We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was born in Trieste and when I return there I normally stay with family. This time, my English friends came with us and we stayed at the Savoia Palace. I was very impressed by the decor, cleanliness, size and comfort of the rooms, the view of the sea, the centreal location and the relaxed style of the public areas. But what really impressed me (because it is so hard to find these days) was the quality of service! I pointed out to a friend the attention to detail given by the staff at breakfast. If I was training hotel staff, I would bring them here.
Parking is a little expensive but then parking in Trieste is always a problem.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Adriatic is to be enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banettino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    304
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
282
638
41
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very classy hotel located in the heart of Trieste. Rooms tradionally furnished, with rooms at the front (some with balconies) overlooking the harbour. Did not find the hotel staff to be to friendly, and made little effort for conversation whilst checking in/out. You also have to pay for WIFi in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A classy, centrally located, and quietly elegant hotel on the sea front that oozes charm tastefulness of the old time Austro-Hungarian Empire. Rooms are nicely furnished, service is outstanding, and breakfasts are super served in a ground floor room with broad windows overlooking the sea front street.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea front room -- they have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank largeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved this hotel. We got in very late (midnight) due to Iberia delay. The staff was outstanding...helped us get our car situated in the very inexpensive lot across the avenue, gave us a great sea view room and got our bags to us super fast. Fantastic breakfast. Wonderful service by everyone.You can walk to everything from this hotel. We went on to Croatia from here but also perfect for a day trip to Rovinj or Ljubljana. We have traveled to Europe every year for 25 years..this is one of the best hotels and best values we have seen.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTravelers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Planches-pres-Arbois, France
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Highly recommended. Rooms beautifully appointed and we had a great view of the harbour. Service was friendly and helpful. Main areas were tastefully decorated and relaxing. Buffet breakfast was delicious but very busy. Would certainly stay again. Very central to walk to places of interest. We had an executive suite, with a small kitchen area. Very spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheflizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The exterior of the hotel is very stately. The room was very nice and spacious with a great bathroom. THe balcony was great for watching a big thunderstorm come through. The breakfast was also very good. The staff was a little stuffy. Enjoyed the stay, but I like to made welcome. I thought they did not care.

Room Tip: Balcony is a nice feature. Every third or fourth room had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Positives :

Very good Decor
Very Spacious room with nice balcony
Amenities in the room very good including complimentary chocolate bon bons every day
Complimentary Indoor slippers in room
Location (facing waterfront) and close to major highlights of the city

Negatives:

Kitchenette in the room should be equipped with basic pots, plates and cutlery. Otherwise theres no use. As a traveller no one can bring these from home !
Breakfast should have a live cooking station for eggs etc.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tjafary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
1,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
786 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 50 in Trieste
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace

Property: Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Address: Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#1 Family Hotel in Trieste
#2 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Savoia Exclesior Palace in the heart of Trieste... A magnificent seafront hotel with views over the Gulf and the historic Castello di Miramare.Completely refurbished, the Savoia Excelsior Palace exudes grand hotel charm through numerous prestigious details. Ornate boiseries...Monogrammed cushions... There's even a Belle epoque-style skylight brightening the Lounge.Enjoy exquisite food and spectacular sea views in our Mitteleuropean restaurant and bar. Our luxury hotel features 144 rooms and glorious suites...9 Elegant meeting rooms, most with natural light, with a total capacity for up to 650 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Hotel Trieste
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing