We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a box of chocolates, the surprise is inside”
Review of Gens Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gens Julia
Ranked #11 of 143 Trieste B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This family owned and operated B&B in the older part of Trieste is a very pleasant surprise once you meet Davide and enter the less the old exterior of the building. The rooms are located on the 3rd floor but Davide was more that happy to help with our luggage.
The rooms (we stayed there twice) are very clean and spacious enough for luggage. The hospitality and cleanliness became even more apparent after our return to Trieste from Porec in Croatia. As we were only going to Porec / Porenzo for 4 days, Davide was more than happy to hold our excess luggage for us. The thing that struck me most about this B&B was its cleanliness, the hospitality of the owners run a very close second.
Trieste is a city of Triestini people who are very proud of their heritage. The city boasts many pedestrian only piazza's and the Gens Gulia is ideally situated to explore Trieste on foot.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, the triple glass windows shut out almost all noise and as the B&B is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Many people have written the same things, so I can only confirm. Our stay here, for 2 nights, was wonderful. Davide was great- giving us his parking spot, helping us with luggage and maps and making a great cup of coffee as we settled in. The room was very large with stone, wood and windows- very charming. The views are great and there is a nice balcony on the other side of the kitchen. There is an extremely quiet AC/ionizer in the room that clears the air nicely. The location is walking distance to all. It's perfect and a great price- stay here and you'll be all set!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The owner went out of his way to help us. After an exhausting day on a motorcycle ride from Split, we were tired, hot and hungry. We arrived in town with no idea on where to go. We called the owner and he came and found us on a busy street and led us to the B&B. He moved his car so we could park out front, he helped carry our things up the stairs. It does not matter that there is no lift....he helps carry everything up! We were welcomed at eight o'clock at night with a cold drink and a map. We walked to a restaurant, had dinner and crashed out. The room is huge! Bathroom onsuite. Super quiet and the shades made the room dark! The place seems to have been upgraded recently, as everything was new and clean. Breakfast was awesome...bread, fruit, yogurt and of course, coffee. We only stayed one night and didnt experience any of the neighborhood, except that is was super quiet!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenschiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This B&B was a nice suprise. Gigantic rooms, very clean and friendly, and lovely staff. Lots of good restaurants nearby, in a nice area close to all beautiful and interesting things. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CecaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Gens Julia for two nights in April 2012. We were greeted by Davide the owner who welcomed us in and offered us a drink. We had the twin room which has it's own bathroom but this isn't ensuite but in the room right next door. It's in a great location, only about a 5 min walk from the main square and is situated in the older part of the town. It is on the third floor so you have to walk up a few steps so I'm glad we didn't have our young children with us. Breakfast is a continental breakfast served at a time that suited us. The whole place was very clean and our bathroom was newly built. Davide helped us out with a map of the local area and lent us a guide book. As our flight was a few hours after check out he asked us if we wanted to leave our bags there to save dragging them around and we happily accepted! Overall a lovely time had in a quaint b&b. Of note when I searched on trip advisor it said the rooms were fully booked so I sent Davide an email and found out there was a room available this way.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazza808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My and husband and I spent 4 nights in this delightful B&B centrally located in Trieste. Davide was a gracious and helpful host who had a wonderful recommendation for dinner for those who appreciate fine seafood. The rooms were clean and the breakfasts were ample and filled with many choices. The only drawback for some might be the many steps to his third floor B&B but I must tell you the climb is worth it. I would highly recommend Gens Julia for anyone staying in Trieste.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Davide and his family were very helpful and our room in this apartment/B&B was beautifully decorated. Our room had an antique wardrobe and both it and the bathroom could be featured in a design magazine. The bed was new and comfortable; the bathroom spotless. We would highly recommend this for anyone, and it would be particularly comfortable for an extended stay of a week or two! ( note: lots of stairs and no elevator! )

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiralbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.5 mi away
Nuovo Albergo Centro
Nuovo Albergo Centro
#11 of 50 in Trieste
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.2 mi away
Savoia Excelsior Palace – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Zenzero & Cannella
B&B Zenzero & Cannella
#40 of 143 in Trieste
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Amelie Trieste
B&B Amelie Trieste
#61 of 143 in Trieste
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza Venezia Le Camere
Piazza Venezia Le Camere
#8 of 143 in Trieste
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gens Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gens Julia

Address: Via San Michele 7, 34124, Trieste, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Trieste
Price Range: $69 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gens Julia Bed and breakfast is situated in the historic centre of Trieste, within walking distance of all its local touristic, artistic and cultural attractions. All rooms have modern comfort including air conditioning, TV, fresh towels regularly changed, and en-suite bathrooms. If requested, breakfast can be served in the kitchen, or can be had in the rooms, or on the kitchen's balcony. Children under three years are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gens Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing