We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem with very good service and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem with very good service and great location!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I cannot praise the reception staff enough at this lovely, traditional, beautifully located hotel. We were offered a room choice of arrival, and experienced a high level of professional, friendly hotel service and attention throughout. The room overlooking the square was delightful – and spotless - and the giant Jacuzzi downstairs probably the best I’ve encountered (and I have tried many!).
The only downside was double booking of a restaurant table on the outside terrace for my birthday meal. My boyfriend was compensated for this with a very mature, excellent whisky – a nice gesture but surprising to me perhaps given that it was my reservation and special event rather than his that was compromised. As it happened we ate at a decent pizza place on a side street instead, and still had a pleasant enough evening. I don’t know if the hotel and restaurant are separately managed, but this was the only blip in a magical and memorable 3-day break. As I mentioned earlier, the internal hotel staff were exceptional, 5 star, and come highly recommended…..

Room Tip: Ask on arrival if a view of the square is available. They may upgrade you at no extra cost if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiskersMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    176
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
72
245
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I know it's dated and kind of old splendor, but it was exactly what we needed after two disappointing stays in Trieste and Ljubljana respectively. This was our last night on our Trieste/Slovenia trip and by a mile our favourite hotel. It's right on Piazza Unita d'Italia, making it by far the best located hotel in Trieste. We didn't stay in one of the more expensive rooms overlooking the square, but our room was impeccable with a lot attention to detail. We loved all about it. Yes, it's old-fashioned but that's what makes it so charming. The decoration and furniture didn't look old or worn, just very warm and cozy. The shower is your standard European shower cubicle. Rather sad for a hotel that tries to sell itself as old-world charm. Entering the bathroom feels like entering the new world, the bad new world that is.

Breakfast wasn't fabulous but quite good nevertheless. Front desk staff was a bit cool but efficient, helpful and professional.

We especially loved the Roman bath in the basement. It's not big but I wished we could have stayed there longer. The pool is fantastic (for its size) and the jacuzzi not bad either. Sadly, the hotel doesn't seem to care much about it. There's no attendant, no towels are provided, and the sauna was dead cold. We only stayed for one night so we weren't really bothered by that. I complained to reception about the missing towels. I was told they would fix that right away, but what I have learned from other reviewers is that the missing towels saga is normal. There certainly is room for improvement.

Despite some shortcomings, we'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Triest is not something like to thing it is. You should work on it. You should fine the hidden jewels behind the things. (Miramare castle). But my favourite yewel is this Grand Hotel. When I have been there first time, I realised that I will get back planty of times. That has happened. That was my fourth time in the same hotel joining more and more. When I am in that hotel I feel myself a part of the History not only the hotel but the area. Last time we have been at the Goldoni suite. Original furnitures, painting of Goldoni, the musician and luxury.
Comfortable rooms, excellent food, wonderful SPA, amating terrace with nice breakfast.
i can talk only in "superlatives". I love it.
Very kind, helpful and friendly staff who are always at your service.
The under the same ownership is "The RIVIERA" where you can have a nice swim in the sea on their private beach.

Room Tip: Suites are perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexBenvenuti, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,
I am delighted to hear about your excellent time spent at Duchi d'Aosta and would like to thank you for sharing the best of your stay.

Your praise on the service and the friendly team is highly appreciated. The same goes for the Spa and the restaurant.

The unique location of the hotel on the monumental main square and close to the shopping area is ideal to enjoy peacefulness and live at the city pace of life.

I hope that you will have another opportunity to stay again with us in a near future and I look forward to this.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Benvenuti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lovely stylish little hotel in the very centre looking out onto the Piazza d'unita. You dont stay in a hotel like this for its modernities, but more for its character, elegance and finesse derived from the dated decor.

We were upgraded (for free) to a room with a view over the Piazza, it also came with the famous Bora wind!

Very helpful reception staff, great buffet breakfast with lovely fresh yoghurt and prunes! Nice spa with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi !

Location - very close to the bus/train station

Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the Piazza, we were upgraded as it was our birthdays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelCake340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Br
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel must have been a very good one, a long time ago. It's stuffy, the air condition in the lobby could be stronger, the staff could be more courteous. The bathroom had one of those fit in showers, small. The breakfast could have hot milk, coffe and water for tea.
I don;t reccomend. The only good thing is that is very central.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

+ very good situation in the middle of the town. Breakfast complete. and fresh. Good rate Price-Quality for this standard. Old house but renovated and in very good hand.
- No parking: private parking service for €23 per day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ERIC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you are looking for the perfect location, atmosphere, and ambiance, then this is your spot. Located directly on the Piazza Unita D'Italia, the Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta is the perfect spot from which to explore the city of Trieste. Checking in was surprisingly simple by car. There are temporary parking spots located directly to the side of the hotel from which you can offload your luggage and turn your keys over to the valet. The hotel staff was exceptionally professional and helpful, and upgraded us to a junior suite directly overlooking the piazza (with no prompting). Breakfast is served every morning in Harry's Bar, and is a great value. My wife and I were able to explore the entire downtown area on foot from this location in a matter of only a few hours. Grand, glorious, and historical.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#4 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta

Property: Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Address: Piazza Unita' d'Italia 2, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trieste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Trieste
Grand Hotel Duchi d Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing