We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel / perfectly situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel / perfectly situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is literally right around the corner from the main square and across the street from the water. The rooms were large and well appointed, but nothing to write home about. Trieste is a truly underrated city. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dslevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    282
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
254
596
41
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Thsi hotel has a category of 4* but for me is 5+++ Stars. Incredibel service, right attitude from every employee, guys who help with the luggage were amazing, the front desk was samller for the size of the hotel, but was BIG in great service and fantastic attitude. 4* hotels like this require to be all over Europe. Breakfast was included in my rate, internet as well, my suite was amazing with vie over the bay of Trieste. Impeccable rooms and tasteful decoration... but the tresure they have is nto the buidling only... are the peoples who are workign there. Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, but the view over the bay of Trieste is just nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel, as well as Trieste itself, is a true hidden gem. I have stayed at quite a few four star rated hotels but I have never actually felt disappointed that I had to leave. Savoia has been created to resemble a hotel of a bygone era, with it's sumptuous velvet sofas and chairs, mirrored lifts and marble staircases. Upon arrival we were upgraded (free of charge) to a deluxe room, which featured a marble bathroom, balcony with a view over Trieste bay, velvet sofa, spacious corridor with a full lenght mirror, slippers and bathrobes plus complimentary wi-fi (please note wifi is not free in classic and superior room rates). Our room rate included breakfast, served in a delightful room overlooking the sea. It consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, selection of bread and rolls, yogurts,pastries, fruit, large selection of tea and coffee etc. Other items such as an omelette were available at additional charge. You can also have your breakfast served in the room, this costs 6 euros per person. The hotel is located next door to the main piazza, with it's cafes and amazing architecture. Savoia is truly the best choice in Trieste and arguably one of the best hotels in Europe.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paula245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Even we have spent 2 nights only in Trieste, the stay was fantastic. The hotel is situated just on the embankment facing the sea port and the bay and only 2 minutes walking time from many places of interest and the shopping area. The hotel is very calm and comfortable: even it was Barcolana time and the hotel was overbooked we didn't feel it at all. Probably the breakfast could be more various but all the food was very fresh and tasty. The staff was quite friendly and both the check in and check out we're arranged in 2 minutes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This property practices customs long forgotten by many great hostelries. When my wife and I checked in they didn't even ask for a credit card, they just promptly settled us into a nice upgraded room, got the bags to the room and parked the car within moments of arrival. There is an air of elegance and studied aplomb about their staff's demeanor, despite a well disguised noticing of every detail of a guest's needs. Nothing goes un noticed, even as you would have an impression that they didn't notice you were there. This is a lost art. The lobby, breakfast room, meeting areas and guest rooms are immaculate, with the right mix of new technologies and old fixtures. The location is perfect, along the Via Mandracchio and within walking distance of everything one needs to enjoy day or evening activities. It's been a while since I've really been wowed by a hotel.......this one is unique. Give it a try if you're in Trieste.

Room Tip: Obviously the ocean view rooms are desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I can highly recommend this hotel to everybody! Its a very nice hotel right next to the marina! The rooms were huge and the service was perfect (roomcleaning twice a day!!!). Also haven't had a better Italian breakfast before. You can't find a better hotel for a decent price than the Savoia! We'll come back, derinitely!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard_BIgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard and the friendliness of the staff is fab. It is the little touches that make all the difference - for example, you had choices of pillows you wished ot use (we chose memory foam!). The breakfast was lovely - best croissants in the whole of Italy! It is situated in a perfect location, in the heart of Trieste. If you happen to be staying here on a Friday night, try to be up at about 8am Saturday morning to watch the Cruise ships Dock in the harbour (can be seen from the rooms and from breakfast). Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie1988_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#8 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Trieste
NH Trieste
#10 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace

Property: Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
Address: Riva del Mandracchio 4, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trieste
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#2 Business Hotel in Trieste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Savoia Exclesior Palace in the heart of Trieste... A magnificent seafront hotel with views over the Gulf and the historic Castello di Miramare.Completely refurbished, the Savoia Excelsior Palace exudes grand hotel charm through numerous prestigious details. Ornate boiseries...Monogrammed cushions... There's even a Belle epoque-style skylight brightening the Lounge.Enjoy exquisite food and spectacular sea views in our Mitteleuropean restaurant and bar. Our luxury hotel features 144 rooms and glorious suites...9 Elegant meeting rooms, most with natural light, with a total capacity for up to 650 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Hotel Trieste
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace Trieste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing