the room!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vogels-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
president57, Proprietario at Hotel James Joyce, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear vogels-on-tour,
we are really pleased to read about your satisfying stay at James Joyce hotel!
Thank you very much for your nice feedback!
Sharing your comments with our staff will be a real pleasure!
We are also glad that you did appreciate our strategic and suggestive location in the Old Town location, close to Stazione Marittima, the main monuments, the shops and the best restaurants.
Waiting for you to come back at James Joyce hotel we wish you all the best!
Manuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel James Joyce
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

great location. smallish but practical, stylish and clean room. wifi and air conditioning worked like promised. walls not the most sound-proof. breakfast is as good as it can be without a dedicated kitchen (i.e. no cooked meals). excellent coffee!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andero U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend away with friends. The position is great and we could walk to everything you wanted to see in Trieste and it is also only a couple of minutes from the main square and the sea. The welcome is a little low key as the hotel has no reception and you have to check in at the adjacent stylish Urban Hotel and then go out the back across the alley to the James Joyce. The rooms seem to have been recently refurbished and are clean and comfortable but a bit basic. Absolutely no view apart from at brick walls and rooms are rather dark despite the fact it was sunny weather outside. Upside is that as it is so enclosed it was very quiet until early morning .Breakfast was basic in a small room on the ground floor but good with high quality coffee but get there early as croissants run out!

Room Tip: Not a lot to choose between them no views and lots of stairs!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were in a room at the fifth floor, with the elevator reaching only the fourth. The room was small and not particularly comfortable and was not design at all, no matter what they write on their web... Service friendly and attentive, but a tad slow.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This rather basic place is okay, but with no reception service. To check in you have to go to the posh 'Design Hotel' opposite, where in our case at least, we felt we were regarded as second class compared to their regular business customers. We were given a dark room with soft beds. We were paying a lot (90E) per night, as much as I had paid for a very good hotel with late night bar and great facilities in Verona, and yet here we were in a pretty dingy room with awful - I mean awful - sound separation between the rooms. No sleep that night! I had researched it quite thoroughly - my mother is partially sighted and therefore needs light, bright rooms - and also had specifically asked for a 'light ' room when I booked. The photographs just did not represent the truth. The owner was pleasant enough, but still, this is overpriced for a very basic level of accomodation.

Room Tip: Near to main square, but hard to find a tiny alley
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gottatrickyhusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

fantastic staff - in association with Urban Hotel design. Very good value option for Trieste. Staff provided helpful information about restaurants and other services e.g. dentist. Those wanting more upmarket accommodation could consider staying in the Urban Hotel Design adjacent; more recently removated building in more modern style, same lobby and reception etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I did spend the last night of an amazing holiday in this hotel - NEVER again!

Location – very central (my only positive point)

Cleanness
1) first check: dust everywhere in the bedroom plus weird smell
2) Second check: bathroom ; toilet not well cleaned and overall sense of dirty space

Parking – they park it for you for 20€/dd (even if you leave it there just for 10h); I told the reception the night before i was getting the car at 9.30 but at 10 was not there yet

Breakfast – avoid the “fresh food “ offer from breakfast room; go out (quicker and better)

Overall - I will never ever come back to this hotel or reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIBI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.4 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel James Joyce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel James Joyce

Address: Via Dei Cavazzeni 7, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel James Joyce 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel James Joyce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing