We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum of Modern Art”
Review of Museo Revoltella

Museo Revoltella
Ranked #8 of 370 things to do in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Museum of Modern Art”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Brilliant - spent a long time here. Mixture of modern and traditional work exhibited over 6 floors - start at the top and work your way down. A journey through time working backwards! Interesting pieces revealing social history which I found really interesting.
First floor has a palatial suite with stunning decor - crystal chandeliers, ornate ceilings and period furniture. Stunning and well worth a visit!
A 15euro Turismo FVG card from the local Tourism Office gives free entry to a large number of museums and galleries - and reductions at many more- excellent value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    134
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Frequently we skip contemporary museums. This one, however, is excellent, even from the view of a traditionalist. The museum exhibits an eclectic selection of interesting and tasteful works from the last two centuries. Part of the museum is the original Revoltella Palazzo. You can tour room after room and floor after floor of elegance. I wish we had allowed our visit more time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ViaggioNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific art gallery”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A really well-laid out art gallery - many paintings by Trieste artists and a good variety of works to look at. The original rooms were astonishing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MuncherSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“really good gallery”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited the gallery on Saturday and unfortunatelly there was just few people. i said "unfortunatelly" because it really worths a visit.
I liked the paintings and also the sculptures, even if I usually dont like this kind of art.
I'm not an expert but you must go!
and the view from the terrace is really nice!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cia2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely interesting museum”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

unsure what to expect but very pleasantly surprised. A mix of modern art and period rooms with the unexpected bonus from the 6th floor of views around the city.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank reen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Revoltella also viewed

 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Museo Revoltella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing