We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money in convenient location”
Review of Colombia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colombia Hotel
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good value for money in convenient location”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very Clean and interesting hotel. Located close to bus and railway stations and within walking distance of all areas of Trieste such as canal and promenade.
Enjoyable breakfast although a shortage of tables at peak times.
Complimentary tea/coffee available in reception.
Room and bathroom very clean. Spa bath an added bonus. Lovely big white towels.
Staff helpful and attentive.
Free wifi access
Overall good value for money as breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    118
    58
    18
    5
See reviews for
27
94
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, situated within an easy 5 minute walk from the main rail and bus stations and in close proximity to the centre of Trieste.

We arrived by car (to meet our son & his girlfriend who were arriving later by train) and were pleasantly surprised to find a 30 minute drop off parking bay at the front of the hotel. Following an efficient check-in by a very helpful receptionist, we moved our vehicle to the public car park adjacent to the rail station, for which the hotel provides a special discounted rate of 8 euro per day.

We had two double rooms booked which were on the fifth floor, with the rooms being clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable, along with good sized bathrooms which included a large bath. A safe and mini bar was also in the room. Both the free in room Wi-Fi and the air-conditioning worked well, with the rooms being very quiet. Interestingly, one of the booked rooms had a double bed, whilst the other had a queen bed, so I would suggest that if a larger bed is required, then a specific request be made.

The continental breakfast which was on offer was quite adequate and included muesli, juices, yogurt, croissants, brie cheese and pate.

Whilst the foyer, reception area and kitchen are very modern, I believe hotel management needs to address the upgrading of the carpets in both the lift and the common hallways, as the carpets are extremely well worn and portray a “musty” type odour and therefore detracts slightly from the hotels overall appeal.

Having said that, based on previous stays at two other similar hotels in this part of Trieste, Hotel Colombia offers good value for money, with courteous staff service and room quality /comfort meeting expectations. As a result, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Double rooms have standard double or queen size beds. If queen size bed required, suggest request be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were in Trieste for two nights, having taken the train from Venice and needing a bus to Pula. The Colombia Hotel appeared to be in the right spot, near both bus and train stations, and had mostly favorable reviews, so we reserved a room on line, though we are a little wary of neighborhoods around bus and train stations. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the station, which was across from a small park with clean benches, and felt perfectly safe on the short walk to the hotel. We were greeted warmly by the concierge, who was possibly the most helpful hotel employee we had ever met, mapping out various restaurants, routes into the center, and helping us gain access to the hotel's free internet. Like the lobby, the room was clean, modern and colorful. The hop-on, hop-off bus stops near the train station, so we were able to see the city, from the center to the Castello di Miramare, very conveniently. Breakfast was included with the room and coffee was served by the concierge, now barista, who introduced us to caffe in B, coffee Trieste-style, in a small glass. We left Trieste with many pleasant memories and would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are a couple in our 60's and stayed one night at the Hotel Colombia enroute to Venice. We arrived at the train station and it was about a 4 block walk to the hotel, very reasonable and easy to do. Easy walking to the harbor and old town areas. The lobby of the hotel had some modern works of art, which seemed a little unusual as it is an old hotel. Hotel staff were very pleasant. Our room was very clean and comfortable and faced on the street. We were there in May so we were able to keep the windows open at night. Bathroom was roomy with a large shower and bathsheet size towels. Breakfast was sufficient to get you through the morning and I had one of the best croissants I've ever tasted; it had a little filling in it and there was a flavor to it that was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sac2Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
652 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is quite a good hotel. I can't be effusive about it for some reason but nonetheless it met most of our needs very well. We liked the location, the room was spacious and very clean and it had pretty much everything we were after. The shower was a beauty. Breakfast was included in the price and provides a small but perfectly adequate continental selection. Wi fi is free and reliable. The staff were efficient and perfectly pleasant. I think the reason I'm holding back on praise is that the hotel probably needs a bit of a facelift. Not a major one, but one nonetheless. My wife, however, thinks it's ok and just needs a new colour scheme. Having said that, these aren't major things. We enjoyed our stay here and would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoSheds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was helpful, and for the very reasonable price, the rooms were comfortable and super clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I hate to break the string of good reviews, but i found the hotel Colombia in Trieste 'okay' at best.

Location:

The location of the hotel is close to the main station, which is good on the one side, on the other you'll have all the commodities a quarter near the station usually delivers (e.g. a quite fishy neighborhood). Anyway, the walk from the main station is quite short and you can also reach the historic tram in less then 15 minutes.

Hotel:

The hotel has a design positioned between being an art hotel and between a more rustic approach. Everything feels a bit retro, with some elements of style thrown in.

Rooms:

The biggest letdown was my single room for me. Small, even a bit cramped, dark with an LCD-TV, a desk with a chair, a bed with a horrible looking bed cover (reminds me of grandmas place) and a small bathroom with a shower. Everything looked a bit used and really retro. Not a place to feel at home (at least for me). I tried to get the air con to work, but it didn't work out, so the room stayed quite hot. The bathroom was clean, but didn't look very inviting either, with a very cramped shower cab.

Cleanliness: The room looked clean, not question about that. But it looked also a bit used, with some things being definitely over their life-cylce span (door handle for instance).

Sleep quality: Well, apart from the hot temperature in the room, i also had a problem with the blankets. It was basically a linen loosely combined with a wool blanket, which made the sleep uncomfortably hot and the wool blanket also made a weird feeling, like as it would not be very hygienic. The bed was also very soft, so no good sleep for me.

Service: The service was alright, nobody would try to outdo himself, but if you ask nicely, they will try to help you out.

Breakfast: The breakfast selection was not big (hey, it's Italy), but okay. The quality was also okay, as far as i remember. The breakfast room felt a bit cramped.

Verdict:

It was okay for night. The hotel is good located, not far from everything, but the basic needs that a hotel should fulfill include also to provide a a good sleep. Here the hotel lacked a bit. I wouldn't want to stay here for some nights, but one night might be okay, if the price is also okay.

Room Tip: I have also seen a double room, which looked like it has been renovated. It looked much nice, than m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#22 of 50 in Trieste
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#18 of 50 in Trieste
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coppe
Hotel Coppe
#14 of 50 in Trieste
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#19 of 50 in Trieste
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombia Hotel

Property: Colombia Hotel
Address: Via della Geppa 18, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Railway Station, in the center of the town, Hotel Colombia offers a comfortable stay with all the modern standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Colombia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombia Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing