We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price! Good value! Great location!”
Review of Hotel Alabarda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alabarda
Ranked #115 of 142 Trieste B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Considering what we paid...$106 for a quad room, this place was great. Breakfast was awesome, continental with cold cuts, and espresso. Place was clean. Again, for what we paid, you have to rate this place high!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qumungis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alabarda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

Not the most luxurious hotel you will ever stay in, but fine for 65€. Staff were nice, breakfast ok. The bed broke (!), but otherwise no issues. Clean and a reasonably large room. Could not accommodate a baby in its own bed without advance warning. Breakfast (included) quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This Hotel has more things to recommend it than not. It's clean, cheap, central (only a few minutes from Piazza Unita d'Italia and Canale Grande in one direction, and the bus and train station in the other direction) and the breakfast is more than sufficient (though the breakfast room is fairly small).

The only negative is the lack of air conditioning. This in itself wouldn't be a problem, however the noise from the street means that light sleepers cannot open the windows to let air in. This was a problem in mid September, so I'd definately not stay here in July or August-other times, yes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lone Wolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel staff were pleasant and quite helpful. I read a lot of reviews warning about noise but ours was the first room at the entrance, still we didn't hear a thing that disturbed us. We had an ensuite bathroom which was small and quite basic, but not at all bad for our first hostel-like experience. We were surprised to find a decent-sized room and an LCD TV. It seems the hotel is comprised of some apartments in a residential builiding. We got a room on the 2nd floor and the reception and breakfast area are on the 5th floor. There's no wifi and we saw a notice posted that some litigation is pending with the service provider regarding that but they have internet available for one Euro if you use their system on the 5th floor. Don't expect a lavish spread for breakfast but there are decent enough options and the coffee is yummy. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the bus and train station (10 min walk) and we weren't expecting to stay within the hotel for most of the day, using it just to crash at night after day-long roaming around the area, and it fulfilled that purpose. For the 65 euro per night we paid, this was a good deal that served our purpose well.

Room Tip: Reception & amenities are on 5th floor and second floor only has rooms, which we found better as...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meetamitpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Well, it was cheap! And close to the train station, but that’s about all I have to say. It was clean, but I find the majority of these pokey little hotel/hostel places have such thin walls that I can hear people snoring in the next room, to the point that I have to wear earplugs, so that’s kind of annoying, but this was just a stop over and I only needed a bed to sleep in, so for that it did the trick.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andercander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We booked a cheap flight to Trieste as Ryan Air had this route on offer. We had a long weekend thurs to sunday which was great. I will do a report on the trip on the forum on this, back to the hotel.
We booked it for the cheap price and reviews on trip advisor. It worked out to 202 euros for the 3 nights, we had a twin room with a private bathroom and breakfast was included. It was about a 10 minute walk from the coach station and easy to find - I had looked on google maps first too.
The room was clean, beds (twin singles) were comfy but thats as far as it goes really. We were on the first floor with a window facing into an internal void and it got very hot in there. There was a small desk fan in the room and it quickly became evident why - we had it on a chair and aimed at the bed to keep us cool throughout the night. The temperature was 27 at the hottest and I would say that you'd definately need somewhere with air con if you go in hotter months.
Back to the room, there was a desk, 2 chairs (no padding) a triple wardrobe, 2 bedside cabinets and 2 beds - the lighting was a harsh strip light and a small strip light either side of the bed and that was it - as i said, very basic. Shower, toilet, sink and bidet in the bathroom along with a towel rack on the wall which fell off when we got a towel off it - whoops !! Sorry, there was a small flat screen tv on the wall which had loads of channels but nothing except MTV in English (not even BBC news or CNN!). WiFi was available at just 1 euro per 24 hours which was good value.
Breakfast was only just OK and we gave it a miss on our last day as nothing really appealed. There was:- museli, cornflakes, fruit (whole), hard bread rolls, cheap ham and cheese slices, yogurts and selection of cakes which were abit dry and not very tasty. There is a automated coffee/hot choc machine which churned out 'not very tasty' coffee.
So, would I go there again ? well, if we were on a budget for a short time then yes as its a fantastic location in Trieste but if I had abit more cash to splash then i think i would pay that bit extra and get somewhere with air con and maybe a bar fridge so we could have pre dinner drinks in our room.
Hope this helps : )

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed at The Alabarda for three days. It's beautifully located for walking to most Trieste attractions - the Grand Canal and the main piazza being a few minutes away. The sunsets were spectacular every day.
The Alabarda staff were very pleasant and answered all the questions, but did not offer much information; for instance, we did not find out about the guest PC or the TV lounge (big screen & satellite) on the second floor (our room was on the third), until we were checking out.
The room was large, especially after our Italian experiences to date, and reasonably well appointed - another chair would have helped. There was no natural light and the room lights were inadequate - on the plus side, it was very quiet considering it's busy street location.
Good breakfasts for the early risers - sparser later.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#20 of 50 in Trieste
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filoxenia
Hotel Filoxenia
#30 of 50 in Trieste
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pensione Rittmeyer
Pensione Rittmeyer
#85 of 142 in Trieste
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Amelie Trieste
B&B Amelie Trieste
#77 of 142 in Trieste
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gens Julia
Gens Julia
#11 of 142 in Trieste
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zudecche 1 Bed & Breakfast
Zudecche 1 Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 142 in Trieste
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alabarda

Address: Via Valdirivo 22, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Trieste
Price Range: $63 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alabarda 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing