We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourite places”

Antica Ghiacceretta
Ranked #60 of 828 Restaurants in Trieste
Price range: $44 - $55
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The decor is lovely - the service attentive and cordial. The food is excellent with a varied menu and the cellar offers some grat wines. Maybe a little expensive, but worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank frances_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    174
    49
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Co
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb, just superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is a true gem of a restaurant. The seafood oriented menu is interesting, varied and manageable. Everything we selected was absolutely top of the line in terms of ingredients and preparation. We came here on the recommendation of a staff member at nearby Hotel Ducci D'Aosta (another first rate place) because Ai Fiori, which Plotkin says is the best cooking in Trieste next to Suban, was closed.I can't imagine how Ai. Fiori could be an iota better than this place. Plus the two hosts are charming, welcoming, and friends of Lydia Bastianich, a maestro of the cooking of this region. . And the setting on a small piazza is almost idyllic if weather permits sitting outside; if not, the interior is a fun surprise.. Tough combination to beat. This extraordinary restaurant isn't yet in the guidebooks top few, but it definitely should be. .

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bouldertype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Sadly empty when we sat down, it was full to bursting when we left... Fresh fish of the day offered to you with suggestions. I had a steamed seafood platter, including mussels, prawns, clams, scallops, octopus etc, then a fish ravioli in a scallop sauce. Partner had pasta with eggplant and tomato, and shared some of my starter. Very good food all round. I would go here again.
Dear Trip Advisor staff, when checking this review, please check what has happened to this review's map pointer. It seemed to disappear on me all the time. address looks correct as being in Via Dei Fornelli

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PWOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Level Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not to be missed - it's as good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Nice and relatively small, superb service and, most important of all, wonderful food - fish so fresh that they bring you a tray to the table to select what you want to eat. Excellent wine list featuring regional wines and reasonable prices. Best to reserve as it gets very busy and then, surprise, it's quiet enough to have a conversation.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Ghiacceretta also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Antica Ghiacceretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing