We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simple and confortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuovo Albergo Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple and confortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed one night at Nuovo Albergo Centro. It was very well located, just a few blocks from the Train Station and from Piazza Unità. Bathrooms were shared but they were enough, spacious and clean. The bedroom was ok, spacious and with the basic facilities. As for the breakfast, it was great! It was complete and delicious. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    210
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
117
49
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good hotel for the price- room was very clean and spacious. Very handily located for central Trieste and the train & bus station. I had a room on the corner of the second floor and there was some street noise, but it was bearable. The breakfast's were excellent- fresh pastries and were available from 7.30 - 11.00. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter- main street can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this very well located hotel in Trieste.
It's not unusual in Europe to find a small hotel ensconced within a building housing other enterprises and residents but they are not always as comfortable, clean, well run and of such good value as the Nuovo Albergo Centro.
Our room overlooked the street and was right next to reception and so we feared the noise from bothe the interior and exterior. Our fears were unfounded as the place was as quiet as one could imagine. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linen superb. The room was large, airy and full of light when neccessary whilst the bathroom was modern and all worked well.
The breakfast room is somewhat small however the buffet id good for Italy and everything is replenished quickly.
The staff were all very efficient and helpful and as the hotel is only a few minutes walk to the places to see and be seen, it is easy to get about on foot whilst staying at this hotel.
Excellent value too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotdogDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were there for 2 nights and it was probably the best place to stay in Trieste for this price. We had a big double bedroom with sink in it, all was very clean. Shared bathrooms were just in front of the room, and quite clean for a hostel. The other nice point with the hostel is having the breakfast included. But the very good point of this place is to be right between the train station and the city center so you can go everywhere from the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikilafraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at the Nuovo Albergo Centro for 4 days this September with a friend for a no frills sunshine break and left pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was booked as a 2 star, 220 euro break with breakfast for 2 people so we didn't set our sights too high, more of a base to stay in Trieste. Upon arrival you would be forgiven for being a little worried...You are greeted with a traditional Italian lobby way with grand staircase, red carpet and slightly aged faded decor and a strong stench of damp carpet.

The hotel is on the second floor and as soon as you step into the hotel, the stench instantly vanishes and you are greeted with a bright open reception area. We were checked in and shown to our room which was just across from two of the shared bathrooms on the floor.

The room was big and spacious with basics - wardrobe, sink/mirror/light set up, wardrobe and tv/dressing table set up. The ceiling fan was a welcome addition as the temperature reached 35 degrees while we were there. Although it helped, it was very noisy and we found at level 3 it was bearable.

Breakfast was provided each morning between 7:30-11am and there was always room for you o sit down even at busy times. There was a wide choice available - cereals, yoghurt, pastries, bread, fruit and coffee/tea/juices all of which were fresh at all times - you can see into the kitchen area from the breakfast room and the pastries were baked freshly during the morning.

Shared bathrooms have always been a fear of mine as you can't predict what other guests may do. I needn't have worried. Despite the aging shower, the bathroom was spotless at all times and the water was always hot. Towels were provided and changed every second day (the rooms cleaned daily).

Staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them to help with. The free wifi is fast and very handy and the hotel is very quiet despite the number of guests who stayed when we did.

The hotel is based just off the grand canal in Trieste, approx five minutes walk from the bus, coach and train stations as well as the centre of the town.

For the price we paid, we would definitely stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Side street view rooms are quieter but rooms 110-112 are closest to the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doody1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice hotel in the center of Trieste. I read great reviews on Tripadvisor and I decided to try it. Rooms are big and with ventilation that in summer is a plus. Breakfast is very good! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericaC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, the room and bathroom were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel provides free wifi, and an excellent breakfast. The hotel is superbly located only metres away from city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boroslav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#6 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#9 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 49 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste Novo Impero
0.4 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuovo Albergo Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuovo Albergo Centro

Property: Nuovo Albergo Centro
Address: Via Roma 13, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuovo Albergo Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel Centro is located in the heart of Trieste, a little downtown of north Italy. Just a few steps away from the railway station and the shuttle bus service of the airport. The rooms are well lit and comfortable. Each room is provided with satellite TV, a direct telephone-line and ventilator. It is a pleasant and inexpensive family run Hotel. Parking available on agreement. It is close to the bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Nuovo Albergo Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Albergo Centro Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing