We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not sure why this place is not in the guidebooks. I booked it based on the Trip Advisor reviews and, most of all, the pictures. And I'm delighted I did. Everything about the hotel was great, from the friendly staff (who gave me an upgrade--grazie!) to the public spaces (including a charming reading room with chaises) to the tastefully decorated rooms with their double insulated windows. The hotel is situated just a few blocks from the main piazza and has great views over the harbor and the Gulf of Trieste. From my balcony I watched a huge cruise ship leave port just across the road.

Trieste is a fascinating city, a mixture of the nations and cultures that have held sway over its history. There's a wonderful Roman theatre right in the middle of town and within an easy bus ride the beautiful Miramare, a castle built by the Austro-Hungarian prince who tried to become the Emperor of Mexico (with disastrous results). The Savoia Excelsior makes a splendid base for exploring these sights and many more.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Trieste the sometime marine gateway of Austro-Hungarian Monarchy is proud of several magnificient buildings of past centuries. One of them hosts this luxurious hotel with excellent views to the harbour with easy access to city highlights. Rooms are generously sized and furnished contemporary style. Services are very professional and welcoming. Highly recommended offering good value of money.

Room Tip: Enroll to IPrefer membership to get complimentary room upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Piet T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great location, easy walking distance to train/bus stations and boat moorings. Very helpful staff and there's some great deals to be had, as the hotel is very quiet. Only on one occasion in a week did i share a lift with anyone !
Shame the bar was deserted, prices too high IMHO and the internet needs to be free in all the rooms otherwise 'magnifico'.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front worth the extra euros.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0pturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Trieste is an interesting city : not one of the best touristic spots in the world or even in Italy, but interesting for its history ( not easy to be close to Venice) and above all for its atmosphere. For me : Italians at their best! The Savoia excelsior palace is the place where to stay for those who can afford it. Perfect location, well equipped and spacious rooms ; great service. The weak point is Internet : poor WiFi connection;;;; but it is the same all over Italy !

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room or a suite with harbour vew. It's worth the price
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaugier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Savoia is in a great locations, but more notable is how helpful and friendly the staff are. This hotel is a very good choice if you want to be treated well and stay in a well kept luxury hotel. The rooms are outstanding, like a roman palace. The hotel is also a one minute walk from the square and many shops and places to eat. The water view is perfect, ask for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is reasonably priced, has an amazing architecture, is clean and is very well located. Service is beyond average, not excellent. They have a strange free wi-fi policy, they give 30 minute vouchers as many as you want, but you have to login every 30 mins. Another weird thing: I once decided to take the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator and it came out that the stairs were only for emergency use (there was no sign for that) and I could not enter inside the hotel again. Fortunately my mobile phone was with me. They need to improve some details, otherwise it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cemozBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace

Address: Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trieste
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: $146 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Savoia Exclesior Palace in the heart of Trieste... A magnificent seafront hotel with views over the Gulf and the historic Castello di Miramare.Completely refurbished, the Savoia Excelsior Palace exudes grand hotel charm through numerous prestigious details. Ornate boiseries...Monogrammed cushions... There's even a Belle epoque-style skylight brightening the Lounge.Enjoy exquisite food and spectacular sea views in our Mitteleuropean restaurant and bar. Our luxury hotel features 144 rooms and glorious suites...9 Elegant meeting rooms, most with natural light, with a total capacity for up to 650 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Hotel Trieste
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing