We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed in this amazing hotel, what a spectacular view of the beautiful Adriatic Sea in August 2013
Our booking was mixed up hotel was fully booked having no fluency in Italian , the reception staff could not have been more helpful , can only say coming to end of our holiday has to be a highlight
Absolutely picturesque hotel must be the pick of Trieste, if planning a holiday book here. Have only one small complaint, they supply beach towels , sea is free but they charge ten euros each for deck chairs which is a rip off. I feel that should be free for paying guests. Breakfast needs to be improved also. Having said that , we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Best you eat out easy to catch a local bus downtown, bus tickets cannot be bought on bus you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnyb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

A beautiful Hotel right on the cliffs above the Adriatic Sea, was spoilt by the lack of service and poor food in the Restaurant. Our room was small but had a great view of the sea and a balcony. The Hotel itself was gorgeous. They just need to hire a new Chef and teach the staff about customer service.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

the perfect location, the most wonderful sea view from breakfast terraces, restaurant and rooms; close to a bustling, beautiful city; an elevator to the beach, what more could you wish for ?

well, functioning wireless would be a first wish, the connection dropped all the time, no WiFi at the beach; the hotel promised to improve this, so let's see; but for somebody who does need the internet for business this is a major issue the hotel staff did not really understand, apparently ...

rooms are quite small and slightly "tired", especially the bathrooms could do with a makeover, but the view and the terraces more than make up for this !

breakfast selection has vastly improved, service staff was very friendly, but quite disorganized; orange juice, bread, eggs ran out every day, a major hassle to wait for 20 minutes to have your glass of OJ - hey, it's a 4-star and far from cheap; guests want to be pampered ! And PLEASE: get rid of those "convenience" scrambled eggs, who wants green, tasteless eggs ???

now to the sad story of "gourmet" food at the Le Terrazze restaurant. Sadly proof for my experience, that the better and more romantic the location, the blander the food. Prices on the high side and very, very average food at "Gourmet" prices. Come for the view, you'll love it - but expect your palate to suffer.

actually the best food by far at this hotel was served by the beach buffet - wonderful pasta and bruschetta at very, very fair prices (iirc the very good penne al ragu were below 6 Euro); drinks too are very fairly priced !

we'll be back, as this remains one of the most beautiful locations with the best sea view from your bed you could dream about (Sorrento-style); a hotel garden with dozens of butterflies dancing among the lavender - but maybe the hotel will fix these rather small issues and become the paradise it could well be ?

Room Tip: get a room in the "new" wing, only these have terraces - a must to fully enjoy the spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We absolutely loved Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's. From the moment we were warmly greeted at check in we felt very much at home. Our room was probably a bit on the small side but the view was to die for. Sitting out on the balcony watching the Adriatic glisten in the sun and listening to the waves swirling below us was divine. Breakfast was very good, especially the apricot tart and Illy coffee! What a great way to start the day. Staff were incredibly friendly and everyone spoke English. It didn't matter because we speak Italian too but they were very accommodating. If I had to complain about anything, I would say the walls are a bit thin (I didn't realize this until a late night phone call led to our neighbour politely tapping on the wall - I guess they could hear everything, sorry about that!) and I would get rid of the bidet in the bathroom and make a more reasonably sized shower. Otherwise, incredibly clean, and well priced for the view and amenities. Ample parking on site (free), elevator, non-smoking rooms, mini-bar refrigerator, TV, quiet location, not far from downtown. Nightly turn-down service with chocolate was a very nice touch. Also loved the ceiling fan and air conditioning. Nothing, however, beats the fresh scent and breeze from the Adriatic Sea. We will return to our beloved Trieste and we will stay here again. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaCinYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is superb view wise and it is a treat to have meals on the veranda overlooking the sea and the town in the distance. There is a steep route down to the sea which you can walk in 5 minutes or take the elevator. The hotel provides free towels but you will need to pay for a lounger ( which you will need as there is no sand - just a concrete wharf- but don't be put off - this is how Trieste does the beach. The water is bracing but crystal clear and wonderful. The rooms are relatively basic but work ok. One thing that could be improved is safes in the rooms. The Internet signal is a bit variable but is free (no matter how many devices) which is great. The breakfasts are "ok" but not really a big selection of anything - just enough and ok if included in your rate but you would not want to be paying E20 or 30 extra for it. The location of the hotel is beautiful but means you need a car else be prepared to pay for taxis which probably take 10 to 15 minutes to arrive. Trieste itself has lots to see and a big selection of restaurants and bars generally around the square and leading off it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are several very Nice Things about this hotel, so I'll start With the positive list: We were greeted very politely when we arrived, a Nice Young lady at the frontdesk showed us to different types of rooms. She was very helpful. We had a very Nice room (140 Euro). Clean, quiet and With good view from the balcony. We took the lift (!) Down to the sea. We are not used to be by the sea in Italy, maybe this is what it usually is like? All concrete decks. We had to pay 14 euro for 2 towels, sunbeds and umbrella. I think we could have stayed there without paying anything, but not tempting to lay flat on the concrete. To the right we had the view of an industrial area and to the left there were several very large tankboats (coming in to Trieste, I Guess). In the evening we wanted to have a light meal and went to the restaurant. And here the hotell has the opportunity to improve a LOT! The restaurant/bar area is very nice, but there were barely a smile, we didn't feel welcome at all. There were several people at work, but they all seemed to be more or less running around, and didn't at all seem like they ejoyed their job. Not a hotel we would visit again, due to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingerlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Initially I choose this hotel as the reviews appears quite good. The outside eating areas and the views over the water are stunning from this hotel. The rooms were quite nice too, perhaps in a little need of updating the decor. For us the outside view is most important so we were not too worried about the room as long as it is clean, and it was. The shower is tiny though, I could barely bend down to shave my legs and I am only small in stature.

Whilst the rooms were adequate and the courtyard and views were stunning, the service was odd to say the least (faulty towers). We were given know information upon arrival and there was know information in the rooms. We were not told about the breakfast hours, restaurant, beach or how to find any of these facilities. We had to make a special trip down to reception to gain information about all of the above including internet and even when the information was given it was very brief. When we turned up at the restaurant for dinner we were told that it was fully booked and and that we must make reservations, which we had not been informed about prior. They did make up an additional table so we could have dinner, however the staff were frantic and it was almost impossible to catch anyone's eye to ask for drinks etc. We felt so unwelcome and uncomfortable that we went elsewhere for dinner during the rest of our stay.

Breakfast was included in our reservation and on the first morning I would guess that some disaster had happened in the kitchen. The staff again were frantic, it was impossible to find clean cutlery and plates and there was know milk for cereal. My husband and I had to share glasses and cutlery. We were almost frightened to go back the second morning, however the service did improve the following mornings. We also noticed that the restaurant staff where working late at night and early in the morning, so perhaps they were simply exhausted. I'm not sure of workers rights in Italy.

Thank goodness for the beautiful views, because this is all the hotel really had to offer. This is our first European trip (from Australia) and it is so disappointing when you feel unwelcome at a hotel, because the expectation is that you will be warmly welcomed and be provided with an abundance of information. There appeared to be a significant problem with the management at this hotel and we would not stay at Riviera again.

All our accommodation elsewhere through out Europe has been fantastic and friendly. We are still smiling!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
5 mi away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
1.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 51 in Trieste
467 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
5.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
4.9 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 51 in Trieste
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's

Address: Strada Costiera 22, 34151, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: $135 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a natural park, straight on the sea, Hotel Rivera & Maximilian's offers classic, superior and deluxe rooms, as well as suites, all with seaview. Most of the rooms have a private balcony. The breakfast room and the restaurant have big panorama windows on the sea and a large terrace overlooking the Gulf and Miramare Castle. The high level restaurant serves local dishes and from italian tradition, based on fresh fish. The restaurant is an ideal location for weddings, as well as banquets, also for dinner for two with candle light. From the end of May until September our guest can descend to our beach wit a 30 m high lift, where they find a snack bar. The large parking area is free of charge for hotel guests. The conference room, with sea view, is at disposal for meetings. City centre can be reached with city bus nr.6 And in summer with a ship. Free wifi all over the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riviera & Maximilian's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera And Maximilian`s
Riviera Maximilians Trieste
Riviera Maximilians Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing