We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is good, a fairly short walk from the train station if you're arriving by train. It's just off the main square, which is phenomenal, very impressive. Vis a Vis is in a separate building to Hotel Duchi, although that is where you have to check in. It looks as if it has only recently been converted into a hotel.The bedrooms are small but pleasant (although lacking an armchair) with a good bathroom. On my second visit a coffee machine appeared in my bedroom, handy if you fancy a quick espresso.
Breakfast is taken in Harry's Bar in the Duchi, where the service was good during my visits, with a friendly and helpful lady, although the croissants (brioche) could have been better. The coffee was good. The staff at the hotel reception were polite and helpful and spoke good English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newportonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
81
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Trieste is a city one has to like - and I do - since it only has limited opportunities for tourists. If you are staying in the city only for a day, you are missing the best part of it - the nightlive on the streets. Therefore it is always good to stay in Trieste at least for a night, and the "Duchi Vis a Vis"" is a good choice for one night, since you are really very close to the city center.
Pricewise the hotel is not very cheap - the rooms are a little bit small for a longer stay, but just fine for a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiley7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

travelling for work and stayed 3 nights. Not sure how much this hotel cost since someone else booked it for me, so maybe I would change my rating if I knew. Also I spent very little time interacting with staff or using hotel Amenities since the meeting I was attending went from early to late, So do not want to say its too good or too bad, but this was a nice stay overall and the score I gave is based on the following

Cons:
very very small room
Work trip and no iron in the room (would not have noticed this on a personal holiday)
Check out procedure extremely slow
Breakfast quite average
Espresso machine in room (great!) but no milk for the coffee (but maybe this is normal in Italy?)


Pros
Room furnished quite nicely, design style
nice and bright
Extremely clean.
Nice bathroom including tub with Jets (never tried to use it)
Great location- right on the square which was very pretty,
Wifi included in the rate

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms_Vasco_Pyjama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We selected the hotel "Duchi Vis a Vis" because of the good recommendations at TripAdvisor and we really loved our stay, although it was only for one night. The hotel is located in a very good area, both for sightseeing, shopping and entertainment, the hotels are comfortable, clean and spacious.
The price of course reflected the quality, if it would have been a little bit cheaper, I would have awarded the full five stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in the Vis a Vis during a weekend break in Trieste and were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms are bright and airy, the décor is modern while still in keeping with the traditional architecture of the building itself and we had a lovely view out onto the plaza. The impressive lobby area houses an interesting collection of artwork which added a nice quirky touch, my only complaint would be the lift which was extremely rickety – we took the stairs!
There is no reception in the hotel so you check in at their sister hotel across the road and have use of their communal facilities. One of the most enjoyable of these was breakfast which is served in Harry’s Bar overlooking Piazza Unità D'Italia – a highlight of our weekend, it’s worth staying here for this alone!
The hotel is right in the centre close to everything of interest. Ideal for a weekend break but it would also be perfect for business stays as rooms have a nice work area, free WiFi and is a short stroll to the Congress Centre near the marina. Overall I was very impressed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent central location. Clean and comfy room but the huge shower head over the bath flooded the floor -still I wasn't cleaning it up!! Good breakfasts too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice room, great location on the Piazza, service was excellent and the breakfast position could not have been better- inside or outside seating overlooking the Piazza. Linen sheets on the bed was a nice touch. The only couple of comments which would stop an excellent rating is there was a lack of information in the room on the hotel services and surrounds, and some parts of the hotel were looking a little tired, although I love the older style of the hotel so this may be a bit picky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MareeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#6 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 49 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 49 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis

Property: Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis
Address: Piazza Dello Squero Vecchio 1, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duchi Vis à Vis is a small and elegant four star hotel, built in a historic home in front of Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta. Duchi Vis à Vis is a "house " sized books, suffused with an intimate atmosphere. The combination of warm colors with light and shadow gives an overall sense of well being. Even the materials, from solid walnut flooring to the linen sheets, help to emphasize the feelings of pleasure. A small "asset": the Illy coffee maker in each room to ensure proper recovery. Duchi Vis à Vis is also meeting place for art. The hall hosts solo shows of emerging artists, book launches and openings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Duchi Vis a Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing