We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colombia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colombia Hotel
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Stekene
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The most important factor for me was the vicinity of a train station. Hotel Colombia offers a pretty good location relative to the city center and the train station. Yet it is located in a very quiet street which is nice in a pretty busy city as Trieste.
Reception personnel was very friendly and tried their best to speak English. The staff at breakfast on the other hand were not that friendly.
While going to the breakfast buffet a second time, my plate was taken away. Key still on the table! And the breakfast room was not that big that I disappeared out of sight. Things like this are not allowed in a 4 star hotel if you ask me.

A nice little jazz tune at breakfast, design furniture in the lobby and a clean room. Those elements might make for a 4 star rating but that's it. In the bathroom I had to stand in the doorway to dry of after a shower...

The room (basic) had air conditioning and a tv (which did not work)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    116
    56
    17
    3
See reviews for
27
92
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

The room had a few issues however the staff were very helpful. The breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0ags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was a great hotel. Great location minutes from train station (you can walk, don't get a cab). Easy to walk around the city from hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by Trieste and would go back to both hotel and the city.

We had two rooms and both were clean and similar to the pictures on the website/photo gallery on the booking site. The double rooms are quite large with small table and chairs and an additional chair/sofa and ample storage. Bathroom was a good size with a large shower. The lobby, meeting room, breakfast room and lobby bathroom were quite modern/Scandnavian and looked like they had been recently redone. Hopefully, they will continue with the rest of the hotel. The rooms were a little dated (I don't know why hotels think pinks and florals are good choices), although not my style, the rooms were comfortable, quiet, roomy and clean. I would suggest to the hotel management to quickly replace the carpeting in the hallways/staircase (worn), and some tile in the elevator would be an improvement to the ugly and worn carpeting. Thoses were are only small things we noticed.

Breakfast was very good, great selection and the breakfast lady quite helpful and nice. The front desk staff was also extremely friendly and one of the nightstaff ladies was great with tips in Slovenia (I forget her name but she was young and from Slovenia originally I think) and looking up something for us. They have free wifi and have a computer in the meeting room that you can use for free (at least an hour, more if no one is waiting) if you ask the front desk. Trieste is a great city and good base for exploring Slovenia (Skocjan caves, Lipica, etc.) and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clevelandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I've spent a whole week end in this hotel. Very quite altough close to railways station and main city streets. Walking distance from city centre and main touristic places. My triple room was very large, confortable and clean. Very useful and cheap the parking at special rate for hotel's guests. Excellent room and front desk service. High value/cost rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

Located in a district of middleclass hotel a few hundred metres from the sites and centre of Trieste, this is an OK hotel for a 1 night stay. Fairly sized room that are not to fancy but not worn down, an OK breakfast and an above average service for this kind of hotel (plus some pretty interesting art works in the lobby) gives hotel a thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at the Colombia Hotel for one night and was quite satisfied. It had a great central location in a quiet street. The girl at the reception desk was very helpful and kind, and our short impression of this hotel is all in all very positive. The room furniture/decoration had a different mix of styles, and the cupboard door could not close properly, but as we only stayed one single night, this didn't matter. The breakfast was better than traditional italian standard (don't expect great breakfast experiences in Italy - look forward to lunch and dinner instead:-)) which was nice.

  • Liked — Location, kind and helpful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HelleKrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Excellent hotel with a perfect location within walking distance of the train station and all sites. The staff were excellent, particularly those at the desk.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideas0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#22 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel James Joyce
Hotel James Joyce
#16 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#21 of 50 in Trieste
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#12 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombia Hotel

Property: Colombia Hotel
Address: Via della Geppa 18, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Railway Station, in the center of the town, Hotel Colombia offers a comfortable stay with all the modern standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Colombia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombia Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing