We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discover triest”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“discover triest”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A good hotel to discover Triest, near station, a bus stop in front of the hotel, walking distance to all the mayor sights. The hotel itself is not interesting, the breakfast room is very crowded but the breakfast is all right (especially the cappuccino!). The staff is helpful and nice.
Down side: outdated, to expensive, noise from the street

Room Tip: familyroom on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    134
    115
    56
    34
See reviews for
58
141
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here en route from Ljubljana to Trieste Airport (Monfalcone). We arrived on Saturday evening having had to come from Koper (Slovenia) because of lack of trains across the border. Very convenient for the Station and reasonably appointed if just a little dated. The room obviously had been recently renovated and was comfortable with efficient aircon. WiFi was free and available in the room. Despite other negative reviews we found the breakfast pretty good with a good choice and attentive service. You know this hotel was not that bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel mostly because of the photos. However, at the time we entered the room we realised that it wasn't what we expected. After few hours we noticed ants on the floor and we were surprised. Later on, we heard from the people who live in Trieste for years, that this hotel has a bad reputation. The bottom line is that it should have been much more decent for that high price. The breakfast was continental, in general not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AESmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Well we were here for 5 nights visiting family and although it was not all bad the third night was a nightmare as I had a run in with a male night staff member.

He was rude and totally disgusting! You do not treat guests with such rudeness.

I had an email from the hotel letting us know that during our 5 night stay they would give us one of the loading bays to park our 9 seater van at night! The beautiful girl in the morning on day 3 said yes that was true and it would be available. That night two other cars were parked in the loading bays. We kindly mentioned this to the night staff member and he said it is for loading and unloading only for 30 min - I said what about the two cars parked in there? He said they might be leaving but wasnt sure - um when I questioned that we were given priority and had spoken and emailed about this he said it was NOT his problem. I then went and stood outside to see if they would move and where my husband had gone to find a park. The rude receptionist came outside and told me to come inside - when I said I was waiting to see when they were moving within the 30 min he said don't bother - I asked him if he was the Manager and he said no and told me to suit myself if I wanted to watch the park.
When I went back inside I said that they were not moving he said LOOK MADAM I AM NOT THE POLICE! What a nerve! I then asked for his name and he ignored me! I asked again and he still kept his head down on the third time he said I AM NOT GOING TO GIVE YOU MY NAME! So I made one up for him and walked off to my room! I was Fuming!!!
All he had to do was apologize for the misunderstanding and that there was nothing he could do for the night.
It put a real sour taste in my mouth for the rest of the stay!
PARKING IS NON EXISTING and as we were leaving the Hotel another guest had the same issue except he had PAID for parking???? Again the other male staff member was TOTALLY rude to him! So I guess it wasnt just my family who had an issue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinwithdakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trieste hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Szczecin, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hotel in very good location, quiet and clean room. The decor and furnishings look relatively new. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom was clean and all worked well .Everyone on the staff was friendly and happy to help or answer questions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobiasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel was outdated, carpets needed replacement, unhelpful and miserable receptionist on arrival, weird set up in room for toilet and shower. Room was fairly clean but for the cost it was completely over priced. No parking available. Breakfast was not fresh

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We picked the Roma because of its location near the central train station and the bus terminal (Autostazionne) since we arrived late by train and had a bus to take to Croatia the next day. That proved to be a good solution since we were in our beds 30 minutes after arriving in Trieste Centrale (the hotel is in front of the station across the dirty on a Sunday night Piazza della Liberta) and I could go secure a bus ticket at 6:25am the next morning at the opening of the booth and be readily back in bed until 10am! We could still catch the cold but satisfying breakfast and we had a couple of hours left to visit the nearby Plaza dell' Unitad, the Canal Grande and the quays, all worth a quick look. Otherwise the room was basic, small but clean and probably quite recently refurbished, with a strong shower. Note that the lift is small and there are flights of stairs to reach it and then to reach the rooms. All in all nothing fancy but a good pick for a short stay because of Roma's convenient location and appropriate service for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBB_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#19 of 50 in Trieste
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#22 of 50 in Trieste
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Via Carlo Ghega 7, 34132, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing