We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay, somewhat dissapointing for Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Giusto
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average stay, somewhat dissapointing for Best Western”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was somewhat surprised for the high stars given to this hotel. It really is just an older building in a maze-like setting with small rooms (even though we had the triple rooms) and average services. Its redeeming part was the good buffet-style breakfast with a combination of warm and cold items.
1) The room: our "triple rooms" were truly the size of a small double room anywhere else with three singles crammed (or one king and one single) with very little space otherwise.
2) Location was good, fairly close (but unfortunately not within walking distance: two buses away) from the main tourist attractions in downtown Trieste.
3) Garage: small garage fits maybe about 20 cars and some folks were not able to get their car parked there (despite the 16 Euro/night rate)
4) We called to ask for ice, but was told that the machine was out-of-order.

Compared to the many other Best Westerns we have stayed both in Europe and USA, this particular location did not really seem to deserve the company's logo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfmonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    240
    173
    44
    15
See reviews for
114
185
29
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

stayed there one night and felt the room was very old, the bathroom was a decent size but again felt old. the breakfast was a decent buffet. not a lot of places to eat around the hotel. you have to drag your suitcase up several steps to get to the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Although I can say most aspects were good, we were disappointed in the attitude of the lady owner who insisted that even though I had an allergy to certain foods, I had to pay 15 euros for the set menu, of which the main course I couldn't eat. The air con didn't work after the first day and although we were asked if we wanted to move room we stayed in the hope it would be fixed but it was wasn't. A a very pleasurable stay was otherwise spoilt by these couple of issues.

Room Tip: Our apartment room across the road was a good size for the 4 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I took 46 rugby players to this hotel. Not dead central but slightly up in the hills, but a $6 taxi into the centre. Nice tidy clean hotel with good service. They loooked after 46 of us OK

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here- in the suites building that are for more long term guests. Rooms have small pretty well equipped kitchens, big bathrooms, and a living area. The rooms are all done in one major color with wood accents. We had blue, our friends had green. Saw a red room which would have driven me around the bend.

The hotel is a long walk from the center of town- downhill on the way in, uphill home. There are some good food shops close by, but not any real good restaurants.

The staff was excellent- helpful and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Don't get a red one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel was perfect for our family! There were seven of us so we reserved two rooms. They were spacious, with a small kitchen and large ( for a hotel) refrigerator. The breakfast buffet each morning was very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gblrklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the hotel is not so far from Piazza unita d'italia ( the main square in Triest) and is near teh San Giusto's castle.
very nice staff, the room vas very very good cleaned, the bathroom was beautiful..
the breakfast was excellent with very good selection at the buffet:"brioches" and " capuccino" and other things, fresh fruits etc etc.
my family and me were satisfated

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budabuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.9 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
426 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,625 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Trieste
B&B Hotel Trieste
#19 of 50 in Trieste
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Giusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Giusto

Property: Best Western Hotel San Giusto
Address: Via Cristoforo Belli 1, 34137, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Trieste
#4 Family Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel San Giusto 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable 3-star hotel in Trieste, the Best Western Hotel San Giusto, recently refurbished, stands close to the castle and is the nearest hotel to the city's Fiera Campionaria exhibition, the Palazzo dello Sport sports centre, the city's horse-racing track and the Nereo Rocco stadium. It has a 40-space car park for the exclusive use of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Giusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Giusto
Best Western Trieste
Trieste Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing