We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Decor”
Review of Colombia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colombia Hotel
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    119
    59
    18
    5
See reviews for
29
94
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to the centre. Staff were helpful and polite. Cold breakfast was OK. However, rooms are tired and of hostel standard. The soft furnishings smelled dusty and bed and pillows were hard and uncomfortable. It is expensive and certainly not worth its three star. You may want to consider the NH hotel around the corner. It's within the same price range, and it's worth 4 stars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ersantemiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location, only a short walk to all the central cafés and bars. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Our room was a disappointment though. It needs an upgrade. The shower leaked over the floor, with slight mould on the carpet edge. The aircon didn't work well either. Everything looks really modern in the foyer but our room was very different. There is no street parking but for a charge you can use a multi storey they have or park up on the waters edge car parks overnight for free. We paid $90 for the night, breakfast was ok although the breakfast room a little small

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markandsharonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has good location and is worth the money. Staff is very pleasant and helpfull. It is quiet on a side street which is great. Breakfast room is too small which i did not like but used to that in Italy in smaller hotels. It is clean and would visit again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljubicaristovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent two nights in this good hotel in the center of Trieste. I liked the location, it is very near the Central station and the same time very close to many attractions. It's a litte hotel recently refurbished in a contemporary style. The breakfast room is not so big, and at 8 in the morning is was full and have to wait to be seated. Breakfast offered was continental style, with a superb range of cereals!
Cakes, croissants, cheese and ham, different types of bread... My room was a tiny one, but it was a single room, but I saw a couple of double rooms, and they were quite big. Only cons: the pillows were terrible: too much low and soft or too much high and hard!
The staff was helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

A positive experience at a four star hotel in the heart of Trieste. I like that the location was very near Trieste Centrale train station. If you have lots of luggage it is only about a five minute walk. There is a free computer for use within the hotel as well as free wifi. Front desk staff are helpful and the lobby area has lots of brochures on the city and surrounding area. Breakfast is included and had a variety of great choices. Spacious bathroom and shower are a nice change from what I expect from most hotels in Europe. The only downside to this hotel is the noise. I stayed here on a Saturday and Sunday night. Obviously the place was full on Saturday and I could hear noise from the rooms around me as well as from in the hall. It wasn't until after midnight on Saturday that it actually was quiet enough to sleep. Take earplugs and you should be fine.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of he hotel and you will avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

lovely spacious room. kept very clean. good quality linen. spacious well equipped bathroom. Breakfast offered one of the best continental range of food. Good coffee machine, range of bread, cereal, fruit drinks, yoghurt. fresh cold meats and cheese. Found the staff very helpful and friendly. Special mention to our third floor domestic and the kind gentlemen in reception. Excellent little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#22 of 50 in Trieste
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#18 of 50 in Trieste
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#19 of 50 in Trieste
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#29 of 50 in Trieste
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombia Hotel

Property: Colombia Hotel
Address: Via della Geppa 18, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Railway Station, in the center of the town, Hotel Colombia offers a comfortable stay with all the modern standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Colombia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombia Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing