We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible arrogant receptionists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
München
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible arrogant receptionists”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

If you expect friendly service, do NOT book this hotel. The receptionists (at least the two ladies who worked there in the afternoon on september 14th) are not just extremly unfriendly, they are also very arrogant. It's a shame. Especially for a hotel of this category. I will never use this hotel again.

Italy is known for its guest friedly people.

There is an exception to every rule. In terms of this clichee it is this hotel in trieste. The reception in probably every hotel of italy (or the world) is better than in grand hotel duchi dagosto.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristianGretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBenvenuti, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Gretz,

Thank you for having signed your review.

This signature has allowed me to discover that YOU HAS NEVER BEEN ACCOMMODATED IN OUR HOTEL .

Any further remark is unnecessary.

Alex Benvenuti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    176
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
73
245
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
249 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a great hotel on a great location. I love everything about this hotel; reception's welcome, check out, helpful personnel, nice building, nice good size room with all necessities, free wifi, free bottled water, gorgeous breakfast with cappuccino, espresso, ...; extremely nice waiters during the breakfast; nice pool! The only small minus was shower which was not easy to adjust to the right temperature. everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, the staff very polite and ready to help you all the time. This hotel is located in very nice, historical building with unforgetable atmosphere.
Breakfasts are fantastic expirience - tasty italian illy cappuccino or any kind of coffee you wish with waiters "dancing around you". There is variety of fresh, quality food and nice italian prosecco, if you like.
The whole hotel is decorated with antiques and the wellness center in old Romanian style. Nothing is like in other hotels.
The hotel is 4 ****, but it's service is for 5*****.
If I will ever visit Trieste again, I will deffinitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you can, get room with front or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna_KM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only stayed for a night on our way to Venice. The staff were very friendly. The location is right in the main square so it's perfect! Definitely worth staying here when in Trieste! Everything was very clean, but the hotel needs a bit of a face lift. Wall paper on the ceiling in that bathroom is strange, and it was peeling. Not a big deal though.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta for 2 nights in early July. The hotel staff were all friendly and warm, the hotel and rooms were decorated with many antiques which suited the building and location. It is located on Piazza Unita the main square in Trieste and is a lovely area to walk around. The only let down was the very poor shower in the room, otherwise everything was excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mvfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area, MA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The location, overlooking the Piazza Unita, and the ocean, is just unbeatable. The location in our minds made up for the smallish room and faded elegance. The staff we dealt with were very helpful, although with some I sense a rule-following mentality more than a desire to be helpful mentality. I really enjoyed the morning I spent drinking coffee on the Piazza while on a call with a client. Great service from the waiter who resupplied my caffeine needs discreetly. The breakfast had a lot of variety, although there didn't seem to be an option for them to cook eggs to order. All in all, a nice stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank letsmakeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lovely "old world" hotel....very traditional without being stuffy....staff were excellent...location was great...breakfast in harrys cafe was very nice...we really liked our stay there..very enjoyable.....thanks grand duchi...you got us off to a great start for our visit to Croatia.

Room Tip: Train and bus are easy walks with baggage...less than a km in straight line.....next to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#4 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta

Property: Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Address: Piazza Unita' d'Italia 2, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trieste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Trieste
Grand Hotel Duchi d Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing