We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and well-placed budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nuovo Albergo Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Friendly and well-placed budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The centre of Trieste is rather dispersed over a large area, but here you are wall-placed to get everywhere, and bus routes are only 2 minutes away, and 10 minutes to the Train Station and Bus Station. It occupies part of the first fllor of an old apartment block. The rooms are average sized and well-supplied, everything is very clean. There is a buffet breafast (perfectly adequate, just not the variety of a huge hotel as thi is a small one), tourist information, and reception are really helpful. I lost my handbag on a bus, and was upset and thought that I would not get anything back. But the various reception staff all helped, within 2 days had located it, and I went off to the lost property office in a nearby village and there it was! I couldn't recommend their help and efficiency more, and would stay there again. There is a lift if you can't make the stairs with your luggage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redskifreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    231
    61
    9
    6
See reviews for
72
132
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean spacious room. Bathroom is reatively small but is OK, with toilet, bidet and shower. The reception is 24h/24h open. The hotel is situated in the center of the town, with Nearly nice shows. You can not reach the hotel by car, because the hotel is situated in à pedestrian area. Parking at about 500m distance possible.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staff friendly, hotel was clean, ideally located, breakfast adequate all though you have to have sweet tooth as cheese triangles were the only savoury item, it consisted of melba toasts, bread, croissants, cereal, fruit, yogurts, cakes, pastrys, Jam Tarts !!, fruit juice, tea coffee, jams, marmalades, choc spread, honey so no problem for a sugar fix.
Would benefit from tea making facilities but Night receptionist lovely guy bought me a pot of hot water for tea.
vending machines for cold drinks at 1.20 euro .
big room , bed really comfy, shared bathroom but was right opposite so no problem and never a queue also sink in room too. All in all great would go there again

Room Tip: need a travel kettle !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxykazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is very well located, close to the train station and the centre of Trieste. Our group of seven were effectively given three rooms for a very reasonable price for one night, with breakfast included the next morning also.

The rooms themselves were very spacious and clean, with very comfortable beds, and had large ensuite bathrooms in each. The breakfast was also very impressive: it was effectively a buffet with cereal, fruit, pastries and coffee all included. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AI93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked a triple room for three nights, travelled with young child, and highly reccommend.
Clean room, small but adequate, cleaned every day and sheets and towels changed every other day.
Small but clean bathroom, shoer only-that was the only negative, water tepid at best and not powerful enough.
Breakfast was good, cereals, rolls, cake and coffee/ tea. Fruit was poor - few wrinkly apples!
Location is central few min from train/ bus station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Io07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night after crossing the border from Slovenia. Located about a 10-15 minutes walk from the train station, and about 5 minutes from the harbour, the hotel was convenient and easy to find.

The double room we were given was large and clean, it even had a small balcony that we can step out to. The bed was comfortable and extra blankets were available in the cupboards.

Even though we opted for a room without an ensuite bathroom, there was a sink in our room which made things more convenient. The two shared bathrooms along the corridor were clean and the showers was excellent. The only small problem was that its light was activated by motion sensor and it can be slightly alarming when the light goes off during a shower.

For the price we paid, breakfast and wifi was included. All in all, it was an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecyojmeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a solo traveller, for two nights, I got a room with sink for 84 euro. The bathroom is communal but large, clean and always has plenty of hot water. There is a sink in the room, so you can do the basics there too.

The real bonus is location - seconds away from the grand canal, the Joyce statue, and the heart of the city.

Minutes away from the bus and rail stations (head across the Piazza Liberta and continue down Via Ghega and then 2nd right onto Via Roma and it is on the left - a door, merely).

There is a breakfast included, though I am a terror in Italy for skipping breakfast and having an espresso on the street. I am sure it is fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste Novo Impero
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.4 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
4.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuovo Albergo Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuovo Albergo Centro

Property: Nuovo Albergo Centro
Address: Via Roma 13, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuovo Albergo Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel Centro is located in the heart of Trieste, a little downtown of north Italy. Just a few steps away from the railway station and the shuttle bus service of the airport. The rooms are well lit and comfortable. Each room is provided with satellite TV, a direct telephone-line and ventilator. It is a pleasant and inexpensive family run Hotel. Parking available on agreement. It is close to the bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nuovo Albergo Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Albergo Centro Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing