We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Absolutely super clean, high ceiling, wonderful fresh air in the room even with a switched off aircon. Smartly planned and spacious rooms. Very friendly reception staff. Breakfast is quite basic (full american bft) but excellent quality. Great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaStar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for one night in this luxury, classical, historical, hotel right in the center of Trieste. We were very happy with our upgrade to a room on the fifth floor at the front of the hotel, so that we had a fantastic view of the sea (and an enormous yacht parked right in front of the hotel).

The room and facilities were all very good, so no complaints. Also, staff was very friendly and professional.

The only two minuses for this hotel are:
- No free wifi, although half an hour access offered for free. Nowadays wifi should be available for free in all hotels as it is such a basic commodity, almost like electricity.
- Breakfast was ok, but we had expected better and more diverse in a luxury hotel such as this one.

We would stay here again if we can get a room for a good price.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel to get a fantastic sea view, especially from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

When a 4 star makes you feel like a 5 star then everything's fine! Except a pool, this hotel has just everything to be a 5 star: wonderful location, great view, very friendly staff, perfect breakfast, nice furniture and room design, car service etc. etc. I would definitely go back. And check on Internet for very good rates and upgrades! One single very little negative point: no orange juice for breakfast - but probably it was just a one day problem and when you have to find such a little thing to criticize it's really because all the rest has been JUST PERFECT!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the harbor/ sea. Try to find an upgrade option in your on-line booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The starhotels renovated this old fashioned hotel into a trendy classy place , ideally situated to visit the city center.
In house decoration is really good taste and if you have the right room the front hotel views are spectacular.
Only two negatives.
No parking , but instead an expensive car service that puts your car away.
More importantly a lousy quality breakfast considering the hotel you're in.

Room Tip: front views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelP6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel staff are extremely polite and their service is impeccable . There is nothing they can not or will not do for you. The hotel is magnificent. Rooms are very large and beautifully appointed and everything is spotless. You could not ask for a better place to stay with a beautiful view over the sea, the port and walking distance to shops and restaurants. If you want to enjoy your stay, this is the place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked on Expedia and, based on rate ($160/night w breakfst) this is one of the best 'values' I've had in a long time.
The hotel is beautiful combination of 'old world' but recently remodeled in a tasteful, modern way. Lobby, bar and other common areas are top-notch and the location cannot be beat. We booked a 'standard' and were upgraded. Room was very large, 2 balcony's facing the waterfront, fantastic bathroom, very comfortable bed - excellent.
Breakfast buffet was 'okay' but set in very nice dining room with views of the waterfront. Wifi works okay but they charge for it via an 'archaic' and cumbersome system....no big deal but also no reason for it to be this way. Trieste overall exceeded our expectations - many very nice restaurants, shops and places to explore within close walk of the hotel. Also a great base if you have a car to visit Piran etc (30 mins max w car).

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Originally booked for one night, but both Trieste and the hotel were so wonderful we stayed for another 4 nights. The hotel could not be better situated in Trieste. It is luxurious, freshly renovated and in well-nigh perfect condition. When we asked to stay the 4 extra nights our family was upgraded to 2 room suites with balconies overlooking the sea. The staff are kind and well-trained. Nothing was too much trouble for them. In August at any rate on-street parking was cheap and easy. Breakfast was distinctly average, even by Italian standards, but our overall experience of the hotel was so good that this did not spoil our stay at all.

Room Tip: The suites at the front are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 51 in Trieste
1,760 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 51 in Trieste
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continentale
Continentale
#5 of 51 in Trieste
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione

Address: Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#2 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range: $141 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Savoia Exclesior Palace in the heart of Trieste... A magnificent seafront hotel with views over the Gulf and the historic Castello di Miramare.Completely refurbished, the Savoia Excelsior Palace exudes grand hotel charm through numerous prestigious details. Ornate boiseries...Monogrammed cushions... There's even a Belle epoque-style skylight brightening the Lounge.Enjoy exquisite food and spectacular sea views in our Mitteleuropean restaurant and bar. Our luxury hotel features 144 rooms and glorious suites...9 Elegant meeting rooms, most with natural light, with a total capacity for up to 650 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Hotel Trieste
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing