We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Narbonne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fantastic location, so splurge on a room with the sea view. The rooms are slightly smaller than you might imagine at this price (isn't that always the case?) but the beds are superb. Try for a room on the upper floors as there is considerably less traffic noise and don't listen to them when they tell you "yes, but the floors are double height" - irrelevant ! The further away from the 4 lanes of traffic right outside you are, the better.

The breakfast buffet is very good and varied with something for everyone and proper good coffee made and brought to you by waiters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenshyNarbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    294
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
263
617
41
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of those hidden gems that you wish you had found earlier. Last year while visiting Trieste we came into this Hotel for coffee and vowed to stay a night here. This year we came back and fulfilled that wish and were not disappointed. Everything from the check-in to the room itself screams 5 star. Not only would we stay here again, we already booked our next visit. If you are coming to Trieste then make this your first choice for accommodation and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the Superior rooms which give you a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greguska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic customer service and gorgeous decor. We used this hotel as our base, and made day trips to the Istria part of Slovenia and Croatia and northern Italy. The only thing lacking about this hotel is a pool and a fitness center. Otherwise, it should definitely be rated a five star hotel.

Located just steps away from the port and gorgeous piazza.

The excellent service of the staff can be summed up nicely in how they handled one incident. We left our Kindle at the hotel, and through email exchanges, it was returned to us in perfect condition. The hotel staff explored various mailing options and presented them to us. Then wrapped the device in water proof materials placed it inside two padded envelops. We're not impressed easily, but we were with their follow through.

Staff are fluent in German, Italian and English.

Room Tip: Superior double room with balcony is huge and can accommodate children (free of charge). You just n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old hotel that has been very nicely refurbished. Good location. Clean and well appointed.
Breakfast very disappointing for a hotel of this class, limited choice, all self service and minimal clear up staff.
Taxi to the airport booked by hotel (their trusted company) was 75 euros and we had to listen to the driver on the phone most of the way discussing his lunch arrangements. Not what you expect at this level.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OxfordDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not sure why this place is not in the guidebooks. I booked it based on the Trip Advisor reviews and, most of all, the pictures. And I'm delighted I did. Everything about the hotel was great, from the friendly staff (who gave me an upgrade--grazie!) to the public spaces (including a charming reading room with chaises) to the tastefully decorated rooms with their double insulated windows. The hotel is situated just a few blocks from the main piazza and has great views over the harbor and the Gulf of Trieste. From my balcony I watched a huge cruise ship leave port just across the road.

Trieste is a fascinating city, a mixture of the nations and cultures that have held sway over its history. There's a wonderful Roman theatre right in the middle of town and within an easy bus ride the beautiful Miramare, a castle built by the Austro-Hungarian prince who tried to become the Emperor of Mexico (with disastrous results). The Savoia Excelsior makes a splendid base for exploring these sights and many more.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Trieste the sometime marine gateway of Austro-Hungarian Monarchy is proud of several magnificient buildings of past centuries. One of them hosts this luxurious hotel with excellent views to the harbour with easy access to city highlights. Rooms are generously sized and furnished contemporary style. Services are very professional and welcoming. Highly recommended offering good value of money.

Room Tip: Enroll to IPrefer membership to get complimentary room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#8 of 50 in Trieste
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace

Property: Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Address: Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#1 Family Hotel in Trieste
#2 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Savoia Exclesior Palace in the heart of Trieste... A magnificent seafront hotel with views over the Gulf and the historic Castello di Miramare.Completely refurbished, the Savoia Excelsior Palace exudes grand hotel charm through numerous prestigious details. Ornate boiseries...Monogrammed cushions... There's even a Belle epoque-style skylight brightening the Lounge.Enjoy exquisite food and spectacular sea views in our Mitteleuropean restaurant and bar. Our luxury hotel features 144 rooms and glorious suites...9 Elegant meeting rooms, most with natural light, with a total capacity for up to 650 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Hotel Trieste
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing