We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falls short of today's standards”
Review of B&B Hotel Trieste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B&B Hotel Trieste
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
audiopink
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Falls short of today's standards”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Had I written this review 20 years ago it probably would have been much more enthusiastic. The hotel has a lost-grandeur feel to it which indicates that 50 years ago this was probably a great place to stay at.
Today however it is simply far below par. And I am not referring to the old-styled furniture, the marble floors etc. In honesty, beds are pretty comfortable and the bathroom is very decent, everything seems clean.
What is intolerable nowadays are things like the incredible amount of noise (there are no carpets on the floor, room doors have to be slammed in order to close, anti-fire doors in the corridor also open and close with the great deal of noise, walls and ceilings sound paper-thin), the awful breaksfast (I've had the worst coffee and orange juice of my life) and the overall feeling of coldness and decadence that rules the place. And it's not that cheap either.
The only reason why I give it 2 stars (as opposed to 1) is the convenient location, right in front of the train station.

Room Tip: stay away from the anti-fire doors in the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audiopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    138
    91
    35
    13
See reviews for
51
105
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I could not believe, that there could be so poor 3 stars hotels in Italy! They proud for big rooms, but they are terrible, furniture is old and the towels are dirty, like someone has cleaned shoes with them. Breakfast is impossible to eat and bathroom looked liked communism style. Don't stay there until they make a renovation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trieste hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed in this hotel on our single night passing through Trieste and we were very impressed. Cheap accommodation, clean spacious rooms, and very friendly customer service. Receptionists and manager went out of their way to exceed customer expectations. We left very happy and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanban91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Chosed this hotel based on trip adviser's reviews. After staying there got a bit disappointed! Relatively helpful staff that couldn't communicate with us in English so we had to understand a mixture of Italian and gestures)
Our room was ok but really really outdated! A tiny window goes to a small yard and to a sewege pipe on a wall covered with pigeons' poop that live right above the window)
Very poor breakfast, suitable for a one star hotel!
But it is located in the city center, close to a bus going various directions, train station that is just right across a square, and it takes max 10 mins to the main Piazza(square)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrziKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

As reported by previous TA members - ideal position for those arriving by train or coach - just 100 yards from both the rail and coach stations.

If arriving by air, use the bus service to the hotel. Service N° 51 takes just under an hour with a charge of only €3.30 each way.

Breakfast simple but plenty of it.

Bedrooms big an clean, with flatscreen tv.

Free wifi very good

Location is excellent for visiting Trieste and surrounding area

Hotel is dated but very good value for money

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholasEJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
389 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

As reported by previous TA members - ideal position for those arriving by train or coach - just 100 yards from both the rail and coach stations.

If arriving by air, use the bus service to the hotel. Service N° 51 takes just under an hour with a charge of only €3.30 each way.

We had a very large room (214) - large bed/TV/batchroom, although only a hand held shower head over the bath. View from the room not inspiring - into an internal courtyard. Aircon is included, as is a room safe.

Staff extremely helpful and with good English language. Reception area had a TV area and a small Bar and the free to use computer with broadband access.

Breakfast was good - drinks/juice/breads/yogurts/tinned fruit etc - no hot items but that is the norm in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kule Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This hotel is literally across a small plaza from the train station, and in the middle of multiple bus stops. So, for arrival and departure by train, the location can't be beat. It is also within walking distance to the Grand Canal area where there are many shops and restaurants. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and clean. For Americans, the furnishings in the rooms would be considered very basic and minimal, but still quite comfortable. We were in Trieste helping our daughter get settled at the university and every member of this staff went out of their way to help us with some problems we needed to resolve. When our daughter needed to move back to the hotel with us, the staff immediately changed our room to a triple, and gave us the special online rate. They were always available and willing to help us as we tried to navigate our way around the city. We were in the hotel for 5 nights, and by day 3 the staff would usually recognize us as we entered, and have our key ready on the desk. Even the staff in the breakfast room was always friendly and attentive. Breakfast does not offer any hot items however, there are delicious croissants, jams, a "laughing cow" type of cheese, as well as some very good cereals and yogurt. For coffee you can choose expresso, cappuccino or regular. This is a reasonably priced hotel in a great location, with large comfortable rooms and a staff that is top notch. We were very thankful for their kindness during a somewhat stressful time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trbrown36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#19 of 50 in Trieste
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Trieste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Trieste

Property: B&B Hotel Trieste
Address: Via Sant'Anastasio 1, 34132, Trieste, Italy (Formerly Novo Hotel Impero)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Hotel Trieste 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B Hotel Trieste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing